We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2007

My husband & I visited Topnotch this past summer for 3 wonderful nights. We heard great stuff about this resort, but even more excited to see all their recent renovations; Large & beautifully decorated rooms, two new swimming pools & especially loved the outdoor whirlpool, (open in the winter) with awesome views of Mt-Mansfield.

If you go, highly recommend Norma's restaurant, chefs grill the best Filet you can imagine, but can't forget that Tuna Two ways.

After few nights, we were truly relaxed & pampered to the Max. Really helps that Topnotch staff is so friendly,

Simply the Best & reserved for this coming Christmas,

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    193
    94
    37
    23
See reviews for
255
377
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa,ont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2007

We spent a long weekend at top notch recently and had a wonderful relaxing time the staff were friendly and helpful the room was large and clean and very charming. The main area could use a little updating, but hope when they do, they keep the moose. The Spa was nothing short of perfect, although there were unattended children in the adult only pool outside( not really the spas fault, but watching someone elses children didn't figure into a romantic spa weekend) maybe they could install a key activated gate at the pool area to prevent this, otherwise the facility is beautiful and the treatments well worth it and reasonably priced. Norma's was expensive but the food was good and service excellent, they even gave us complimentary cocktails went our table was a little late getting ready ( and we really weren't upset). Overall we were very pleased and can't wait to return.

  • Liked — spa
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonbusinesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

My Husband and I have stayed in the stowe area for a number of years, this was the first time at Topnotch and found it to be quite a suprise, Yes the beds are comfortable and the rooms are lovely, the spa was very good , I found the food to be Quite good and the two chefs and wait e staff to be excellent we had an excelent meal which really suprised me because there is not much written about the food at topnotch,the prices are excellent and there is such a variety on the menu. We will be sure to dine there again. Make a reservation if your there on the weekends.I found the rooms to be a little over priced and not much in the way of packages for family's, but we would dine there again. The view looking over the pool and to the mountains is wonderful.

  • Liked — the dinning/ the rooms and beds
  • Disliked — the spa is over rated
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBostongirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2007

Spent three nights at Top Notch recently. Have stayed many times in Stowe & would recommend Top Notch and stay again.
Especially enjoyed the offerings and presentation at Norma's!!
Great food and a great room. You may opt to be seated "a la ronde" and watch the chefs prepare your meal- both the sous & executive chefs were a delight!!

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — acess
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2007

The people were luke warm, not really wishing to listen to any complaints. The room was nice enough but was directly above the delivery area, even though the hotel was not full. The noise from the deliveries was excessive and too early for a relaxing hotel. The spa was great but to use the lounges there was a fee, which was not explained until we got there. The main restaurant was closed 'for the season' as was the bar. Only Normas was open which reduced the choices and meant an evening drive to Stowe. For the price, the fact parts of the hotel were closed was exceptionally disappointing. Not likely to ever return!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ywurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2007

This was our first time at the resort. People had told us that rooms were outdated and overall hotel was rustic but I did not realize how bad the rooms were until we got there. For the very expensive price of the rooms you would think it would be wonderful.The lobby is very old and in need of modern day makeover. The rooms were clean but very old and musty. The hallways were so old and the elevator was from the fifties. we immediatly went to the spa to check it out and it was like going from bad to wonderful. The spa was perfect and treatments were wonderful. The problem is that you would expect the luxury of the spa to carry over to the hotel. We did meet people that were staying in the condos and they said it was wonderful. They could not believe that the rooms were so bad. I would say - if you go stay in the condos if you can afford it.

Also, Normas was way too overpriced for the atomoshere of the hotel. You cannot expect people to pay all that money for not nice rooms, overpriced treatments (but well worth them).

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2007

Nice staff, good food and atmosphere at Normas. Spa is good not great(although I'm comparing to Wynn Casino in Vegas) Wife had a great massage from Bob. Hotel definately has all the amenities you need. Biggest complaint is the state of rooms for the price you are paying. Rooms are very out-dated need to be re-done, musty feel to rooms.

  • Liked — normas restaurant
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mattiasToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Property: Topnotch Resort
Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch At Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch Resort
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing