We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but not a lot to do”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, but not a lot to do”
Reviewed January 13, 2008

i just came back from there. It is nice but i think it caters to the cross country skier crowd.

There wasn't alot to do with a young child, No sledding, (we did out own with a piece of cardboard..he he)...

snowshoeing was fun...and the sleigh ride was ok.

But there was a contingent of poser cross country skiers around thinking they are trying out for the Olympics with their 600 dollar snowsuits.

I expected the lodge to have better views, our room was nice in the lodge, but the heating system didn't work all that well. No safe in the room, no refrigerator, WTF?..every comfort inn has those things, why cant they?

outside of balcony door was dirty, butts everywhere, and a empty water bottle.

This place is crazy expensive for what they offer, really not too much, everything is extra, food, rock climbing, sleigh ride, tea and cookie hour, etc..

The most glaring and ridiculous thing i couldn't even believe was that if you wanted to go to the indoor pool you had to leave the lodge. Which meant you had to put on your coat, then walk over the road to the fitness center. Then once inside you had to change in the locker room,

Once you are done at the pool you had to change once again and put your coat on to walk back to the lodge. I felt like i was using the pool at the local YMCA.

I keep using the comfort inn as a reference but, every comfort inn i have been to has a nice clean indoor swimming pool, and that means INDOOR..not needing to walk outside.

the food was excellent and really saved the trip for me, the lodge is clean and the staff friendly except for one woman at the ski lodge store tending the fireplace. My wife asked her a question and she was quite rude.

This place cost me a bundle, i just really expected more, and they should not include gratuities on the bill at the restaurant. Im from NYC and if a restaurant did that here it would close.

I think they could do alot better, they have 2600 acres of land, They could really do alot with that, They could have REAL winter activities for people who have a pulse and not only for people who want to look at the view or the eddie bauer over 50 crowd that hangs at the piano bar and listens to the bill murray piano bar guy doing a medley of am radio songs. YAWN....ZZZZZ

they have an amazing collection of national geographics, i guess the von trapps liked them because they have natl go;'s from the 50 and 60's tossed about...this was my fun...looking at them for 340 a night!!!

  • Liked — clean, great food
  • Disliked — crazy crazy expensive, and are extra charges for everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtripgoodprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    335
    133
    72
    33
See reviews for
487
462
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

Had mixed expectations - had heard it was nice, but reviews here were not encouraging.

Short summary: very nice time - rooms were very clean, the halls and lobby seemed fine. Bed was very comfortable, room spacious and simply but functionally furnished, with refrigerator, desk, table, sofa, etc. Bathroom also large for a hotel, and there were lots and lots of hooks for hanging things to dry (good for a ski resort).

We were there for cross-country skiing. The conditions were fabulous (though hotel cannot take credit for the snow) - but also the trails and equipment were very good and the staff helpful. Skiing is right outside the main building - it cannot be more convenient.

We did not eat in the main dining room, but at their secondary restaurant (tea room) which was less expensive, though also heavy Austrian food.

We'd go back...

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

This hotel needs a restoration. The outside and the inside is starting to show "the passing of time". Let say that we peeked around the lobby and the only new things there were the computers. The fabric on sofas is changed by the sun.

  • Liked — The view is amazing !
  • Disliked — The passing of time !!!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
5 Thank MamaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrappManager, Manager at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, December 26, 2007
Dear Guest from Montreal:

We very much appreciate your comments posted on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Trapp Family Lodge in early November.

I am sorry your expectations were not fully met. I am happy to report however that over the past month since you visited us a number of refurbishment projects have taken place, including the replacement of all of the furniture in the area you pointed out. In Other projects included a new front entrance, carpet replacement in our lounge as well as in many guestrooms, wallpaper repairs and replacements and numerous painting projects.

In addition our staff spent an enormous amount of time decorating the lodge and the exteriors for the holidays with 13 individually themed Christmas trees and beautifully decorations in all public areas. We have received an overwhelming amount of positive response to this and suggest to anyone enjoying this time of the year to visit the lodge to enjoy the beauty of the season and the incredible ski conditions this winter.

We are also happy to report that the snowmaking system which was installed this fall is working extremely well and we can now secure snow over 8 kilometers of our trails.

We realize it is extremely important to keep the hotel and the amenities up to date and well maintained and we are very committed to continue to do so. The Trapp Family Lodge has enjoyed an excellent reputation over 55 years it has been in operation and we watch the quality of our guests' experience carefully.

Thank you again for pointing this matter out to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

The Von Trapp family's life story has fascinated and amazed me for many years. I've long wanted to see their American homestead and learn more about their interesting family history.
The Trapp Family Lodge is set high in the mountains and the view of the mountains from the lodge is quite beautiful and serene. The lodge is spacious and rambling. The many hallways and sitting rooms throughout the lodge are decked out with lovely Trapp family photos, and the staff are very generous with their time when asked about the Von Trapps. Meals are served in a lovely, large yet intimate dining room that overlooks the mountains. A generous buffet is offered along with menu items. The food was fresh, abundant and well prepared.
Our room was spacious and clean but looked tired. Wallpaper was curling and, because of the immensity of the lodge, heating was slow. The beds were very comfortable and the room was totally quiet. There is a top-notch workout center in a separate building, complete with pool, sauna, massage room, and climbing wall. All in all, a very enjoyable getaway!

  • Liked — family history, spaciousness, setting
  • Disliked — rooms need refreshing
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichiganTraveler373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

After a very difficult year for my family I suggested that we take a trip to the mountains to restore our spirit. I had been to the Trapp Family Lodge many years ago and I enjoyed it, so I thought it would be a good place for us to stay. I remembered the comfortable beds and the great hiking trails. I wasn't sure that our children, ages 21, 18 and 14 would like it as much as I did but, as it turns out, I shouldn't have worried.

We arrived in a raging thunderstorm at night and you couldn't see much, but the lodge was beautiful. The lodge personnel were very friendly and helpful. We found our room to be spacious, very comfortable and clean.

The next morning we stepped out and saw the most breathtaking views you could ever see. I had forgotten how beautiful the view was. We went hiking up the mountain trails, enjoyed the European spa, went bicyle riding around Stowe and went to the top of Mount Mansfield for a great view. Everyone had a wonderful time and we all said it was one of the best vacations we ever had. The beauty of the place is very inspirational. Forget the amusement parks. This is the place to come to if you want to have a good time with your family and be "cor unum et anima una" (one heart and one soul).

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Comfortable Beds, Great Hiking Trails
  • Disliked — Sofa Bed Was As Uncomfortable As They Usually Are.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank aspenglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level Contributor
405 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

Austrian wooden lodge high in the Vermont hills. Atmospheric hotel without being overly tacky – this is not a Sound of Music theme park. Good sized room with small balcony and magnificent views out. Strange lack of coffee making equipment.

Restaurant excellent – good food although a few things were ‘off’ the menu. Breakfast good as well. A little expensive but the novelty aspects were good. Bar friendly although the piano player was a little noisy.

Indoor pool very nice in new complex across the road. Good temperature but a little shallow – only about (1.2m/4.5ft) at max depth.

Overall very enjoyable but accept other comments about there being 1001 ways of extracting money from your wallet.

  • Liked — Theme & view
  • Disliked — Extras
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Level Contributor
216 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

My husband & I took a bus trip to Vermont last year to Trapp Family Lodge. This is a place I always dreamed of seeing. I was not disappointed. The lodge is set on a mountain top over- looking the most beautiful cascade of mountains. The Lodge itself is a european old style wood structure with beautiful flowered grounds. The interior is beautiful and all the hallways have picures of the Von Trapp family. We explored the halls through the entire building. There are sitting rooms to relax , which some also show movies. The Lodge has a sport & gift shop, a bakery, a pianist, a harpist, and internet access. Activities include Harp lessons(by appointment), board games, climbing wall, fitness, chocolate making, Van with a fee to Stowe and surrounding points of interest, bingo, musical entertainment. They show " The Sound of Music" movie and a documentary on "The Real Maria".
Every meal was greeted by waiters and waitresses in european style costumes and a harpist for entertainment. The diningroom view was the mountains. Breakfast was a wonderful buffet and plentiful. The food is alittle pricey on the regular menu but the food was wonderful. Desserts were awesome! They have a display of desserts out in the foyer. Our rooms were old european country style and spacious. The room and bathroom were clean and nicely done , supplying everything we needed for our stay. In the morning I opened the curtains to see a spectacular view of snowcapped mountains. A Kodak moment!!! Our stay was one of the best. The people, the place. I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The old european look and all the conveniences.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oceancitylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Property: Trapp Family Lodge
Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing