We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing, great location.”
Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing, great location.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just spent one night at Topnotch while passing through Stowe to visit family and had a great time. Staff were very friendly and hospitable. Food was great. Pool and hot tub were awesome. Would stay there again a thousand times over.

Room Tip: Facing the pool was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Hi Batzer, thanks for sharing. We are thrilled you enjoyed the experience. Lets do it again soon and stay longer, kick back and chill.

Ciao

Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    194
    94
    37
    23
See reviews for
257
381
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We just got back from two nights at Topnotch. We have been there before and were pleasantly surprised to see that as it was renovated as it was well needed. The lobby is beautiful and modern and check in was smooth.and painless although our room was not ready but that was not a big deal.

We went to have lunch are were somewhat disappointed with the meal. The chicken salad had warm pulled chicken which on a hot day was quite frankly not appetizing. We ate the salad part and moved on to the pool. The pool was very crowded and not much place to sit. When I asked the attendant if he could find tow chairs he said "There is what there is" and was quite indifferent.

Pool is nice enough and pretty warm.

We got to our room which was nicely renovated and fresh. Nothing fancy but adequate. The downside was the air conditioner which was loud when it was running. Every time it turned on and off it was quite noticeable. Since these rooms were recently renovated I wonder why they could not come up with something a little better.

The 1st night we were nicely surprised by the concierge who left us two tickets to an outdoor concert. Very nice touch. In fact, the concierge throughout our trip was amazing. She helped with restaurant reservations and arranged a guide for hiking as well.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel as there are numerous great restos in the area.

The spa was nice but we both noticed that it was not attended to very well. Towels were left about and it seemed quite dirty. The treatments were average but not bad.

At $400/night, I expected a little more especially since it had been renovated.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Jeezer,

Thank you very much for your response, and thank you for staying with us. I am sorry that we fell short in certain areas while you were with us, and apologize that we did not live up to all of your expectations. I have had conversations with our culinary team regarding your meal, and have also given feedback to our maintenance team and our pool service team. I also want to thank you for the positive feedback as well. We strive to give our guests a luxury experience, from arrival, and throughout your entire stay. If you would like to talk in person, please feel free to give me a call, I would certainly like any other feedback that you can give, so that we can enhance our services.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Mehail
General Manager
Topnotch Resort
802-253-6490
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,334 reviews
309 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stowe is a perfect little Vermont town. I loved it and staying at this resort certainly add to that love.

The resort is subtle and elegant, it looks small when you drive up, but it is sprawling with outside seating areas, restaurants, outdoor and indoor pools and a fabulous, spacious spa.

My room was the perfect size, luxurious and stylishly, but simply, decorated. The white plantation shutters were a nice feature.

The bed was supremely comfortable with an iPod dock on the nightstand.

The bathroom was nice with bulk toiletries inside the shower and the towels were luxurious.

As with most high-end properties, almost nothing is included. The room had no fridge or microwave but did have a Keurig coffee machine and the parking and WIFI were free.

The concierge, Carole, was amazing, she was a font of knowledge, just fabulous.

I enjoyed dinner at Roost, the informal dining room, and it was very good.

This is a great place to relax and/or use as a base for outdoor adventures. I stayed two nights and it wasn't enough.

I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Topnotch Resort! Coming all the way from Australia, I am sure that you are a connoisseur of hotels throughout the world! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your entire stay, and I appreciate the comments about our colleague Carol. She has been with Topnotch for 20 years, and knows not only the resort backwards and forwards, but Stowe as well. I will forward your lovely comments to her.

Thank you again for your feedback, and if your travels ever bring you to Stowe again, I hope to welcome you back to Topnotch!

Sincerely,
Stephanie Mehail
General Manager
Topnotch Resort
802-253-6490
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I have stayed there twice recently, once in the fall and once in the spring. Truly relaxing. Food was great (we would recommend the B&B formula). Bar ambiance is friendly. Spa is not cheap but services and facilities are excellent. Good location from which to go biking. The hotel has nice pools but there is also a great indoor 25m lap pool nearby (at The Swimming Hole), near the village.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnoupis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments to TripAdvisor. We take these comments very seriously, and want to ensure that we are giving everyone the best service possible at Topnotch Resort! I am happy to see that you had a wonderful time the past two stays that you were with us. I am glad that you enjoy The Roost, which was renovated last year, and I'm sure you will agree that the views are phenomenal. The Spa takes great pride in their services and I appreciate that you enjoyed the services and pool facilities. Topnotch Resort and Stowe have a lot to offer, and we are looking forward to your return in the future!

Sincerely,
Stephanie Mehail
General Manager
Topnotch Resort
802-253-6490
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on the first two days of a weeklong bicycle trip. It was a wonderful home base. Friendly staff. Alpine feel. Rooms are large, clean, cozy. Lots of closets and shelves. There are outdoor pools and lawns and a huge indoor spa. The restaurant is very good- we had 2 breakfasts and one dinner there. It was a welcome sight after a long day of biking.

Room Tip: Get close to a stairwell or elevators. Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just got back from a week getaway from NYC. Traveled with parents and 2 small children ( 7 years old). From a great check in, to a wonderful room, bright and spotless - into an oasis of beautiful nature, well kept property and great meals. Many fun things to do around, or just be lazy and enjoy an awesome book. Both indoor and outdoor pools are great, and staff is friendly and competent. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had third floor room, it was quiet and worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Top Notch is so beautiful - It has been recently renovated in a warm inviting european modern flavor. Everything we did at the resort was wonderful : the restaurants Flannel and The Roost were so good! We stayed 5 days and ate virtually every meal, execpt one, at the restaurants and were not disappointed once. The spa was unbeleivable- the treatments were heavenly and well priced. The spa lounge staff were so lovely, diligent & helpful - they kept eveything so squeaky clean! The tennis academy was so fun- we played tennis every morning we were there and enjoyed every minute. The fitness classes were great - Mary Regele really rocks! Everyone on the staff was so so genuine & helpful. They gave us tips on what to fo , favorite menu items, they encouraged us to totally relax & be taken care of,... we did & had an awesome time!!!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with the mountain views - you'll be in awe the whole trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sitta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Property: Topnotch Resort
Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch At Stowe
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing