We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kids didn't want to leave! Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Reviewed August 4, 2008

This is not a hotel/motel. This is truly a "resort". The service from all was exceptional. The grounds were beautifully maintained. The pools and room were very clean. A great place for a summer vacation with young children. My girls (ages 3 and 5) made lots of new friends.

We stayed in a basic deluxe room but it was larger than most hotel rooms. The only draw back to the room was that it did not have a microwave (but had a mini fridge). No worries, we would walk over the meeting room and use their kitchen that was open to the guests. We would put one of our own DVD's in and watch a movie while the kids ate. They also have the best Pizza across the street. After a long day of activities (such as the alpine slide, bike rides, canoeing, driving the toll road up Mt. Mansfield) it was great to go back to the resort with a pizza and eat by the pool.

The kids even loved the fishing on site. They provide everything from the fishing poles to the bait and a well stocked pond. On one occassion, they ran out of bait, so the gardener helped us turn over rocks and earth to find some worms. He even offered to drive into town to get us some more bait. The housekeeping noticed that we had children so they left us a mini bottle of dish soap with a note saying it would be easier to clean the kids cups & bottles. The front desk also would open the joining room for us when it wasn't booked so we could have more room. Try a massage and ask for Shirley. I LOVE Shirley! My hour massage lasted 90 minutes. I cannot say enough about the service.

Location is great also. You can easily walk into the town center from the hotel. The recreational path is across the street and down a slight hill. Very easy to reach. There is a bike rental across the street if you don't want to tote your own and you can access the bike path from the bike rental shop.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WeekendJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

995 - 1,001 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2008

We stayed at the Golden Eagle from July 26 to August 1. Check in was quick and easy. We were traveling with a small dog and were given one of their pet friendly rooms with two queen beds. The room was very clean, if dated. There were a few broken tiles in the bathroom, for example. We spent a lot of time at the resort, which has extensive grounds. My 10 year old son loved playing tennis and shuffleboard, and spent a lot of time in one of the outdoor pools. He also appreciated the gameroom and looking for frogs at the ponds. I enjoyed an hour and 1/2 massage with Shirley at the spa.

We ate breakfast at the Colonial Cafe twice and it was very tasty and filling. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance from the resort. The resort provided complimentary cookies and iced tea from 3 pm to 6 pm every day. There was also complimentary coffee available 24/7.

If you are looking for a luxury experience, you'd be better off spending huge chunks of money at the Topnotch. But if you are looking for a family/pet friendly vacation with lots to do, the Golden Eagle might be the right place for you and your family.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almckean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We were visiting Stowe for a few nights. We were quite impressed with the resort. The property itself is quite large and has something for all ages. The children enjoyed the playground area as well as the indoor pool. We also had an opportunity to use the tennis court. The price was reasonable, given the resort's high ranking with TripAdvisor. The free Green Mountain coffee in the lobby as well as the cookies, wine and cheese were pleasing. The rooms were large enough. The only drawback for us was that after a 4 night stay, we noticed that the pillowcases and sheets hadn't been changed even once. We weren't sure what the policy was, and probably could have asked. Stowe is a convenient location if you're going to do some travelling to different towns in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitorsHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I stayed at this hotel on the way to montreal. I loved it so much I wished I had skipped montreal to stay here. The grounds were beautiful. The rooms comfy, clean and attractive. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was peaceful and refreshing. I enjoyed every second of the stay and made use of the pool and sauna (both were lovely). It was not over crowded and was walking distance to Stowe city center. I considered staying at the Green Mountain Inn and even tried to change my reservation, but I'm so glad I didn't. This place was perfect. Romantic and rejuvenating. My only complaint was that the a/c unit was a bit noisy. It didn't stop me from sleeping, but then, i'm not a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinnamon'sfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Enjoyed a lovely stay there in the snow. We got engaged on the hill that makes up the front lawn! Outstanding service. Good food for breakfast in the restaurant. And they had exquisite Green Mountain coffee and Green & Black chocolates are free in the lobby!

I especially recommend this resort in the winter, when it's worth compromising a wide-open mountain vista (somewhere else) for the convenience and warmth of being in town, close to restaurants and shops. Also, the Golden Eagle has snow shoe rentals on the property, and sports a whole network of wooded, hilly trails for snowshoeing.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Modern_Art_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

Stayed at Golden Eagle in mid February with a friend on our ski trip. Never had been to Stowe so I was concerned about the lodging. After looking through many reviews of places to stay at Stowe- picked the Golden Eagle.Room was very clean and neat.
Came back up two weeks later with my wife and children and they had a great time. Not the nicest place I've ever stayed at , but definately worth the price especially with the great breakfast included and the round the clock coffee. Will be back in 2009.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jwvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

The setting was lovely. We stayed for two nights. The first night was very peaceful.

However, on the second night (a Saturday), three guests who were extremely drunk returned to their room next to ours at 3 am and woke the whole building up with their loud antics. We called the front desk and the person working the night shift supposedly walked over and spoke to them, but they quieted down only for a minute. We also knocked on their door and asked them to keep it down, but again they only stayed quiet for a short moment.

We called the front desk several more times with the hope that we could move to another room, but no one answered the phone for the next several hours. The drunken guests therefore kept us awake until about 6 am. (The walls at the inn are quite thin, so we could hear everything the drunkards were saying.) We did not enjoy our second night at the resort at all.

When we checked out the next morning, the front desk workers expressed aggravation over the behavior of the drunken guests but offered no apology for the absence of the front desk person after 3 am. They promised that the drunken guests would never be allowed to return, but that promise provided little consolation for our sleepless night. We left on cordial terms, but we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ski2vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#14 of 24 in Stowe
453 reviews
2.8 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $134 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing