We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wonderland!”
Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My fiancee and I visited Stowe from Jan 2-6 & stayed at Topnotch. We were a little nervous due to all the construction, but we decided to go for it. We booked through Topnotch originally, and then found a cheaper rate online - we called and they were more than happy to give us the discounted rate.

Yes, there is construction currently going on. There isn't a proper lobby like you'd imagine, but the space works. Everyone at Topnotch was incredibly helpful (Brett, Glenn & Dana especially!) We upgraded to a mountain view room upon check-in which was nice. The room was big and comfortable. I wasn't a fan of the bed, it was a little too soft for me, but you can't please everyone I suppose! The room had a mini fridge, half of which was open for personal items. We went to the Shaws in town to pick up some breakfast food to eat each morning before we went to the mountain. One of the more annoying things was that there was no coffee makers in the rooms! They do offer coffee service from 7-10am, as well as tea & cookies in the afternoon, but it was annoying to have to run downstairs for coffee. We opted out of the breakfast option because we didn't think we'd have time for a full breakfast every morning, but it would have bee nice if they'd offer a continental breakfast with coffee.

They will store you skis/snowboards for you, which is very helpful! Every morning, we'd take the shuttle to the mountain. It would normally take less than ten minutes to get picked up or dropped off. A few of the drivers did mention that if it's snowing or there's an accident on the mountain road, the shuttle trips can take forever - that's a reality if you're taking a shuttle or driving yourself home from the mountain. The free valet service was great, they even cleaned the snow off of our car!

Each afternoon after snowboarding, we'd enjoy the great indoor AND outdoor pool & hot tub. Amazing! If you end up there right around the time the mountain closes (4-5:30pm), we noticed a lot of children. We didn't mind, but just something to keep in mind.



I really have nothing bad to say about Topnotch! We loved our stay & can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauracg524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 962 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a work ski trip and tacked on an extra night. The facility was nice but is currently undergoing a major renovation. As such, the current check in space is the old Spa Desk and the Spa check in has been moved into the Spa Store. That in and of itself isn't horrible but it seemed to through everything off a bit and impacts the flow of the facilities. Men's locker room in the spa typically has attendants, water, fruit, tea, etc. I was there on a Saturday and didn't see an attendant for the first 1 and a half, water was just iced with out the extra touches and the tea water was cold. The parking lots are also messed up but they offer free valet parking to compensate.

Staff were all great when present and breakfast at Norma's was amazing both mornings. My massage at the spa was amazing.

As for our room - we had a standard room on the 1st floor. The bathroom was very small and the lights appeared to be coming loose on the vanity. The desk drawers were also coming loose. Also being on the 1st floor facing the parking area / road was a bit noisy given all the parking lot reroute, etc. caused by the renovation.

Over all, nothing huge and we didn't complain as we had received a discounted rate of $199 per night. We were offered a $50 per night upgrade to a MT view room on the 3rd floor. I guess we should have taken it. That said, overall for the cost I expected a little more.

They said the renovation complete with a new lobby and new restaurant should be done by March, but given my visual of the progress I would say that's very aggressive. It's nice to see them putting some new money into the place! Once they are done this place should be back to Topnotch, but until then you may want to look elsewhere. If you want the luxury touches maybe try the Stowe MT. Lodge, Trapp or Stoweflake. If you're looking for a deal and know what to expect Topnotch may be a good fit for you.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank VTJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Topnotch was great! I went with 5 other girls for a girls weekend. We stayed in a 3 bedroom townhome which was very nice. Also loved the outdoor pool and hot tub down near the spa! They provide shuttle service to the mountain and will even come pick you up which is really nice.
Staff were friendly and resort was clean and nice. Great location if you plan on going to Stowe mountain.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Topnotch isn't what it used to be. Have been there many times over Dec holidays and with the main building gone, their facilities are very limited. Our town home was very clean but spartanly furnished; staff was kind enough to purchase basic cooking tools when requested.
Not enough on site dining options, ski shuttle slow; the little touches that used to make it special aren't there.
Most annoyingly, as you must prepay in advance, there was no mention of the major renovations planned, yet high holiday rates were in effect.
On the bright side, their staff is very friendly and responsive, thankfully.
However, Topnotch it isn't and it has lost my confidence.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank websterBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We always expect a wonderful time at Topnotch, and this was no exception. The staff could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. We came with another couple, and were given the adjoining rooms we had requested and they were spacious and very pleasant. The service and food at Norma's seemed better than ever, and every special request is always honored with a gracefulness. I love the spa, and even with chilly December days, the heated outdoor pool was comfortable--what a treat to float around with steam rising in the air. We will look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cake_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We enjoy our time at topnotch every time we come.

The staff is awesome . Mary is always welcoming and pleasant.

Carol at the front desk goes above and beyond to make our stay perfect .

Last night a sweet waiter Brett made our dinner great at Norma's restaurant. He was so attentive ! A great new addition to the staff.

We can't wait to see all the new renovations complete!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dicenso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I just came back from a fantastic long weekend at Topnotch spent skiing/playing tennis/swimming/eating etc. with my grown daughter and best friend. My house was impacted by "Hurricane Sandy", and so a long weekend of friendly service/great good and relaxation was just what the doctor ordered. The staff at Topnotch (whether it's the front desk/Norma's or the bell station) is second to none. They are geniunely concerned about the guests and do their best to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. A special shout out goes to Carole/Brett (front desk) and the incomparable Mike Tasey at the Topnotch tennis center.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
156 reviews
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $189 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch At Stowe
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing