We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY NICE PLACE FAB FOR TENNIS”
Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“REALLY NICE PLACE FAB FOR TENNIS”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband, son and I stayed at Topnotch for a few days this August and had a wonderful time. We know this place is very popular in the winter because it is a ski resort. However, if you want a great place to relax in the summer-this is it. Here are some of our observations:
1. The place is immaculate. We didn't see any dirty carpeting but perhaps they were in the rooms in which dogs were allowed. Our room was a good size and well stocked with large bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and lotion. The only thing we would have preferred were queen size beds because double-beds are just too small for adults to share. Also, bring your own pillow unless you don't mind the mushy foam pillows.
2. All the staff was friendly and helpful. If you needed your room cleaned at a special time they would happily accommodate you.
3. Norma's restaurant is delicious but if it isn't for you, there is an Italian restaurant adjoining the property (Trattoria La Festa) which is quite good as well as several others down the main road, Mountain Rd, out of the resort. If you drive for a few miles down Mountain Rd to the village, there are also several good restaurants there. Ask the concierge and they will happily advise you. They will even drive you if you need a ride.
4. We always bring a cooler and fill it with hotel ice so that we can have cold soda and water. However, they offered to put a refrigerator in our room. In addition, they gave us bottles of filtered water every day.
5.The outdoor pools were great and warm! There were always empty lounge chairs and plenty of towels.
6. If you like tennis-this is your place. My husband is obsessed with tennis. He said that the pros were amazing and that he really enjoyed the tennis clinics.
7. If you like to ride horses, they offer beginner and intermediate rides (walk and trot-no cantor or gallop) which was fine for us. They only take a few people at a time. The day we went, it was just my son and me. It was like having a private lesson. Mike gave us many tips on how to become better riders. We rode through all types of terrain: flat land, hills, brooks. It was a lot of fun- just remember to duck when leaving the stable (low doorway)! They also have wagon rides and bikes for rent.
8. One thing that we felt was a really great idea was THE EMERGENCY FLASHLIGHT IN THE CLOSET. Every hotel should have one in case of a fire. Who ever thought of it should be congratulated!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUEZEE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    196
    95
    37
    23
See reviews for
262
384
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The staff, overall scenery , service and atmosphere was great. Spent four nights there and wanted to stay longer. Too bad they were already booked up. The gym is great so is the spa and the gentlemen's lounge which I was told is the same for the ladies. Great facilities. Lots to do! from hiking, bike riding, walking the rec path, tennis, and so much more. Jesse from the spa department is great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the third floor. Less noise and a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great place to stay, beautiful mountain views, great staff and fantastic cuisine!
Massage by Jan was excellent and gave me extra energy. Thanks again Jan. We had fun watching the kiddies that were there enjoying making their smoors! A perfect 3 night getaway.

Room Tip: room facing parking lot and road in the back of hotel was not as quiet as we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrealFloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Well, almost no complaints. It is pretty rare not to have some complaint about a resort. So my major beef was with the liquor prices. They were exhorbitant. Don't expect to relax by the pool and order a drink unless you are prepared to pay $12.00 plus tip for a sub-par small drink. Bottles of wine are equally pricy at the restaurant. So if you want to stay there, you can do your drinking elsewhere. Actually, most people already got that memo because there is almost no drinking going on. We saw well-behaved famiilies, polite and quiet people of all ages. Even the teenagers were well behaved.

There are many positives about Top Notch. It is a very relaxing place for a summer vacation. Set back from the main highway, once you enter the resort there seemed to be little that disturbed the relaxed and peaceful atmosphere that constantly permeated the entire stay. The desk help said they were completely booked but there was never a crowd. There was no noise to speak of. People generally spoke quietly. The outdoor pools were clean, the water wonderful (and not too much chlorine) with a view of Mt. Mansfield to die for. Inside they had a sauna, a steam shower and the hottest hot tub I have ever been in. They supplied towels everywhere for you and complementary robes to use as a resort guest. It was entirely clean. The staff were universally polite, helpful and genuinely friendly.

The room was comfortable. Good temperature control, a comfortable bed, a decent television, a small refrigerator, a good shower/bath and plenty of good shampoo to use. What more could one want?

Then there is the exercise area. It is the second best resort gym I have ever been to, second only to one in Vegas at a much larger place. The machines all worked and were all top quality. I think the only machine I wished they had was for calf exercises. Even private televisions with headphones for the treadmills with steralized headphones were supplied. Drinking water everywhere. Coffee and tea abounded if that was your preference. A friendly personal trainer if you want to be extermally motivated.

I did try the spa. I am no expert in spas but their menu of services seemed quite extensive. I did a facial and was very satisfied. My wife agreed and thought their products were great.

Finally, we enjoyed the restaurant mainly because they had a fabulous outdoor patio to eat on. If you have kids, there is an extensive kid's menu and they toast smores each night. I would not go there for the food (or to Stowe in general), but it was a good meal.

So this is certainly a very relaxing place to go. There are many amenities we did not use but others might enjoy. Lots of tennis courts, bike rentals, and even horses. There is lots more to do around Stowe if you enjoy the outdoors. We only stayed a few days and wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not board the parking lot. It can be noisy with truck deliveries at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We visited Top Notch resort last October (2011), it was booked through the internet and we did not know what to expect. When we arrived we were in for a very good surprise. The house we got was everything we needed or wanted. Clean, very big and with all the high end facilities you can expect from such a place. We spent 2 nights there and we will defiantly come back to visit. I wouldn't mind having a permanent house there for vacations.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Coming off a challenging year, we were looking for a respite from our jobs, our city and an opporunity to just relax and re-charge. Top Notch was the perfect choice for us.

The resort was recommended by friends and proved to be the perfect antidote to deadlines and pressures of modern life. From the moment we walked in to the laid-back rustic lodge ambience of the great room, we felt like we were home. Our quiet, king-bedded room was spacious with room for a nice lounge chair, a walk-in closet and nice roomy bathroom with great June Jacobs bath amenities and plenty of plush white terry towels and robes. The bed was so comfortable, it was a struggle to get out of it in the morning and we could have easily lounged around all day in our room!

On our first night, Carol the Concierge set us up with dinner reservations at a local restaurant in Stowe but, as we were leaving, the heavens opened with a thunder and lightning storm and, having just driven several hundred miles, we changed our mind about driving and decided to stay in and have dinner at the resort's restaurant, Norma's. The food was excellent and I liked the suggested wine pairings with each dish which were spot on. We both had the day scallops in pasta and it was outstanding!

The spa is beautiful and though we didn't partake this time, would definitely do so on a future stay. Lounging around the pool every afternoon with a good book and a banana daiquiri (which I requested and they made specially for me) was heaven.

But the thing that makes Top Notch so special is its staff. Carol reached out pre-arrival to see to our needs and interests and was invaluable in securing hard to get reservations at local restaurants and generally recommending things to do based on our interests - she is a treasure. But all the staff - Noel at the Front Desk, Matt, the bellman, and Amanda and the rest of the pool waitstaff could not be friendlier, or more accommodating and helpful and that goes for all the staff we interacted with; I am only sorry I didn't get all of their names. At the end of the day, that is what makes any hotel and what gives Top Notch its special feeling.

We are looking forward to returning sometime in the fall if time permits.

Room Tip: Our room in the rear away from the pool area was nice and quiet despite lots of families in residenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPHDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went with my family a couple weeks ago to Stowe to spend a few days. Somebody told us about Normas, so we went to have lunch. I am going to start saying that the service was excellent, starting for the reception, we sat outside right next to the pool, and we just enjoy the fact of being next to the pool while we were waiting for our food (no more than 10 minutes. I am a huge fan of sweet potatoes fries and I have to say that since I am in USA, these are the best sweet potatoes fries ever!!! Everything was so good, starting with the food and finishing with the desserts. Our waitress was great, always worry about our needs. The location is just amazing and you can relax, have fun with your kids and have a great time, all in the same place. We are hoping to go again in the winter and enjoy a little more of this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Property: Topnotch Resort
Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch At Stowe
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing