We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel staff and services were excellent. Car service to/from Spruce base camp provided for a hassle free day of skiing and accommodates different family members schedules. Indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs were an excellent way of ending a day of skiing. We had an outstanding family get away!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamabear0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 962 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Presently staying in an Overlook 3-bedroom house.

Pros:
- Easy drive to skiing

- Resort house is very nice and comes with a good kitchen with dishwasher, garbage disposal, plates, bowls, glasses, and silverware.

- Resort house comfortably accommodates my family of five.

- Housekeeping is very good.


Cons:
- Communication prior to arrival was nonexistent, except for the email confirmation.

- Emailed confirmation did not detail what was included in the price (ie, breakfast & spas were added on but never detailed)

- Upon check-in, what was included in the price was never explained.

- To say that services are uninterrupted through ongoing construction is to view the providing of services from a provider's point of view rather than a guest's point of view. The absence of self-service parking is absolutely an interruption in service and free valet parking does little to alleviate the inconvenience.

- The resort makes it sound like transportation to & from the ski slopes is very convenient. It's convenient only if you drive. The bus does not come up onto resort property, requiring guests to walk down the hill to Mountain Road to get the bus.

- the resort claimed to have shuttle service to & from the spa and resort homes. When I asked about this service, I was told to allow plenty of lead time on the transportation request because so many people were taking advantage of the service. When spending $1,500+ per night, I feel I should get prompt service.

Overall, the house is a nice house. The location of the resort is good and the presence of kitchen & laundry facilities in the house make the house very attractive and housekeeping does a good job while we are out skiing. But we won't be using the spa even though we paid in advance for four visits because the spa closes early (7pm) and we would either have to walk from the house or valet park the car. And it sounds like spa visits really need to be booked far in advance as well. If I had to do it all over again, I would not add on ANY services, especially while construction is taking place.

In summary, the house is good, location is good; other services, including communications, are either not good or very difficult to access.

May be one of the best places to stay in Stowe, but overall the resort has not lived up to my expectations.

Grade: B-

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The rooms are very nice, but the Spa and the Restaurant are absolutely fantastic! I stayed for 4 days and ate at their restaurant for every meal (I rarely eat in the hotels I stay at).
And the Spa is amazing. They bring new meaning to the term relaxing. The entire staff was over the top friendly. But I cannot stop thinking about the food!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJCheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Topnotch Resort and Spa for four nights in early December. We booked through Tingo and got a fantastic weekday rate.

We arrived around 5:30 pm, the resort was extremely dark with limited lighting along the driveway and in the parking lot. Although the resort was undergoing a major construction project (the original lobby had already been demolished), the bellman was quick to assure us we were in the right place and offered complimentary valet parking because of the construction.

Our Deluxe King room was clean and cozy, and while the country style décor seemed a bit dated, the comfortable pillow top bed made up for it.

The first evening at the resort we ate at Norma’s on the hotel property. Their supper club was a great deal at $35 for an appetizer, entrée, and dessert. The cheeses, crab cake, shrimp dumplings, and homemade blueberry pie were all delicious.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They fixed the static on the TV in our room the first night, and were even able to make us a reservation at the best restaurant in the area, Hen of the Wood in Waterbury.

We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub a few nights before heading out for dinner and since early December is still the off-season for Stowe, the pool area was quiet and relaxing.

We're look forward to visiting Topnotch again once their renovations are complete!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellisulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The parking and building are under construction - does not make for rest and relaxation. At the price they charge they should be paying people to stay for the amount of noise, filth, and poor parking that is there. Blasting was unacceptable, and we should have been told in advance that the building and entire area were under major construction. Definitely would not stay there this winter - utterly ridiculous. We have stayed several times in the past - each time having issues with front desk supervisor. Its a shame really, the rest of the staff and facility is great. Between the construction and attitude, won't be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UnhappyTraveller491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopnotchResortandSpa, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

I am very sorry that your visit coincided with a particularly disruptive period of our restoration project. Acknowledging the limited parking available at times, we have implemented complimentary valet parking for resort and spa guests, as well as restaurant patrons, since all services continue to be offered in an unaffected manner..
I am pleased to confirm that the entire original inn building, built in the fifties, has been removed and the foundation for our new lobby and restaurant is all but complete.
We very much hope you do choose to return to enjoy our new amenities once the project is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have gone 3 times and walked away feeling like different people every time, so incredibly relaxing. Staff is amazing, pool and jacuzzi and incredible, food at normas is wonderful and the his and hers lounges are especially nice. You have to have a treatment to have access to the lounges/locker rooms though so I would plan on it, otherwise you feel like a bit of a second class citizen. Totally worth it.... Only other complaint is that, this an environment that's super relaxing, until you get a bunch of shrieking kids in the pool which doesn't fit with the atmosphere (kids will be kids, what can you do, just expect it during holiday times especially where it can be a bit crazy). If you're looking for more of the relaxing romantic getaway, I suggest going during the week. In line with that... Walls are a bit thin so you can hear and people besides you and in the hall, but rooms are wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanainthemountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We didn't stay here (we were camping at a state park), but we wanted to see the debate between Obama and Romney. We asked at several bars if one could be tuned into the debate, and finally a bar owner clued me in -- "No", he said, "there'd be too many fights, we only show sports". We were just about to give up and listen to the debate on the radio at our campsite when I said, let's check out the Topnotch. We told the front desk our plight, and even though we weren't staying at the hotel, the staff found us a cozy lobby area with a TV (no one was watching) and started a blazing fire for us. We ordered a bottle of wine in gratitude, and several of the hotel staff came by to make us feel welcome and chatted with us for a while -- very bright, interesting, well-traveled people. Then some British hotel guests showed up, and we had a fabulous conversation with them about our respective political systems. Next time we're in Stowe we're definitely staying here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank energyskeptic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
156 reviews
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $191 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch At Stowe
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing