We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable, Relaxing Stay.”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable, Relaxing Stay.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We live about 3 hours from Stowe, VT. I had heard about the lodge about 15 years ago, when I went on a "Sound of Music" tour in Salzburg, Austria, and learned that after the von Trapp family left Austria, they settled in Vermont and had since been running a resort/inn. As a result, when we were looking to go on a cross-country skiing trip for a couple of days, and this lodge kept coming up in our Google search results, we decided to give it a shot.

Overall, we just had such a lovely, lovely time. If you enjoy cross-country skiing, and you're a fan of "The Sound of Music," you will enjoy it here very much. The mountains and scenery are beautiful, the lodge is quaint but well-kept and clean, and the employees are very courteous and friendly. We didn't meet one mean person (guest or employee) the whole time we were there! I imagine that no matter the season, it would be a great place to visit. One of the things we enjoyed about our room was that even though we got one of the older (and cheaper) rooms, we still had a shared balcony that overlooked the mountains. I can't even imagine how breathtaking the scenery would be in the fall!

A couple of things that are helpful to know about the resort before coming. First, this is a "family" lodge/resort. As such, expect to see young children -- lots of them. The walls were a little thin in the part of the lodge we stayed in, and we could often hear our neighbor's children running up and down the halls . . . repeatedly. And we saw this throughout the resort -- including the gym. Although we don't have kids, we like them, so it didn't bug us too much. However, if you're expecting a "couple's getaway," just be warned that you will see all ages there. In addition, I was thoroughly impressed at how many activities the Trapp Family Lodge runs every day. Every morning, you wake up to find an itinerary slid under the door that tells you the various tours, movies, fitness classes, excursions, etc. available for the day (some are free and some do have a participation fee). Every evening, they run a documentary called "The Real Maria" that is quite a treat, once again if you're a fan of "The Sound of Music." I really enjoyed learning more about the real von Trapp family. The Trapp Family Lodge is a little ways from town; however, the food choices on the premises were always good and didn't disappoint. We ate in both the lounge and the bakery/deli (both are more affordable that the main dining room). In regards to the cross-country skiing, I thought the trails were awesome. Be forwarned that a lot of them are rather hilly/steep. If you are a beginning cross-country skiier, there are a few basic trails, and you just have to stick with those - there are still enough to keep you busy for a few days. I had considered myself an intermediate skiier before I went there but quickly learned that the intermediate trails were just too steep for what I was used to. Finally, the spa was also very nice. I had a great massage there (that I found affordable when compared to my local spa), that was very welcome after a long couple of days of skiing.

Finally, know that the only drawback to this place is the price. At more than $200/night even during the off season and during weekdays, there's no doubt about it - it is expensive compared a basic hotel. As another reviewer mentioned though, it is a class act. I felt that it was a very worthwhile couple of day excursion. While I can't afford to come here often, I wouldn't hesitate to come back again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturegirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate knowing that Panorama Tours in Salzburg recommended our resort to you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your cross country skiing experience (Trapp Family Lodge built the first cross country ski trail network in the US in 1968), our staff and the view from the balcony of your room - this very view being what contributed to the von Trapp's choosing Stowe as their home in 1942; it reminded them so much of Austria. We do embrace family's with children to stay with us and we sometimes have an abundance of young people during school holiday periods; however, there are many times of year that the lodge has a more "adult" population. Our Reservations Department would have details about these time periods. Thank you for mentioning our very popular activities that your family enjoyed. How nice that you were able to relax with a massage from one of our very experienced massage therapists - they will be glad to know how much you enjoyed it. Please visit our website at trappfamily.com for information about our special rates/packages. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Rebeccca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    353
    138
    75
    35
See reviews for
513
480
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our trip to the Trapp Family Lodge. The room was spacious and clean, and the staff was very helpful and kind. If you are a cross country skier the location would be ideal. Our one dinner in the dining room was less than we had hoped for though. The pork was overdone and we were there for almost 3 hours (there were only 3 of us). The waiter was less than attentive during our long wait. Since we spent more time at Stowe on the slopes rather than cross country skiing we will probably stay at the Stowe Lodge on our next trip. But if you enjoy a more off the beaten path kind of place - this is for you. The scenery is beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay with us. We are definitely one of "the places" for cross country skiing in the east and we are within close proximity of Stowe Mountain Resort for downhill skiing. Please accept our apology for the problem you encountered in our Main Dining Room with slow service and a meal not being to your satisfaction. This was immediately reported to our Executive Chef as soon as it was posted. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please know that if something is not to your satisfaction during a stay we want to know about it so we can correct it and avoid your having a negative experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package tour and were delighted with every aspect of the Lodge - nice people, great food, comfortable rooms, mountain atmosphere. It was moving into Fall and the nights were cold, however, the Lodge is extremely comfortable and cosy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TaringaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room, the mountain views, your meals in our Main Dining Room and our staff! We hope to welcome you again to our resort! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Beautiful mountains, the trails are well groomed and challenging. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The lodge is very clean. If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is a perfect place! But check out if they are having races on the weekend you want some quiet time. I highly recommend it! And if you like live piano music you will be in for a treat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our cross country ski trails and appreciate the grooming efforts - we have a great team of trail groomers! We are pleased that you suggest our resort is ideal for a romantic getaway! We are very fortunate to have a friendly, professional staff who enjoy meeting and helping our guests to get the maximum enjoyment from their visit. Thank you for mentioning our piano player, John Cassel, who loves entertaining Trapp Family Lodge guests and is delighted you enjoyed his music. We hope you return for another visit to us. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

What a beautiful place! The views are gorgeous. The staff incredibly friendly. We had a lunch overlooking the hills, the food was great and the view superb. The whole place was a class act. They also had a small cafe place down the mountain that was great for the skiers. The gift shop had many reasonably priced items. We bought a few book and some jewelry. The books gave a great history to Maria's story and the family too.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. It is always nice to hear that we provided a memorable experience for a visitor to our resort. Thank you for your compliments of our food and view - both popular experiences for travelers. Thank you for visiting our gift shop and purchasing one of the books written by Maria von Trapp. We hope you return again to our mountain resort! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A perfect destination for x-country skiers with miles of their own groomed trails, the Trapp Family Lodge works well for downhillers too. We were happy to drive the 7 miles to Stowe Mountain every day, knowing that comfortable, well-equipped lodgings (complete with unlimited supplies of firewood) awaited us at the end of the day. A visit to the pool, sauna and hot tub in the beautiful Fitness Centre followed by a relaxing glass or two of one of the 4 excellent Trapp beers brewed right on the premises (at the Deli and Brewery) was the perfect start to a relaxing evening. All the staff without exception were friendly and helpful, and none more so than Gretchen, the barmaid at the Brewery, who was happy to share her knowledge of the local ski resorts even to the extent of explaining in detail the best way to get to Jay Peak for our final day of skiing. The history tour, the film "The Real Maria" and the opportunity to meet Johannes von Trapp, Maria's youngest child, now in his 70's, and his son, Sam von Trapp, was icing on the cake.
Would we stay here again? Most definitely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithprice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you had a memorable stay with us. We are very proud of our cross country trails and the enjoyment it provides for our guests of all ages. Thank you for pointing out how close we are to Stowe Mountain Resort for downhill skiing. Our pool, sauna, and hot tub are quite popular after ski activities - there is nothing more relaxing than soaking in the hot tub while gazing out at the mountains that surround Stowe. Thank you for letting us know that Gretchen provided exceptional service in our DeliBakery and was able to give you directions to Jay Peak Ski Area for your last day of downhill skiing. How delightful that you met Johannes and Sam von Trapp following our very popular History Tours that tell the actual story of the von Trapp's journey from Austria to the United States in 1938 to escape the Hitler regime. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort and thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as members of a Fall Tour.
This is a large Swiss Chalet Hotel set in the countryside of Vermont.
Its links with the Von Trapp Family, being the family’s home in America, are all around with the graveyard in which they are buried adjacent and their pictures throughout the hotel.
The film show featuring the real Maria telling her story is a must whether a fan or otherwise and only available for viewing there with none on sale.
The hotel offers good meals and service and free computer access. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the hills, as had many, and was old fashioned in decor but not cleaned as well as other hotels in our case [Someone’s T shirt left behind a chest].
It still was a pleasant stay and there was a heated open air hot tub and a reasonably sized indoor swimming pool in the health centre with massages etc also offered there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad you not only enjoyed your stay but also found the von Trapp family history to be interesting. The documentary, "The Real Maria" was a film of Maria's last trip to her homeland of Austria. The movie is very touching and it is interesting to hear Maria tell the story of how she met Captain von Trapp and his children, their subsequent marriage and leaving Austria to began a new life in the United States. Thank you for your compliments of our food, decor, free computer access and Fitness Center. We also appreciate your constructive input regarding the room cleanliness which was given to our Executive Housekeeper to share with his staff. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
202 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
482 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
175 reviews
2.9 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Property: Trapp Family Lodge
Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing