We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Terrible Night's Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Value, Terrible Night's Sleep”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

The good: Fairly clean, great breakfast, good size rooms, excellent value.

The bad: 20 (or more) year old tube TV with marginal picture, lots of items needing replacement (delaminating bathroom door, rusting hinges, bathroom needs regrouting).

The ugly: Mattress should have been replaced when Bush was in office - Bush the Elder, not W. It had a huge "crater" in the middle, and it was impossible to keep from rolling into it (I finally used a pillow as a chock) and it produced a terrible night's sleep.

And isn't what sleeping is all about? Stowe is a long way from anywhere. If you have just spent 4 hours in the car, or 8 hours on the slopes, the last thing you need is a crappy night's sleep. If sleep is important to you, spend a little more money and stay elsewhere.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Quackbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    395
    146
    41
    29
See reviews for
375
436
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Like many of the hotels on the road leading to Stowe Mountain Resort, this is a converted 1960's motel (Alpine Motor Inn). You park in front of your room and have paper thin walls between you and the next door guests, which is a problem if they arrive late or are partygoers. Bathrooms contain big soap dispensers - one for 'body wash' and the other for 'shampooing' (sic) - and the TV in the room (and the picture quality) seem to date from the mid 90's.
However, the owners have done a good job in sprucing things up with pleasant decor in the lobby and guest rooms and everywhere seemed clean and well kept. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the breakfast was the highlight; very tasty, cooked to order and included in the room rate that we were staying on.
The spa building contains a nice pool, a tiny workout area, a sizable (but chemically laden) hot tub, and games room with ancient coin-stealing video games and a pool table. As the spa also provides facilities for local members, it seemed heavily used and as a result the changing rooms were awash with water, dirty towels and broken lockers.
It is situated above the village avoiding the crazy traffic through the center of Stowe at the beginning and end of each day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoonerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Very much enjoyed ourselves at this wonderful hotel. The rooms are priced right, good sized, and clean. The facilities (lobby with fireplace, pool, restaurant, ice skating pond) are a real treat. Best of all the staff is super friendly and helpful. Easy drive to the mountain and the village. Great British Pub next door with good pub grub and fine dining as well. We had a blast. No question we will return again and again. Special thanks to Suzanne in the office for helping rearrange a reservation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtopNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

First impression upon pulling into the hotel was the warm reception, and once to the room, the first thing noticed was the nice clean rug, which in a ski area is a huge detractor for many hotels.

The room was pretty basic, 2 beds with the sandard stuff, relatively firm mattresses and a normal ... 25? inch CRT Television. Picture was clear. Room wallpaper is clean and fresh, and there was a small mini-fridge cube in the room (A Big Plus!) Also, I'm not sure if it was a design flaw or intentional, but the bathroom floor also was heated.
Hotel room was sprinklered and had a smoke detector.

Did have one minor issue after the first night, we noticed the toilet ran unless the float was released manually, a quick call to the front desk on the way out in the morning and we came back to a working toilet, they fixed the problem promptly and correctly, that's why they get an excellent rating for service, not the fact that there was a problem, but how they responded when one was identified!.

We ended up at this place because of the price, but the room was comfortable overall and we'd seriously consider returning next time if the price was right.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My brother and I were in Stowe for a mid-week ski get-a-way the first week in February. After doing some research on the internet, we selected the Golden Eagle resort for our base camp.

We were pleasantly surprised with our experience at the Golden eagle. Clean, comfortable room....great breakfast every morning...and friendly, helpful staff.
The resort had pretty much everything you could ask for, including a great indoor swimming pool, with jaccuzi ; hot coffe every morning/ afternoon in their reception area; access to a computer/ internet, etc. Truly a full service resort at a very reasonable price.

I would not hesitate to stay there in the future!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshattuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We booked GER for a long holiday weekend with the intent of skiing during this time. This hotel was chosen for the amenities, and its location to town and the mountain. It was a good hotel overall, as the rooms were clean and spacious. Our only complaint was the "shuttle service" to the mountain. On the website and in user reviews it sounds as if the shuttle was offered by the hotel, however, this is not so. It is a free shuttle run by the town of Stowe that stops at all of the resorts. Once on the bus the commute is relatively painless, but waiting for the bus is another story. The schedule that is given is completely useless and usually about 20 minutes behind what is stated. Perhaps on a nice summer day this might not matter, but in 20 degree weather this is just outrageous. Especially outrageous if you have children (imagine being questioned by your kids every two minutes when the bus is coming...because they can't their cold). If skiing is the reason for your visit to Stowe and you don't mind a long wait for the shuttle or driving yourself to the mountain then this place is a good value. However, if you're skiing and looking for convenience do not stay here. Other than that complaint the place is charming, well taken care of, and a good value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINY
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Traveled with a group of 5. No complaints at all. Rooms were clean. The breakfast included was great. Swim/Rec area clean. Nice touch with wine & cheese on mondays...I consider this an upper budget hotel that we would return to!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank club212rookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
176 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing