We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS SPA”
Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Disappointed with the Green Mountain Inn, we took a two bedroom condo at Topnotch. The condo was well furnished and supplied for comfortable living. Nothing fancy, but quite nice. The condos are all individually owned so some may be better than others. The resort has a tennis center with lots of courts (including two indoor courts) and a friendly and helpful staff. We did not eat at the restaurant which had lovely views and an interesting menu. The spa is fabulous with three heated pools (one indoor) and a choice of three hot tubs. There were smallish same sex hot tubs in the respective locker rooms and an outdoor hot tub. The large indoor hot tub was the one we used daily, it featured a waterfall we sat under and allowed the deluge to hit our shoulders and back (better than most massages). The spa and fitness center were spotlessly clean and the staff consisted of truly lovely people. We stayed at Topnotch for one week and, picky as we are, found nothing to complain about. I would suggest that travelers check the website before and during your stay since the rates can change significantly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maven2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
There are newer reviews for Topnotch Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 931 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2010

I spent 5 nights at the Topnotch with my girlfriend and all I can say is that I agree with most other reviewers' comments that it's overpriced for what you get. Upon checking in, I asked for a room on the quiet side of the floor, away from the elevators. The clerk behind the desk told me upgrade me to a slightly larger room but when we got upstairs, it was right by the elevators! Sure enough, early each morning there were small children running and yelling in the halls.

The views from the hotel grounds were magnificent. The adult pool was tiny however, and the outdoor jacuzzi water was cold. Also, there are a limited number of umbrellas in the pool area so one exceptionally hot day, we had to go to the indoor pool to avoid the sun as all the umbrellas were taken.

Food at Norma's was also good but way overpriced. With tip, one day we spent almost $70 on breakfast! (this include 4 lattes at $6 each - even more than Starbuck's!).

We did use the span and although pricey, we did enjoy ourselves.

All in all, a decent place but certainly not worth what they charge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Topnotch Resort may once have been a wonderful hotel, but it is no longer a gem. The hotel needs much updating to make it sparkle again. While the grounds are beautiful and the views are breathtaking, the hotel itself is just plain sad and tired. Topnotch promises more than it delivers...we were told (24 hours in advance) there would be an Adventure Camp and Kids Zone for our children -- there was nothing of the sort. Housekeeping services were minimal at best. The hotel room, itself, was lovely except there were no real real drawers to put your clothes. Service was good, except that the front desk receptionists spend a lot of time in a room behind the desk, so it appears noone is in. Food and Norma's were wonderful. Stowe was fabulous. Topnotch could be a very charming hotel, but it needs work.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovevermont111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Nice, simple small scale but full service spa resort. Able to do your own thing, but feels intimate with helpful staff. The Spa is excellent with very nice facilities and helpful staff. The rooms are comfortable and appointed in a home-like uncomplicated way. We enjoy relaxing by the pool, they have a nice adult pool. Our only complaint is that the place is sometimes over run with small children. At night it's quite and the area is beautiful. This was our second stay and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wondering_shoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I have no idea where those 120 acres are with trails that their website boasts. It is simply an over-rated, tired, hotel right on the main road with a couple of lousy tennis courts (no clinics going on, BTW) and a very small pool. We stayed one night with a baby crying in the next room the entire night and a very noisy air conditioning unit. We promptly checked out the next morning before 7 am. Went to Stowe Mountain Lodge- pricey but WORTH IT. Suites there ran 450/night but a gorgeous hotel with some REAL amenities.

SKIP TOPNOTCH.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REF21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Overrated and overpriced ... the hotel looks and feels tired, the rooms have no personality (walls are 80's pink) and the washroom could use an upgrade. You can hear people's voices from the other room and if luck did not follow you to the resort, you will get a room with a view on the parking lot!! with people coming in and out of the entrance under your window; truck sounds replacing the sounds of nature you were expecting !!!
Overall the staff was friendly but the people at the reception (at hotel and at the spa) need to work on their welcoming skills and smile !!
We were not impressed with the spa either, however the massage therapists were amazing.
Worth mentioning is their restaurant, Norma's; its terrace, the service and the food, all excellent ! and the location of the outdoor pools ... but to call this hotel "luxury" is a mistake. How it made it to "Preferred Hotels & Resorts" ? beats me !!!!

My recommendation : come for the food, stay elsewhere ... Stowe is wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeeSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My partner and I stayed here back in May and had an amazing experience. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel special. They left a bottle of champaign in our room on arrival and some truffles another night. The gym and spa areas are very clean and inviting. We found our room to be quite large and comfortable. The food was also fabulous. In all the travels i've done internationally, I've never posted a review. But Topnotch impressed me so much that I had to share it. In fact, our entire family is coming to stay there with us during the foliage season this fall. We looked around at The Green Mountain Inn and Stowe Mountain Resort but thought Topnotch was the obvious choice with it's winning combination of reasonable rates, wonderful service and lovely rooms and amenities.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesricha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $195 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch At Stowe
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing