We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Eagle Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Green Mountain Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$149
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodores Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$109
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trapp Family Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Mountain Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$211
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Stowehof(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,159)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveler rating
511
416
159
43
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
416
159
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial cafeterrace wingbreakfast restaurantbreakfast planhot tubcookiesshuffle boardpieoutdoor poolhiking trailsnew ownersgames roomdowntown stowebike pathnew englandski tripmountain road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our room is rustic but the pillows and bed were comfortable....a must after a day of skiing. The bathroom is somewhat congested so the extra sink is helpful. There is lots of room for all our skiing stuff in the room. The breakfast is quick as long as you are there right at 7:00 am....after that it gets hectic and the waitresses can't keep up with the coffee! The food choices are perfect and the food was generous and tasty. The parking lot had some very slippery sections so walking to the office or your car was treacherous in places. The snowshoes trails are well-marked and were right out our back door. All in all it was a good stay especially because we were within walking distance to a variety of shopping.

Room Tip: The rooms across from the dining hall are quite private and very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Golden Eagle is about 5 miles from the mountain. Room are basic but nice. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was a bit slow, making it tough to get a prime parking spot at the mountain. 2nd day and after, we drove to the mountain early, parked close by, then had breakfast at the lodge.

I ordered a ski & lodging package from gostowe.com. It saves some money (apparently), but increases the hassle of picking up the tickets. In addition, the hotel wasn't really aware of the package so couldn't advise me what to do. The other problem with gostowe.com is that it wasn't really clear from their site that this place isn't right on the mountain. Slightly frustrating to arrive to that after a long drive. The idea of a package is to make it easy, not harder.

The hotel has a nice pool and jacuzzi, which we made use of several times. No dinner on site but the pizza joint across the street was perfect for our needs with a bunch of kids a couple of the nights. One of the nights, we had dinner at the Trapp Family Lodge a few miles away, which is also worth seeing if you're in Stowe.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EJL880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was there for a business meeting, but wish I wasn't. It felt very "old timey" when you walked in, which is not always a bad thing. Rooms were about what I'd expect - lots of knotty pine. Check in was a little long as the space at the desk was cramped for our group. They have a nice lounge area near the desk so it all worked out. Only thing I would like to have seen was a little snack/gift shop. It's not really within walking distance to a convenience store so a late night snack is tough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed there with my 2 adult kids and dog. The room was comfortable, clean and private. Breakfast was great at the Colonial inn and my dog had plenty of room to play and chill.
It's my second time staying here and I would highly recommend it for its value, location and good service. The cleaning staff was very accommodation ing and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxie1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stay on day at the Golden Eagle Resort. We had a Deluxe Plus room with a fire place. There was a lot of room and the room was clean. It is a nice room but we can feel the building has a certain age.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bbrault2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews