We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Resort”
Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Topnotch is the ideal vacation spot. I have visited the resort numerous time before and I am always amazed at how incredible the experience is. Comfort, ambiance, and the most courteous staff always await you. The pool, lawn and garden areas are stylishly designed for comfort and play (for kids, adults and dogs as well). And you don't want to miss out on the spa. Best massage therapist anywhere.

This time I brought my dog. She had a fabulous time as well and was recieved like royalty. She even got a welcome card and treats! And she (and I) and other travelers who don't want the leave their pooch behind have an entire first floor wing is dedicated to us.

This is the place to be if you ever find yourself in Northern New England.

Room Tip: End rooms are large and sunny. Choose a side that overlooks garden and pool and mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 947 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My family of 5 recently stayed at Top Notch. The hotel looks great. The pool area is really nice, service is fast. At night, the place is lit up with gas fires.. Really pretty. Flannel has good food. The Roost is a nice place for a drink and appetizer. The tennis is fun too. I went to the 3 hour clinic one day and learned some new tips. A great way to start the day. We stayed in a villa.. Good location from the hotel. Overall, we had a great time. I didn't get to the spa, but it looks amazing. If you want to relax in a peaceful setting, looking at Mt. Mansfield, this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wow, there are no words to describe our stay in Topnotch Resort and Spa. My three friends and I felt that we needed to really get away for a few days, and this was the perfect spot. We got a two bedroom, two bathroom unit, and it truly exceeded our expectations. The cleanliness, the decor, the space, the backyard, the view...unbelievable. Additionally, the staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and very accommodating-excellent customer service. We actually did not have time to utilize the spa services, but the spa looked stunning when we peeked in. We did go horseback riding and biking and it worked out perfectly because both their trails start right down the road. The next time I go back to Vermont, I would definitely stay here-hands down. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funluvintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Visited Topnotch for a girls spa trip. The property is newly renovated and nicely done! The rooms are comfortable with platform style beds, and super comfortable, decorated with a nice mix of calming colors but still with a VT feel - new flat screen TV's and beautiful bathrooms. The spa is the complete experience from a spacious lounge area to relaxing treatments rooms - I felt the pricing was in line with a resort/spa experience but not over the top which was nice. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant at every area of the hotel, starting with check in, pool side service, spa and dinner. The food was fantastic, lots of farm to table selections and super fresh. Everything was clean. The property is a great getaway to the Mountains of Vermont.

Room Tip: The even number rooms will give you a view of the pool and mountains, odd numbers are a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We recently stayed at this resort with our three boys, ages 12, 9 and 8. We stayed in a two-bedroom townhome that was located close to the main inn. The townhouse was clean and appeared to be well maintained, and the beds were very comfortable. We really enjoyed the pools - both indoor and out. We ate breakfast at Flannel and really enjoyed the food. We also at one dinner at Roost and found the food to be fantastic. I don't think that there was a children's menu, but there were meals suitable for kids (mine enjoyed the roast chicken and the burger). There is a lot to do at the resort. The spa was also excellent and the concierge was very helpful. We would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunseeker12011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you love Stowe, or want to explore the area, then Topnotch is perfect. It's close to Mount Mansfield and Smugglers Notch, has a great spa, and a great tennis program. The pools are heated and nice, one is adults only, one is indoors. The rooms are very nice, with lovely views of Mount Mansfield. I was less than impressed with the restaurants. "flannel" has a short and awkward menu and the roost is mediocre bar food, and makes a really mediocre martini. No room service, only "take out"...? Nevertheless, plenty of great food choices in the area, and refrigerators in the rooms. I will go back-- for the great tennis, awesome spa, super location, and perfectly fine rooms, but will be eating off the property...again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megandpaulr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Went to the Top Notch resort for a long weekend on our first anniversary. Prior to arriving we were able to arrange all of our spa services, dining arrangements, and get suggestions on activities from the concierge. When executing everything they set up it was off without a hitch. We were checked-in promptly around mid-afternoon by the friendly desk staff and had our bags taken without hesitation by a bell hop to our room. The rooms was excellent. Very clean, open, brand new bed, TV, and other furniture. Room safe and fridge worked perfectly. Our first night we had dinner off of the resort, at 10 Acres Bistro. We had a complimentary shuttle to the Bistro by the resort staff and were given a card with a number to call when we were ready to be picked up. Dinner at 10 Acres was excellent. Very well priced and some excellent variety. Common but well done dishes as well as some options to get you outside of your comfort zone. Would recommend to anyone. Second night we ate at Flannel at the resort. Excellent food and again some common dishes but very well done as well as a few menu items with modern takes on traditional dishes. Staff was excellent. All of our spa services were excellent. Again staff was knowledgeable and skilled. Pools and hot tubs were all very clean and comfortable. The individual locker rooms (men and women) were very nice in the spa. Great showers with steam rooms, saunas, and more hot tubs. All around a great experience at TN. Will return for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stowe
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
188 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $158 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch At Stowe
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing