We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Friendly Get Away!”
Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked a last minute stay with our two children. We were blown away by all the upgrades and changes they have recently made since we were there ten years ago. The indoor pool and hot tub with waterfall was a big hit for our family! Also, we ordered room service from the restaurant Flannel...it was amazing. The kids menu is comprehensive, well priced and delicious. The next day, we ate breakfast in Flannel. It has a rustic, casual feel that is enhanced by the beautiful huge windows overlooking the mountains and the outdoor pool area. I have to say, it was without a doubt, THE BEST breakfast I have ever had...right down to crispy, gluten free toast to accommodate my allergy to gluten!! If you live local it should be your go to breakfast destination! We will be back!! Loved it all!!

Room Tip: If you have little ones, staying in room 132 is great because it is close to restaurant, indoor swim...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
There are newer reviews for Topnotch Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 932 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our first time to VT and we booked 2 nights at Top Notch. We heard its spa was rated one of the best in the country. Our massages were wonderful! We loved the convenience of going to the indoor pool and hot tub during our down time. It was fun to also go in the outdoor hot tub while it snowed and we drank delicious cocktails from Flannel. The service was great- everyone very friendly and welcoming. Food was excellent! Breakfast and dinner at Flannel was unbelievable. Wings at the Roost were very good. The resort was minutes away from Stowe mountain ski area and shops to buy their infamous maple syrup and delicious chocolates. We would recommend this to anyone looking for a sweet getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellerosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first time at Topnotch Resort and it was well worth it. I booked their 'Spa is On Us' package for my wife's birthday. The package was a great deal because it did not require a minimum 2-night stay (we stayed one night), the two spa treatments could be used by either one or both guests, and the price included gratuities fore the spa staff. Our room was ready early, allowing us to check in around 1:15pm and relax before our 2:00pm massage. It was clean and comfortable but not luxurious.

The spa was much larger than we expected with both indoor and outdoor pools and a waterfall jacuzzi. The massages were excellent! We enjoyed the convenience of being able to walk from our rooms to the spa, pool, and both restaurants without having to go outside.

The food at both Flannel and The Roost was excellent, whether breakfast, appetizers or dinner. Flannel had a great dinner deal going on: your choice of appetizer, entree and dessert for $35.00, a steal considering the quality of the food!

My wife and I both enjoyed our short but relaxing stay and were very impressed with the resort - we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The wonderful dinner experience at Flannel left us wanting to return for our next special occasion. Mellisa was the manager and our server Beth were Wonderful ! The service is TOPNOTCH ! We are so looking forward to returning for the Winter Festival !
Thanks again and looking forward to 2014
Nancy Benoit

Room Tip: The two times that we stayed at Topnotch, both rooms were excellent for views and comfort. We were...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Topnotch was amazing. The hotel has EVERYTHING to make your stay warm and hospitable. Little touches like built-in electric outlets next to the nightstand, reading lights in the headboard, an iPhone dock/radio, a thermometer outside the door, a clothesline, etc. Beds are comfortable, rooms are tidy, the pools are perfect, the property and views are gorgeous, and the staff amazingly hospitable. Nicole from the restaurant even helped me heat over leftovers from another restaurant. The breakfasts and dinner at Flannel were delicious although some items were a bit steep priced. And to think, It started off badly, with a minor dispute over best rate guarantee while booking. The hotel not just cleared up the issue and matched the lower rate, Greta also upgraded us to a junior suite. I highly recommend Topnotch and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that dont face the parking lot.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is our third visit and the first since the remodel. We really like all the changes, all though some May think it's lost some New England charm. All the staff is outstanding, friendly and super helpful. This is a great resort with excellent spa services, terrific amenities making for a truly relaxing experience. It's our happy place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a review for the Top Notch Spa only. (Not the resort/accommodations).

We stayed in Stowe in late summer and splurged on a day at the Top Notch Spa where we purchased a 'couples massage' and used the facilities. We have been to several high-end spas and while this one was quite luxurious, it seemed to be lacking in something. (Atmosphere?)

PROS:

~Beautiful indoor and outdoor large saline pools.
~Solarium with mountain views for relaxing on loungers.
~Indoor jacuzzi/spa tub with 'sheet waterfall' feature.
~Wonderful views of the Green Mountains from the outdoor pools.
~Co-ed sauna and steam room available as well as non co-ed ones in the locker rooms.
~They take Spa Finder gift certificates (We purchased ours at Costco).
~Complimentary use of robes, spa flip-flops, toiletries, combs, razors, hairdryer, etc.
~Complimentary water, tea and dried apricots available.
~Nice white towels available for use.
~Quiet and relaxing.
~Gift shop.
~Complimentary parking in front of the spa.

CONS:
~The waiting area for the treatments is not that great (Where you wait to be called). You're sat in sort of a hallway area with a couch and water/tea station. It would be nice to utilize the nice lounge area for this purpose where there is nice soft music, several chairs and a fireplace. Unfortunately, those lounge areas are separate, not co-ed. (We were waiting for a couples massage).
~You need an 'entry card' to go from area to area in the spa. While you can put it in your robe pocket, it would be useful if they had the card on one of those stretchy wrist bands, so you can keep it on you at all times. Once you're in the spa, it's slightly annoying to have to buzz yourself in everywhere, but I understand they have to keep out the 'non-spa-going' guests.
~Only dried apricots available for snacks. They didn't look very appealing and the ones at reception had flies on them. I've been at spas where the snack variety is much better.
~'Spino-matic' available in the men's locker room to dry your swimsuit, but there wasn't one in the women's locker room. A minor inconvenience, but it's nice to dry out your swimsuit, especially if you're not going straight back to your hotel/B&B afterward.
~I had the 'Aroma Massage' which for me was way too light. If you like deep massage, definitely ask for the deep tissue massage. It was however, relaxing and I almost fell asleep.
~I had to hunt for the spa flip-flops in different lockers and then they were very uncomfortable (rubbed the top of my feet with stiff plastic). My advice, wear your own flip-flops.
~Expensive and 20% automatically added to bill for gratuity.
~While quiet the day we went, it was also a bit 'dead' and lacked atmosphere.
~I thought the staff were OK, but not anything extra special.

If you found aspects of this review useful, please click 'yes'.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#5 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $193 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch At Stowe
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing