We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Customers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Southampton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Repeat Customers”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We just love this place. We make the trip at least once a year for the last 15 years. The people are wonderful,the rooms are nice,the breakfast is great and the cookies are yummy.They do a good job at making your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Many thanks for being such loyal customers and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and will be sure to share them with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    395
    146
    41
    29
See reviews for
375
436
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this place. Staff is so nice. The spa , pools and sauna were great. Room was very nice, just slight outdated but this place is more of an Inn than a hotel so perfect.
Dayton at the spa was great. For tennis you need to reserve a court. Cookies at tea time too!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks so much for writing this review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found it to be a good value. I'll be sure to pass your comments on to the staff, particularly Dayton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I've been staying at this resort on and off for the last decade. I've stayed in every class of room they offer, including the fireside suites on the other side of the mountain road, and I've been in every season of the year.

It's a really nice place run by really nice people. The rates can be a little volatile, depending on if they have a bus tour coming through that week(end), but you can usually do a little better if you call the desk rather than book online.

You're walking distance from Pie in the Sky (pizza), McCarthy's (Breakfast/Lunch), Fine Wine Cellars (a personal fav), the cinema and AJ's ski and sports (bike rentals), the Stowe recreational trail, and the village area. I can often park the car for the weekend... I'm actually there this weekend, come to think of it. ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lintocs o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for being one of our loyal repeat guests! Our goal is to make our guests feel special and it sounds like we hit the mark with you! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences and recommendation on TripAdvisor.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The resort was in an inviting area. There was hiking and the resort had an indoor pool & Spa. I did not get to enjoy the resort , because I was stopping for one night on my way to Burlington, Vt. The room I had was old fashion and the heater/air conditioner was loud. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The resort included breakfast and it was a great breakfast. I didn't like using the shampoo & conditioner that was available ,because they were in pump bottles and also the soap. I prefer to unwrap new soap and shampoo & conditioner. The pump bottle idea is very economical, but I know they were used before I used them ( that is just me, someone else it may not bother). The Staff was very friendly & courteous. I really don't know , if I would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Holiday057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great value for the money. Both times we have stayed at the Golden Eagle, we have enjoyed spacious rooms and amenities. The wood burning fireplace, kitchenette and jacuzzi tub are wonderful extras and the beds were very comfortable. All staff were courteous and friendly.

Room Tip: Kitchenette offers ability to stay in the room and have a leisurely breakfast. After a wine & c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your first visit so much that you decided to come back again! Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate it!
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Golden Eagle Resort at Stowe in May 2014. We have been going here for 4 years now. Great place, clean, friendly, always accommodating. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay in the mountains. A lot to do. Good food. Everything in walking distance. We will be back in September 2014.

Room Tip: In a room overlooking the little lake in the back. Big bath (whirl). Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for being such a loyal, repeat guest! It's good to know that you find the staff friendly, and the accommodations clean and inviting. We'll look forward to seeing you again in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

.The staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Price was reasonable. Near most of the attractions we went to, like Ben & Jerry's, Trapp family Lodge and Cabots. Restaurants nearby where the food is good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
175 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing