We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

As a child I was truly moved by the story of the Fon Trapp Family and always wanted to come for a visit. Finally we came to stay for 4 days in April and truly enjoyed it.
Comfortable, quiet and nicely managed hotel.
Food is really good, has interesting Austrian selections. We especially liked choices in the Deli across the road from the hotel. Restaurant has nice variety of Austrian wines and, of course, Trapp beer. History of the family is depicted in many photos and other memorabilia through out the lodge. It is a nice place to visit with children.
There are many activities scheduled through out the day, including kids activities as well as adults cooking classes, visits to the farm, music concerts etc.
Most notably, the surrounding area is truly beautiful and we hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Renata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had a great week in the Von Trapp Lodge, with my family. Lodge large plenty of room for 6 in a 2 bedroom lodge.
Food very good in hotel, also great cakes in bakery.
Indoor pool and hot tub large and great for swimming for adults and children open from 7am until 9pm.
Winter near ski slops, summer walking trails, and mountain biking.
Stow town close by with lots of shops and restaurants.
Try a beer they brew on site it's excellent.
No tv in bedrooms but movies every night in hotel.
Staff and service exellent great place for quite vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hap123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We traded a week of our Starwood Vacation for this lodge. What a horrible mistake. Our Starwood vacation places are modern, clean and very aesthetically pleasing. They come with a washer & dryer. These places are old, outdated and need major work. No TV in the bedroom. The kitchen is tiny with horrible lighting. The carpet is frayed. You have to get in the car and drive to a laundromat that costs over $5 when you factor in laundry detergent and Bounce. Although we have a week, we're leaving after 3
Days. It's an awful, awful place. Don't go there. We made such s mistake.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Tanis D,

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me about your recent experience in our timeshare Guest Houses. From our conversation it was clear that there was a misunderstanding about what you were booking when you made your travel plans through Interval International, it is unfortunate that you were given incorrect information about the unit you would be staying in. I understand that you expected to be staying in one of our three bedroom Luxury Villas rather than a two bedroom timeshare unit.

We are pleased to offer a variety of lodging options for our guests and there are many unique differences between the two types of rental/exchange units on our inventory. It is imperative that a third-party agent be very specific when describing each to a perspective guest so that unfortunate situations such as the one you experienced can be avoided.

I have followed-up with the entity that arranged the exchange to ensure that this mistake does not happen again. I look forward to an opportunity to assist you with a future stay in our Villas, which I am sure will better meet the expectations you had when you booked your recent stay. I would also like to personally thank you for your willingness to return to our resort so that you can again experience the world class service for which we are known.

Best regards,

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was prepared for a simple lodge with a big name, but was truly surprised by the charm and authenticity of this little piece of history. The lodge is tucked into hill with some of the most beautiful scenery in this mountain location and it has all the hospitality to go with it. The hotel doesn't position itself as 5 star, instead preferring to rely on the charm of its low rise, lodge feel. Our suite had a wonderful wood burning fireplace...so cozy! The bar is especially fun, with a live pianist every night playing any favorites requested. And the food! We had two terrific meals in the main dining room - one was a grand Malbec wine dinner that paired 4 courses with some interesting Argentinian wines - they apparently do these types of things regularly. The next night was a romantic dinner looking out over the hills - exquisite filet and easily prepared with my gluten/dairy free request handled, no problem. We upgraded to one of the villas the second night we were there and were so impressed! Very modern, with soaring ceilings, contemporary kitchen, 2 BR, 3 baths, wrap porch, big deck, soaking tubs and a massive stone fireplace. Never wanted to leave. I had an amazing massage at the spa as well - simple setting but very reasonable pricing and one of the best I've had in a long time. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: As for a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed a week at the trapp family guest houses, the room and view were amazing. Dining at their restaurant in the main lodge was excellent. All meals were made with fresh ingredients, they brew their own beer and wine. Staff and service were excellent. I great place for vacation

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pabela1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Fiance' surprised me(for my birthday) with a extended weekend stay in Stowe Vermont at the Von Trapp Family Lodge.I really didn't know what to expect.The drive up from Boston was just over three hours.It was an extremely pleasant and picturesque drive from New Hampshire onward.

It was really easy to find.You have to pass by the origibal Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream on the way there.It is a MUST stop! I had the best freshest Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice cream ever there.

Ten minutes later we were pulling up to a Swiss style Chalet Hotel.It was just rebuilt in 1981 (due to a fire).So it now has a great mix of new and old.All the hallways are decorated with originally signed memorbilia from the Von Trapp family.

We stayed in a Suite that came complete with a jacuzzi,Fireplace,king bed and balcony.I will attach some photo's to give you an idea of how it comes together.

The staff was awesome.always wanting to please.The food is all from their farm or local area.
To include the beer from their Brewpub.Which is on the property.

It actually snowed for three hours on Sunday morning while we were there(April 14th)..Wow was it so surreal.It felt like being in Austria in the midst of winter.

The pool is across the street from the hotel in its own complex,Complete with a outside jacuzzi,climbing wall ,sauna and massage rooms.We had the couples massage .Always recommended by me.

There are also a bunch of places to see in Stowe village.

Go have fun and make your own sound of music...

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were there when there wasn't enough snow for winter activities or warmth for summer activities. The weather was all over the map, from snow to sleet and rain. And we had an amazing time. The staff were polite and helpful, the family history is fascinating, the pool, hot tub and fitness room were well-maintained and enjoyable, and the free firewood and wood stove kept us warm and toasty. Walks on the extensive property were enjoyable with our three young children and the beer and pastry at the bakery were delicious. A week well-spent (and I may have fallen in love with Vermont in the process).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of your visit to our resort. We always enjoy hearing from guests that find interesting ways to have a great vacation in spite of what the weather chooses to bestow upon them. Our staff will be pleased to know that you appreciated their politeness and assistance. The indoor pool and outdoor hot tub are always a hit, particularly when the weather is not conducive to outdoor activities. We are so glad you were able to enjoy our Trapp Lager and DeliBakery with your family. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again! Warm regards, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
155 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $186 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing