We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“New England Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Eagle Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New England Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here in October as part of a self-drive New England tour. This is a lovely location with hiils and rolling countryside and situated only a short walk away from central Stowe (about half a mile). The on-site restaurant serves breakfast with a good menu on a paying basis (at reasonable prices) but does not open for dinner; however there is a good selection of restaurants just across the road including an Irish and an English 'pub' in addition to others which include 'Pie in the Sky' (but don't be fooled, this restaurant unfortunately doesn't have a pie on the menu!). We had a lovely large room with two queen beds at the north end looking out over grassland and a small lake. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There are various trails near by for walking or cycling, including the relatively new five mile recreation path that has great views. A great location for walking/cycling. As we were only there for two nights and were more interested in walking we didn't use the spa etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    350
    116
    32
    27
See reviews for
321
370
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a nice resort within walking distance of Stowe and eating places. Our room was very nice with a balcony overlooking the mountains. We found all staff helpful and friendly. We didn't have time to use the indoor pool but it looked nice as we passed by. Breakfast we very good.

Not the hotels fault but it would be handy to have a crossing to the restaurants across the road. Its very busy and we seemed to have to cross it a lot.

Room Tip: Avoid the motel type rooms they looked awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 45lmkf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
223 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This accommodation met our needs. Staff were efficient and friendly. We had an issue with the plumbing in the bathroom on our second day. It was attended to promptly (the bathroom would have flooded otherwise!!) and were immediately changed to another room.

The pool is good and we had a good relaxing swim after a long day of driving.

The beds were comfortable. Sure it's getting a bit dated, but there is nothing wrong with it, and we found the staff (owners?) very accommodating and knew how to run a good ship.

The grounds are lovely, the location is excellent - close to many food options and across the road from the recreation path.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arncliffegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Arrived after a long trip through New Hampshire and Vermont - Stowe is lovely and the hotel a pleasant surprise. Mark was very welcoming and helpful in finding somewhere for dinner - (see review of Harrisons). We had a choice of rooms and though the bathroom was very small, we were warned and it was not an issue. Having read less favourable reports on Trip Advisor, I was pleasantly surprised by the calm and relaxed atmosphere - raining slightly this morning, the place is a misty reminder of home in Scotland; very nice. A very nice looking leisure facility but sadly no time to stay and try it out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPSP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a beautiful mountain view from our terrace. Breakfast was wonderful, as usual. We enjoyed the pool, the hot tub, the grounds....played tennis, did some hiking. The weather was gorgeous, and we were close to the Farmer's Market, the beautiful downtown area, wonderful restaurants....we like Gracie's and The Whip. Went to the Trapp Family Lodge and Smugglers' Notch.......saw beautiful scenery. Couldn't ask for anything more. Loved our stay, as always.

Room Tip: Love the Upper Terrace Wing...nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MaddyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Looking at the website you would think that the resort was top of the range, not so. It's in need of a major overhaul to bring it into the 21st century. We were on the ground floor of a block behind the main building. I'm not in favour of listening to other peoples toilet habits but didn't really have much choice as the soundproofing between floors was not great. The room was very dark and we needed to have the lights on all the time. Towels were paper thin, there was a serious amount of cobwebs on the ceiling and a lot of falling apart heating and air conditioning. On the plus side there were a couple of good eating places within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvd_stowe_vt, Owner at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Sue,
I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We don't typically get complaints about noise from neighboring rooms in the building you describe, but we will take a look to see if we can identify and solve the issue. Also no excuses for the cobwebs and maintenance issues on the heaters which I will follow up on as well.
Thanks for the feedback.

Neil Van Dyke
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have visited the Stowe area many many times over the years and enjoy the scenery in the different seasons. The fall foliage is truly breath taking and this year the weather was spectacular.
The Golden Eagle Resort is our favorite place to stay. The service is excellent and the property is beautiful. The rooms are clean, neat and functional. If you are looking for a quaint room in a great area you found the place to stay. If you are looking for a five star "city type hotel" - look for it in a city.

Room Tip: Rooms near the office are close to the breakfast restaurant and all the other offered functions and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvd_stowe_vt, Owner at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for your nice review, and I think you captured the essence of what we do here at the Golden Eagle. We focus on providing genuinely friendly, competent and welcoming service and clean and comfortable lodging in a beautiful location. Our property has evolved over 50 years, and each building and room has their own character. So no, we are not a brand new cookie cutter hotel (which there is nothing wrong with - it's just not what you will find here). Thank you for articulating this and we're very pleased that the Golden Eagle is your favorite place to stay!

Best regards,

Neil Van Dyke
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
0.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Shuttle service to downtown and ski area. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing