We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room, great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
2 reviews
“Huge room, great price”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our room was very clean and spacious with a fireplace, kitchen, and private balcony that overlooked a beautiful green space with a pond. The property has several walking trails, including one that leads to an amazing view of Mount Mansfield. The staff was friendly and welcoming. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and the shopping district is a stone's throw away. We didn't take advantage of the pools, spa, or fitness center but it was nice to know they were available to us. We had a fantastic experience here and will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradme542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    385
    136
    39
    29
See reviews for
352
424
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very nice welcome , family atmosphere, lot of space, very good equipments. Rooms very clean and confortable. Lobby very well furnished. Excellent breakfast at the Colonial Cafe.
Very near the recreational path for walking and biking.
We have been going for 15 years, year after year and we hope to keep doing it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PhilippeT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been staying at the Golden Eagle for the last 22 years. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They are ideally located, within walking distance to great restaurants and town. What we appreciate the most is that every room has an outdoor space and there are seating areas throughout the property. Beautiful pools. We love Stowe and the Golden Eagle ! We're already planning our fall foliage trip !

Room Tip: If you like to relax before going out for dinner, choose a room with a private balcony. We really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Reception and book in was great but once in our room we were not impressed but after a short time we realised we were just being unfair. The room was not plush in the same way as the big chains but it was clean, looked after and comfortable. The bed was one of the best we had for our whole holiday - the very best night’s sleep - (Room 108).

Coffee and cookies available in the morning and coffee in the afternoon. The swimming pool and hot top are a real bonus and worth a trip. Great location to walk into town where there are endless eateries.

Would happily stay again - thanks guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

An outstanding resort for the whole family.The staff is extremely helpful to meet all your needs-day or night.The rooms are always emaculate with respect to cleanliness. The grounds are beautiful. It is an all year round vacation spot which you will remember and tell your friends about your wonderful experience. If you decide to eat breakfast in the dining room- you will find wonderful items on the menu- and all of them are well prepared and delicious. The owners, who have the property for 50 years are always making improvements. They can be seen in the dining room or on the grounds talking guests(who are treated like they were part of their family) to insure that their vacation expectations are fully met!

Room Tip: Top floor of the Terrace Wing or any room in the North Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

As it has been for the last 40 years as soon as we arrived at The Golden Eagle we were home. While some things are not perfect what is perfect at your home.Quiet, confortable, many family activities,comfortable, helpful , great breakfast, great location, clean, friendly. over the years we have developed many life long friends while staying at the Golden Eagle. You cant't go wrong!

Room Tip: Many choices available check with the front desk for a recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 91nyg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvd_stowe_vt, Owner at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. This is one of my favorite reviews as I think it captures the essence of our family owned business. No, we are not perfect. While we may not be able to provide all the latest in amenities and furnishings, and we may even have an occasional lapse in service (we're only human) we take great pride in providing what you have pointed out - clean, comfortable lodging and good food at reasonable prices, and most of all genuinely friendly service to our guests, many of whom return as you do year after year and we consider part of our 'family.'
Thanks again and see you on your next visit!

Neil Van Dyke
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Because the Golden Eagle has many types of accommodation spread out in its beautifully maintained grounds, one feels to be staying in a quiet, exclusive setting. The atmosphere is peaceful and friendly. Guests enjoy themselves around the pools, fishing in the pond, on the tennis court or in the fitness center, while children love the play area and climbing frame.

The staff are so friendly and ready to answer any questions. The breakfast is out of this world! The only problem is the amount of delicious choices. We've stayed here for years and are always intrigued to see how the owners update the property and amenities without losing any of the charm.

Room Tip: Tell reception how many are in your party and whether you prefer to be nearer or further away from r...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Apasserby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
165 reviews
3.5 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing