We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We travelled to Vermont in January 2014, and selected Golden Eagle as our hotel. It is a great value for the price. The hotel has a Sauna, Gym, and an activities room, as well as the swimming pool. WiFi was offered at no charge. The room are great, as well as the sleep quality. It is only a 10 minute drive from the Stowe Mountain. Can't beat the value!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank x x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

This resort is a gem! We have been visiting Stowe for the past 13 years, and this was our first stay at the Golden Eagle. We arrived on Friday, 1/17/14 and were not only allowed to check in a little bit early, but we were upgraded to an extra large room with a kitchenette. The staff is friendly and helpful, the property is well maintained, and the resort offers activities and pampering for all ages. Although we always seemed to miss the afternoon cookies and tea, the lobby was always inviting with a warm fireplace and fresh warm beverages at all given hours. We ate breakfast daily at the Colonial Cafe and it was always freshly prepared and a great way to begin the day. Mariah was a friendly face and we enjoyed requesting her area. The location is excellent. We even walked to the movie theater and restaurant for dinner. I can't wait to return and hopefully request our same room. It was a treat to have a peaceful and serene wooded area to view soft falling snow from our balcony. The hotel provides all of the wood and kindling necessary to keep you cozy by your fireplace and our housekeeper, Terry, always prepared the wood for us to begin a new fire upon returning to our room daily. Can't say enough great things about this resort! Loved it tremendously!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathi K, General Manager at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Mia,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you took the time to write the review. In particular we are glad that we were able to get you into your room early, something we are happy to do when the rooms are ready.

I will pass on your compliments to the staff, especially to Mariah and Terry, and will make a note that you'd like the same room the next time you visit us!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a great time at the Golden Eagle again! Clean, affordable and as always a great breakfast. Coming here last 7 years. Great location to ski all of Vermonts central and northern locations. Also a nice addition is the discount lift tickets to Stowe mountain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We overnighted in Stowe on route to family event in Burlington VT. This resort offered a fair price for a lovely room which included a fire place and an in room large whirlpool bath. We took advantage of both. There was snow on the ground, which added to the romantic ambiance. Staff were helpful and friendly. The resort was well located on the Mountain Road and close to our dinner reservation and the next day's shopping. Well placed for ski vacation or enjoying other amenities of Stowe.

Room Tip: Splurge on a room with fireplace and whirlpool to take chill out of a winter day in Vermont
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed 5 days at Golden Eagle and we loved it! The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We felt that the resort genuinely wanted us to have a great time. They let us borrow snow shoes to snowshoe right behind the resort where there was a beautiful view of Mt. Mansfield. After several failed attempts at reserving lunch at a restaurant we talked to the front desk about it and they called the restaurant right there and got us a reservation. The complimentary cookies and coffee were wonderful. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone planning on visiting Stowe, which is a great destination for anyone looking for a good time!

Room Tip: The Pondside Mini-suite was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Josiah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Went on MLK weekend on a ski trip.. not far from the mountain. Great value compared to other local hotels. Got upgraded for free.. great breakfast - beautiful view, great pool area too, very nice service at the desk

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Greta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had stayed at the Golden Eagle Resort 2 years ago and kept it on my list because we liked it so much. I work at a ski shop in PA and was skiing at Stowe for a few days. A full hot breakfast was included in the rate. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are clean with very nice towels. We had the 2 bedroom unit with a half bath which was nice to have. The unit itself had plenty of space for us to spread out. I can't compliment the staff enough. Many have been there for years and it was nice that they are empowered with the ability to extend a rate or courtesy without having to ask.

This is our place to stay when we are in the Stowe area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#14 of 24 in Stowe
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $135 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing