We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good experience, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall good experience, good location”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Golden Eagle and the resort was full but the service was still good and friendly. The resort is vast and you can park right in front of your door for most of the rooms. The rooms are old and need some upgrade but they are functional and well maintained. The "made to order" breakfest is good at the colonial cafe. The location is great situated between Stowe mountain and the old village. Mountain bike, hiking and road bike trails are accessible from the resort.
Overall good experience, would recommend and come back for a stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madesign1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    384
    135
    38
    29
See reviews for
348
417
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our room was upgraded without our asking. It was beautiful and very comfortable, bigger than expected. The personnel was as always very nice and friendly. We had a very good time on the grounds and on the bicycle path which is always kept clean. We enjoyed breathing fresh mountain air. The breakfast was excellent. We could not wish for more !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was my 4th trip to Stowe's British Invasion car show. We've stayed at the golden eagle every time, the past 2 years in the apartments, across the street. The unit was clean and neat, and with plenty of parking. The kitchen had plenty of dishes and utensils, as well. I've already booked for next year's show as well!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

we just stayed at the golden eagle resort,september 28th through october 3rd. we stayed in the suites with the fireplace,we used it every night.it was great..we hiked during the day came back to resort ; the room was nice and cleaned. we then enjoyed the hot tub, the sauna.they also had an indoor and outdoor pool,playground for young kids,hiking on the grounds,we were also able to walk to the many restaurants close by for dinner. the breakfast at their facility was also good.the hostess and waitress were friendly.. check-in was easy and front staff was helpful in whatever assistance you needed.. we would recommend the golden eagle resort

Room Tip: suite with fireplace if weather is cool or cold outside room is big
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tracyharleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Golden Eagle is a charming hotel within walking distance of downtown Stowe (10 mins). Rooms have free wifi and are clean and comfortable. The Pool/Spa building is fairly new as is the restaurant where breakfast is served in an area well provisioned with large windows for a great garden view. Free coffee and cookies in the lobby each day and very friendly staff. The third weekend of Sept is the British Invasion, 600+ British cars from the 1920's up though the modern mini's and jags. Many attendees stay at the Golden Eagle due to the proximity to the Stowe show field, a short walk from the hotel. Many of us book the room for next year as we are checking out.

Room Tip: The hotel has a wide range of rooms at varying prices. Some simple rooms with bathroom, some with si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

From reservations to checkout, this was one of our best lodging experiences in 55 years of travel. Clean, comfortable and extremely economic, this place is ideally located to get the full Stowe experience without a lot of driving. Our room overlooked a pond/garden/gazebo area which provided some real unique bird watching opportunities either from our balcony or from inside the room by the cozy, crackling fireplace.
Friendly, helpful staff completed a wonderful vacation for us.
Dick & Claudette White

Room Tip: Try to get Room 141
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotelroom was very spacious with a separate sittingroom, it even provided a microwave, porcelain and cutlery. Bathroom was clean, beds were very good.. Staff was friendly, except for one lady in the Colonial cafe where we had a tastefull breakfast, maybe it wasn"t her best day, but you cannot let guests notice that. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wout1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing