We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch time at Topnotch Resort and Spa”
Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful weekend at the resort. The second we walked in we could smell the fire place burning. We were greeted by the employees who were all very kind. Our room was a great size with a very comfortable bed and lounge chair. The resort seemed to have several living rooms and lounges with beautiful fire places, giving all the guests plenty of space to relax without being on top of each other. Each day the concierge was beyond helpful. She made us dinner reservations, suggested daily outings, and answered any questions we had. We had breakfast every day at Norma's and would come by at night to have a few drinks at the bar. The restaurant staff were very nice and the food was wonderful. We made fast friends with the bartender who gave us some great places to visit during our stay. Lastly the spa. A heated outdoor pool and hot tub with mountain views was truly breath taking. The indoor pool area also had a hot tub, sauna and steam room. After a 5 mile walk to Stowe Village on a great recreational trail the resort had someone come pick us up in town. My body was ready for a spa treatment. Totally relaxed is an under statement. The woman's spa lounge was very tranquil. After my treatment I relaxed a little longer in the spa before heading back to my room. This resort was wonderful. We needed a getaway weekend. We are both originally from New England and felt like heading to a mountain town. We got to take in the sites and also enjoy the spa. We hope to head back sometime soon. We go on a nice vacation every year I have never felt the need to write a review before. This resort was great but most importantly the staff was exceptional and I felt writing this was a great way of saying thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 947 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2011

Hotel is gorgeous and homely and the staff are great. We stayed for 4 nights with our 1 year old and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. As they weren't full, they upgraded us to a bigger room which helped with having a little one.
Spa was fantastic and the staff there were great at showing us the facilities. Was great to swim outside in the heated pool while it snowed!!
The restaurant food was lovely and the free afternoon tea and cookies went down a treat. We loved the sitting area with the wonderful roaring fire, so cosy on a cold day.
The hotel is a steady 5 mile walk into the town or 5 minutes in the car.
I did miss the fact that there was no in room coffee but having it in the lobby meant we got out of bed and enjoyed our time more.
We would 100% recommend Topnotch to anyone wishing to visit Vermont. We're keen to revisit in ski season to see if we can cope with the America slopes.
Highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamEm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here for a short stay in November 2011. The hotel itself is gorgeous, feels like somebody's big homey pad in the mountains. It doesn't feel like a big-box hotel (well, it isn't). The restaurant was probably one of the best restaurants (all restaurants, not just hotel restaurants) that I have ever eaten at, AND was mid-priced to boot. The breakfasts and dinner were interesting and also prepared with what seemed to be local, organic produce. Such a treat. They have free afternoon tea and coffee every afternoon and most afternoons people will congregate in the great room under a roaring fire and the big stuffed head of "mikey the moose" (a stuffed moose-head hanging in the great room). The ONLY criticism I have of the whole place is that there was no in-room coffee (although there was free fresh coffee in the morning in the great room). However, some of us are too shy to go padding down the hallway in our pyjamas to get the coffee, although I'm sure nobody would have cared.

The staff were amazingly friendly and just seemed to want to make us happy. We walked into town (5-6 miles) and they came to pick us up in the hotel minivan because we were too tired to walk back. How's that for a place that's just like home? :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Walking into Top Notch Resort in Stowe, Vermont, feels like being enveloped in a long, deep hug. From the constantly burning fire in the cozy and rustic lodge to the plush, enormous beds in the guest rooms to the way the staff smiles, big and genuine, the message is clear: you are welcome here.

It’s not just your imagination. The Top Notch Resort is a smart choice for anyone, but it also happens to be the only TAG Approved gay-friendly hotel in the entire ski town of Stowe. Better still: Top Notch offers an elopement package for just $1,500. Where better to tie the knot than Vermont - one of only six states in which gay marriage is legal - and what better way to celebrate than with champagne, dinner for two, cake, flowers, luxurious robes to take home and a Justice of the peace to officiate? Forgo the limo in favor of a romantic horse-drawn carriage ride over the grounds; it’s all included in the package.

If you’re not ready to exchange vows, Top Notch can offer you whatever type of getaway you’re in the market for. Those in search of relaxation and pampering will find solace in the spa, which offers everything from a wealth of massages, facial care, full salon services and even a wink at local fare with a maple sugar body scrub. The spa, which spans 35,000 generous square feet and includes 30 treatment rooms, a sauna and steam room, three pools, a Jacuzzi and a hot tub with a cascading waterfall, is open year-round.

With six outdoor and four indoor tennis courts and a pro shop on the grounds, those who crave athletic adventure are sure to be satisfied. The Grand Slam tennis package, available from Mid-May through Mid-October includes nightly accommodations, morning small group workshops, racquet tune-up and a discount on pro-shop merchandise. And don’t forget about the mountains! The Stowe ski area is minutes away from Top Notch.

Dine on the grounds at Norma’s, a beautiful restaurant with mountain views that features creative, Vermont-inspired cuisine with dishes like a local cheese tasting and roasted beet carpaccio with Vermont feta and endive. Or just order in 24-hour room service and share a meal in your guest room. With stunning views of the natural landscape and resort, as well as decor fit for a king - or a queen - one thing is for certain. Staying at Top Notch Resort is like coming home.

For beautiful photos, refer to connextionsmagazine.com

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnextionsMagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

BEWARE. Outdated, stained carpets and wallpaper. Smelly, unwashed quilts. Mediocre, overpriced food. Terrible service. Topnotch's heyday has long passed. It's an old, uncared for hotel still trying bill itself as a 'topnotch' resort. STAY ELSEWHERE.

Room Tip: Requests ignored, every time we've been there. For a good room, stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I just returned from my third weekend trip to TopNotch in as many years and can not say enough good things about this hotel and Stowe in general. I have been in June and twice in November and am also headed back in December. Two nights here feels like a week and is all you need to truly recharge from a busy life! If you can stay longer, please do...

The resort is beautifully situated with views of Mt. Mansfield and the surrounding mountains. Upon check-in, we are always so warmly greeted by the staff, it feels like coming home. The hotel has the feel of an upscale lodge with cozy yet elegent furnishings in the ample great room off the front entrance and in the sitting areas off of the lobby. There is a large fire place that is great to cozy up to and read a book or just relax. There are also large tables with glorious views - great for playing quiet games or working on your computer (though this is the type of place to truly unplug).

The concierge is wonderful for tips on hiking and outdoor activities (for all skill levels) as well as great places to eat and shop in and around Stowe.

I can not say enough great things about the resort grounds and ammenities. The outdoor heated pool, hot-tub, hard-scape, indoor heated pool, steam room, etc. It is all wonderful! The spa is worldclass and a few hours of treatments and pampering will do a world of good for your soul. Do not leave without enjoying a dinner at Normas. The food is amazing!

Stowe in general is such a great town! There is so much to do (or not do) and the people are all so very friendly and welcoming. One not-to-be-missed spot is Harvest Market. This wonderful upscale market is owned by The Burton Company (snowboarding anyone?) and is such an amazing treat. Must gets: Breakfast sandwich and their fresh bread! Tip - Grab some freshly baked bread, cheese, pate and a bottle of wine from Harvest and enjoy a picnic outside by the pool at Topnotch.

I am heading back to Topnotch in a few weeks for a girls weekend and can't wait!

Room Tip: There is only one setof adjoining rooms. If you know you are going to need this, call to reserve ah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleD_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We spent ten days at this hotel in the autumn when the leaves were at their most glorious. The staff were universally helpful, the spa was one of the best we have visited, and the restaurant was excellent.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area since it is far enough away from town and the other attractions to be quiet, but close enough not to make excursions a trial.

It could do with a makeover in terms of decor, but the rooms are big enough to work in, if necessary, and the amenities are excellent.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff about what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4RBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stowe
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
189 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $158 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch At Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing