We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Austrian Charm in Vermont!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Austrian Charm in Vermont!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was prepared for a simple lodge with a big name, but was truly surprised by the charm and authenticity of this little piece of history. The lodge is tucked into hill with some of the most beautiful scenery in this mountain location and it has all the hospitality to go with it. The hotel doesn't position itself as 5 star, instead preferring to rely on the charm of its low rise, lodge feel. Our suite had a wonderful wood burning fireplace...so cozy! The bar is especially fun, with a live pianist every night playing any favorites requested. And the food! We had two terrific meals in the main dining room - one was a grand Malbec wine dinner that paired 4 courses with some interesting Argentinian wines - they apparently do these types of things regularly. The next night was a romantic dinner looking out over the hills - exquisite filet and easily prepared with my gluten/dairy free request handled, no problem. We upgraded to one of the villas the second night we were there and were so impressed! Very modern, with soaring ceilings, contemporary kitchen, 2 BR, 3 baths, wrap porch, big deck, soaking tubs and a massive stone fireplace. Never wanted to leave. I had an amazing massage at the spa as well - simple setting but very reasonable pricing and one of the best I've had in a long time. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: As for a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    333
    133
    72
    33
See reviews for
486
460
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed a week at the trapp family guest houses, the room and view were amazing. Dining at their restaurant in the main lodge was excellent. All meals were made with fresh ingredients, they brew their own beer and wine. Staff and service were excellent. I great place for vacation

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pabela1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Fiance' surprised me(for my birthday) with a extended weekend stay in Stowe Vermont at the Von Trapp Family Lodge.I really didn't know what to expect.The drive up from Boston was just over three hours.It was an extremely pleasant and picturesque drive from New Hampshire onward.

It was really easy to find.You have to pass by the origibal Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream on the way there.It is a MUST stop! I had the best freshest Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice cream ever there.

Ten minutes later we were pulling up to a Swiss style Chalet Hotel.It was just rebuilt in 1981 (due to a fire).So it now has a great mix of new and old.All the hallways are decorated with originally signed memorbilia from the Von Trapp family.

We stayed in a Suite that came complete with a jacuzzi,Fireplace,king bed and balcony.I will attach some photo's to give you an idea of how it comes together.

The staff was awesome.always wanting to please.The food is all from their farm or local area.
To include the beer from their Brewpub.Which is on the property.

It actually snowed for three hours on Sunday morning while we were there(April 14th)..Wow was it so surreal.It felt like being in Austria in the midst of winter.

The pool is across the street from the hotel in its own complex,Complete with a outside jacuzzi,climbing wall ,sauna and massage rooms.We had the couples massage .Always recommended by me.

There are also a bunch of places to see in Stowe village.

Go have fun and make your own sound of music...

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were there when there wasn't enough snow for winter activities or warmth for summer activities. The weather was all over the map, from snow to sleet and rain. And we had an amazing time. The staff were polite and helpful, the family history is fascinating, the pool, hot tub and fitness room were well-maintained and enjoyable, and the free firewood and wood stove kept us warm and toasty. Walks on the extensive property were enjoyable with our three young children and the beer and pastry at the bakery were delicious. A week well-spent (and I may have fallen in love with Vermont in the process).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your visit to our resort. We always enjoy hearing from guests that find interesting ways to have a great vacation in spite of what the weather chooses to bestow upon them. Our staff will be pleased to know that you appreciated their politeness and assistance. The indoor pool and outdoor hot tub are always a hit, particularly when the weather is not conducive to outdoor activities. We are so glad you were able to enjoy our Trapp Lager and DeliBakery with your family. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again! Warm regards, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Breathtaking scenery remnincent of the Austrian Alps in the Sound of Music. Wonderful groomed trails for cross country skiing and show shoeing. Relaxing outside hot tub, so nice to soak in a warm jacuzzi w/snow falling. The sunroom is beautiful - a perfect way to view the scenery from inside the Lodge. I had a massage w/Lisa W - it was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased your visit was enjoyable and that the cross country skiing and snowshoeing conditions were to your liking. Your mention that "our breathtaking scenery is reminiscent of the Austrian Alps" is the reason the von Trapp's settled her in 1942 and eventually shared this magnificent view with travelers from all around the world. The outdoor Jacuzzi with snow falling is an experience that borders on perfection - our guests year round enjoy soaking and looking out over the valley and mountain ranges. We are delighted you had this experience. Lisa, one of our massage therapists, will be thrilled to know you enjoyed your session with her. We hope to welcome you back to our mountain resort again. Warm regards, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Trapp Family Lodge several times in the past five years. It is my favorite place to stay in Stowe because of its location with a beautiful view of the mountains and its nice family feel. This trip we ate dinner in the dining room for the first time and the food was delicious. The spa and gym is also impressive with its new facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 192ElizabethD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. We are always pleased to know when our valued loyal guests are enjoying their experience again and we appreciate you sharing your thoughts. Our Executive Chef, Kim Lambrechts, will be glad to know how much you savored your dining experience. Our Fitness Center with pool and outdoor jacuzzi are a very popular part of our resort and we are delighted you used them. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again. Warm regards, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and our two children (7 year old boy and 3 year old girl) had a great visit over President's weekend. When the weather was too cold to ski (as can be the case at times) there was no shortage of options for us and our kids to enjoy, including an amazing indoor pool and a very flexible day camp with a great staff. The nights were perfect as each night had a different, but equally entertaining activity (puppet show, story teller, amazing animals) which lasted from about 7-8pm...so we could enjoy a great family dinner, have a great activity for the kids, and still get them settled at a reasonable hour.

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the staff was warm, friendly and accomodating. The cross country ski facility was out of this world as were the folks running it.

Great trip!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the houses...great space...and not too far from the main lodge...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us during the President's Week holiday. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be accommodating and friendly. It is always nice to hear from families that embrace what we have to offer during this very popular ski vacation. We are glad you and your family had an enjoyable time at our nightly activities and that our Outdoor Center and Cross Country Skiing were "out of this world"! We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Warm regards, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Property: Trapp Family Lodge
Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing