We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An uneven experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An uneven experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

We went to TFL during the week between Christmas and New Year's for a holiday getaway. We booked an all inclusive rate that, while it got us a free cross country ski lesson that was really great (fabulous, patient instructor), did not include things like soda for our kids at dinner. You just never knew for sure what was included. The rooms were comfortable but do need updating, especially the bathrooms and TVs. The lodge is cozy and welcoming (lots fo Christmas trees for the holidays) and beautiful in the snow, and the trails are spectacular. The new (2005) fitness center/spa is a great addition and sitting in the outdoor hot tub during an evening snow storm was the highlight of the trip.

Dinner is an all evening affair, and while they are nice to the kids two hours is a long time to sit and the food is not really worth the wait. The dinners were the best - the breakfast buffet was uninspiring and the made to order breaksfast food just so so. Nothing terrible; nothing wonderful either. We have a child with special dietary needs and they did do their very best to accomodate that.

So it was very expensive for what you got but still a unique and enjoyable experience. If they updated the decor and spiffed up the menu it would be really lovely. We would probably not go again (if we were devoted cross country skiers we might, but we're not) but are glad we tried it.

  • Liked — The setting adn the ski lodge staff and lots of Trapp Family history
  • Disliked — Decor needs updating, inconsistent quality in service and food
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Whorangthatbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    332
    133
    72
    33
See reviews for
482
457
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.J.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

The Trapp Family Lodge is in need of a makeover. It has a worn look throughout the common areas. Our room was in need of a complete renovation. The furniture was worn as was the carpet. The television was a relic of the 1980's as was the bathroom. The lighting was dim. Someone apparently forgot to clean the room before our stay as there were dead flies in the light fixtures and live files buzzing around the insides or our windows. Worst of all there were dead flies in the sheets of the fold out bed. Do they change the sheets after a guest departs? The desk personnel were nice enough to send up new sheets with the night security guard and we remade the bed ourselves.
The room rates are too high for what is offered and they charge an amenity fee besides.
A letter to the managment after our stay elicited no response. I guess they are immune to dissatisfied guests.
Look elsewhere if you are going to Stowe.

  • Liked — The View although the windows are too small.
  • Disliked — Flies both dead and alive
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stoweskiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrappManager, General Manager at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2008
Trapp Family Lodge management has contacted the reviewer. A detailed response will be posted as soon as we have been successful in establishing contact.

It is our strict policy to respond to every guest request or concern brought to our attention. We are unsure about what happened in this case, and will make every effort to find a resolution.

Hans van Wees
General Manager
Trapp Family Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
none
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

Found the room to be overpriced @ $245. Cobwebs and dirt filled the ceiling and the floor. Wrote to the manager upon returning home and told him about it but never got a reply. Very identical to other reviews here.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bawyaohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrappManager, General Manager at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2008
We have contacted this guest in order to further discuss the concerns mentioned. As soon as we have been succesful in establishing contact we will update this listing.

Hans van Wees
General Manager
Trapp Family Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, ME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

We made last-minute reservations at the TPL over the holiday. We were booked in the Salzburg Suite at a rate of over $445, not including dinner, and were promised skiing from our room. The website advertises this suite as "luxury accommodations...perfect for romantic getaways."

The patio that we were supposed to ski in/out from was completely covered in snow. It was impossible to get out the door. We chose to eat in the lounge, as opposed to the formal dinner, and found it was closed for the holiday (nowhere did we see this advertised - even the pianist in the lounge was caught off guard by this news). So, we had to find an alternative at 8pm on an icy winter evening. The next morning, there was no hot water for showers. We asked if the $20 pp breakfast could be comped in consideration for this inconvenience, but were impolitely told that the hot water was now fixed (after we were all dressed and ready to go out for the day). To top it all off, the hotel staff tried to charge us for an extra night when we chose to check out due to the poor quality of service and accommodations.

We sent a letter to the TPL following our stay and never received the courtesy of a response.

We travel extensively and have paid far less per night and received much higher levels of service than provided at this lodge. Terrible experience if you're looking for a romantic weekend away!

  • Liked — It was a poor experience for us. We were not able to enjoy anything the TFL had to offer.
  • Disliked — High priced with no value for that hefty price we paid. Staff was inconsiderate to our requests!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JLL_Buxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrappManager, General Manager at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2008
Trapp Family Lodge management is currently in contact with this guest to discuss the concerns mentioned.

Hans van Wees
General Manager
Trapp Family Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2008

My family and I booked the TFL through Interval. We were able to get a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath room with full kitchen. I must say that based on some of the reviews I read about the TFL, I was hesitant about what I might find. (I am a NEAT freak, who wears flip flops in the shower at hotels and won't walk on the carpets with my barefeet).

I was pleasantly surprised to find that our room was spotless! Based on the pictures from the TFL's website, I thought the decor was going to be outdated. Again, I was pleasantly pleased with the decor. I don't think it was outdated at all, just decorated in Austrian style. The bed's had nice quilts and pretty throw pillows. The kitchen was small, (almost closet size), but had all the essential appliances needed to cook. I must say that cooking in definately saved us money! We did eat at the Lounge one night, which was very nice, but expensive. My husband and I both got a salad and an entree and our infant children split a meal. We also split a dessert. Our bill came to about $90.00. We did not get a chance to eat at the Austrian Tea Room, but would reccomment it. We stopped there on our last day, and it looked like it would have been a nice/quaint place to eat and not overly expensive. Also, there is a little gift shop with great Van Trapp / Sound of Music souvenirs. I only wish I had shopped there before visiting some of the gift shops in town. I found the prices to be a little cheaper at the TFL.

We were lucky to sit next to the Van Trapp family during dinner. They introduced themselves to us...they were very friendly. I think they introduce themselves to a lot of people (Sound of Music fans get a kick out of meeting a Van Trapp...makes for a nice souvenir). Our children were about the same age as their children, so we ended up talking for awhile. We questioned them about what activities we could do with our 2 1/2 & 1 year old, as the TFL doesn't really have any activities for toddlers. They do have lots of planned family activites throughout the week, however, for older children. They told us about local activities we could do with our children: story hour at the library, open gymnastics, etc. Christine (Johannes' daughter) also convinced us to try cross-country skiing on their award-winning trails, which we ended up doing. We're pretty good skiers, so pulling our two children in a polk (a trailer on skis), was not that difficult. I think we were crazy, but we skied all the way up to the Cabin (3 miles UP the mountain & 3 miles down the mountain). It was probably some of the prettiest skiing (and hardest skiing) I've ever done. I don't know if I would do it again, pulling the polk, but I would definately do it again skiing solo!

As for more activities to do with toddlers, we went swimming every night from about 7:30 - 8:30 which was when the pool closed. It was great! We almost always had the place to ourselves! The pool water was luke warm and the showers in the locker room were very clean. We did not use any of the other services in the athletic center, although the rock wall looked like it would have been fun. I would also suggest going to town and buying (or renting) a sled to go sledding on their hills. We had a blast!! They don't advertise sledding (for insurance purposes) but you are allowed...and their hills are great for sledding!! We also went on a horse & sleigh ride through the woods. We used a local company (Gentle Giants) because the TFL was booked. Our sleigh ride was very nice...I think the TFL's sleigh ride would have been more picturesque, though.

My only complaints (and they are minor) are that our guest house 22C was 40 stairs down the hill. It made packing and unpacking the car a pain. It would also have been nice to have a television in the master bedroom. Also, the laundry facility was a car drive away and check out time was 9:30 in the morning!! Other than that, we had a great time and would DEFINATELY return! We may even look into buying a time-share there...it was that nice!!

  • Liked — Beautiful scenery, great skiing, a great family resort and The Sound of Music ambience!
  • Disliked — It was expensive...and we used a time share!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank allescn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

This was our first stay at the Trapp Family Lodge. We were interested in snowshoe and cross country ski activities. We chose to stay at the TFL based on a friend's referral and the friend's description of the proximity and convienence of the activities to the lodge. We arrived early before noon and our room was ready which was great. The room was a Deluxe Room in the Main Lodge on the second floor with 2 Queen Beds. Our room also had direct outdoor access to the outside which was great as we could just walk right out onto the snow.
We are very well travelled business professionals and after reading other reviews on this site about the quality and age of the decor, etc. we were initially concerned but upon arrival, found no faults with anything room related as it presents very well, of similar class to a Marriott Hotel type place yet keeping with theme..., it IS a ski lodge style facility with strong roots in Austria and in the von Trapp Family history...it is not a downtown business class hotel, so leave your work at home...although for emergencies, it does have wireless internet and the basics but we were more concerned with the outdoor winter ski activities.
For lunch, we had soup and sandwich in the Austrian Tea Room which was superb, along with the view and is a short walk /drive from the main lodge but on the property.
We spent the afternoon by attending the cross country ski group lesson and then proceeded to the trails for the rest of the afternoon. All was very above board, professional and very enjoyable.
As part of the Tyrolean Package (2 night stay), dinner and breakfast in the Main Dining Room was included. We had dinner which was OK and breakfast which was also OK but there are plenty of additional food choices along the Mountain Road or in Stowe proper along Rt 100. Our biggest issue with our dining experiences was probably the quality vs price and the atmosphere which tried to be above average but a few uncontrolled children and a harpist trying to play 'pop' and broadway music themes instead of classical which would be more appropriate to instrument, ambience, and TFL history, quickly destroys any such attempt...just focus on the beautiful scenery outside.
After dinner we explored the fitness center which has something for everyone from massage to exercise equipment, sauna and outdoor hot tub.
After breakfast, our last day was spent snowshoe-ing around the property and up to the chapel on top of the hill above the lodge...quite extraordinary and beautiful.
Overall, there were a few tweaks that could have made the experience an excellent one but this was still above average and made for quite an enjoyable weekend getaway for cross country and show shoe experience seekers of all ages. We would stay here again but would try it a la carte the next time instead of the package deals to explore the other food options in and around the area.

  • Liked — Location-view, scenery, Winter Sports - onsite, great trails, well maintained
  • Disliked — Food - Main Dining Room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bmvguye39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2008

We did an exchange through Interval International to visit the Trapp family lodge. It was a great vacation. The 2-bedroom was clean and spacious. They supplied the firewood which was really great. The activity/fitness center had a pool and rock climbing wall the children loved. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. The one downfall is that the food in the lounge and diningroom is very expensive. The bakery is great, though. It was our first time skiing and we all had a wonderful time.

  • Liked — nice rooms
  • Disliked — expensive food
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aratNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Property: Trapp Family Lodge
Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing