We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great vacation at the Golden Eagle.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Another great vacation at the Golden Eagle.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've been coming to Golden Eagle for quite a few years. Our most recent trip was last month. The grounds at Golden Eagle were so pretty...so many beautiful flowers...everything is well attended....no neglect. Our grandchildren went fishing and they enjoyed the pool and the afternoon cookies. Our daughter and her husband enjoyed their first stay, as well, and they want to come back. We have reservations for the fall, as always, so I just can't say enough about the rooms and the breakfasts, and again, the beautiful surroundings. Nothing could be any nicer.

Room Tip: Upper terrace has a beautiful mountain view from the porch. It's a little more private, if ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MaddyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    384
    135
    38
    29
See reviews for
350
420
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The owners, employees, and guests are super friendly
We arrived at 7am and they invited us to use the facilities until our room was available.
Although the check in time is 3, they had a room fixed up for us at noon. They were also very accommodating with my request for a quiet room and placed us in an end unit.
This place is wonderful for children. They have all of the amenities of an expensive resort including tennis courts, fishing pond, spa, pool yet all in the spirit of play
A great place !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hollylilytily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvd_stowe_vt, Owner at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review for Trip Advisor and their readers. We're glad we were able to accommodate your early arrival and that everybody in your family enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon!

Neil Van Dyke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorval, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've been going to Stowe for a few years now, and we always stay at the Golden Eagle. While it's not luxurious, it's always clean, the staff is always friendly, and we really enjoy the breakfasts in the sunny café. We often go with my sister and her family, and this year even more family came along so we were eight this time! The pool is clean, the afternoon tea and cookies are really appreciated by the kids, and it's within easy walking distance of town (the walk helps wear off the candy we eat when we get there), and to the little restaurants and theatre across the street. And the smell of pine walking around the property is wonderful. We always get a room with a balcony facing the pool area, and the view of the mountains from there is always good. I recommend it!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the mountains or forested area. Very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We are regular visitors to Stowe and our family goes to the Golden Eagle regularly, amongst other hotels there.

We had a pretty good time at the Eagle this year, but there are 2 items to fix that should be easy fixes. 1 was pretty simple, and 2 was a big problem for us.

1) the sausages at the breakfast taste like real cheap cardboard. Otherwise, the service was great.

2) okay so it's 2013 now and we all know our kids and family love the internet. So when we ask if there is wifi before we book a 8 night stay at a hotel, we really want to know the answer. And when the answer is yes, that means when we arrive, we expect to get on the internet even if it's a bit slower than our home speed. Unfortunately, there was no way to get the internet in our room. We made them aware of this early in our stay, but apparently it was impossible to fix. So our ipads were useless at a time when it was raining 70% of the week. Yes, we understand there are obviously other things to do than internetting, but the family needs a few hours a day and this should be acceptable, particularly if you tell us that yes, wifi is available in the rooms.

So either stop telling people that wifi is available in the rooms, or make sure it's working in every room at every hour of the day before they book 8 night stays. okey dokey?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GSpice67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvd_stowe_vt, Owner at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Fair enough and point taken. Unfortunately since our property consists of over 10 buildings spread over 15 acres, as a result there are a LOT of moving parts to our wi-fi service. I will be the first to admit that at times pieces and parts fail and may take several days to repair, particularly over a weekend. (My understanding is that the wi-fi worked fine for the first 4 days of your stay.) I wish we could promise 24/7/365 fail-safe service to every room, but the fact is that sometimes things don't work the way they should. We're committed and constantly working to improve the system and making it more reliable and robust.as we know how important it is to our guests. No excuses, just an explanation.
Neil Van Dyke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just got back from our 3 nights stay at Stowe, at Golden Eagle resort. There are 3 things that stand out about this property. First and foremost, the service and the friendliness of the staff. This is very important when you travel with young kids to a new place. Staff has been remarkable and very helpful through out. Second, the breakfast. Breakfast at the Colonial cafe is excellent, with the choices and the taste. What a good way to start your day!!! Grounds, play areas and pools are really great. Our kids had a blast in the pools, indoor and outdoor. Play areas, play rooms, and the grounds are well maintained as well. It is also very close to pretty much everything you would need in Stowe. Our only disappointment was the 4th of July fireworks were cancelled due to the bad weather, but its no one's fault of course. We will be happy to come back. Only note for improvement: Should have micro waves either at the room or in the lobby. If you are travelling with little kids and if you want to warm the milk or food or anything, it is very difficult.

Room Tip: Both the east and north wings are very good. Bring a small micro wave if you got little kids and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGeminis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for three days. The staff was friendly, attentive, and very helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and roomy. The indoor pool and whirlpool were excellent. The restaurant served delicious breakfasts, again with a very friendly and attentive staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

...the Golden Eagle Resort is more Rusty Eagle Country Inn. The place is dated, as other reviewers point out. The pool area is not at all resort like, the well stocked fishing ponds are not that well stocked - we only saw some frogs in it. Rooms smell musty, ours smelt a lot better after we left the windows open and aired it for a day. That's not hard to do, so why didn't anyone do that before we stayed there? The coin operated games in the game room don't always work. Pluses: The rooms are clean, wifi works, the mattresses are good, and our kids still had a great time. Finally, I give it 3*s because of John's 5 star service, without which the Golden Eagle would appear more like a candidate for Hotel Impossible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvd_stowe_vt, Owner at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and I'm sorry we didn't meet expectations in all areas. June was the rainiest month on record in our area with unusually high temperatures and humidity which admittedly did create some "musty" issues which were challenging. (I've had the same problem at my home!) Our ponds are in fact well stocked, but rainy hot weather sends the trout to the bottom to find cooler water and they can be very elusive to even the most experienced fisherman. I'm pleased that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and that John provided excellent service for you. Again, we appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback.
Neil Van Dyke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing