We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First Impressions - set to one side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Eagle Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“First Impressions - set to one side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Reception and book in was great but once in our room we were not impressed but after a short time we realised we were just being unfair. The room was not plush in the same way as the big chains but it was clean, looked after and comfortable. The bed was one of the best we had for our whole holiday - the very best night’s sleep - (Room 108).

Coffee and cookies available in the morning and coffee in the afternoon. The swimming pool and hot top are a real bonus and worth a trip. Great location to walk into town where there are endless eateries.

Would happily stay again - thanks guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    355
    121
    34
    28
See reviews for
331
374
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

An outstanding resort for the whole family.The staff is extremely helpful to meet all your needs-day or night.The rooms are always emaculate with respect to cleanliness. The grounds are beautiful. It is an all year round vacation spot which you will remember and tell your friends about your wonderful experience. If you decide to eat breakfast in the dining room- you will find wonderful items on the menu- and all of them are well prepared and delicious. The owners, who have the property for 50 years are always making improvements. They can be seen in the dining room or on the grounds talking guests(who are treated like they were part of their family) to insure that their vacation expectations are fully met!

Room Tip: Top floor of the Terrace Wing or any room in the North Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As it has been for the last 40 years as soon as we arrived at The Golden Eagle we were home. While some things are not perfect what is perfect at your home.Quiet, confortable, many family activities,comfortable, helpful , great breakfast, great location, clean, friendly. over the years we have developed many life long friends while staying at the Golden Eagle. You cant't go wrong!

Room Tip: Many choices available check with the front desk for a recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 91nyg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvd_stowe_vt, Owner at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. This is one of my favorite reviews as I think it captures the essence of our family owned business. No, we are not perfect. While we may not be able to provide all the latest in amenities and furnishings, and we may even have an occasional lapse in service (we're only human) we take great pride in providing what you have pointed out - clean, comfortable lodging and good food at reasonable prices, and most of all genuinely friendly service to our guests, many of whom return as you do year after year and we consider part of our 'family.'
Thanks again and see you on your next visit!

Neil Van Dyke
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Because the Golden Eagle has many types of accommodation spread out in its beautifully maintained grounds, one feels to be staying in a quiet, exclusive setting. The atmosphere is peaceful and friendly. Guests enjoy themselves around the pools, fishing in the pond, on the tennis court or in the fitness center, while children love the play area and climbing frame.

The staff are so friendly and ready to answer any questions. The breakfast is out of this world! The only problem is the amount of delicious choices. We've stayed here for years and are always intrigued to see how the owners update the property and amenities without losing any of the charm.

Room Tip: Tell reception how many are in your party and whether you prefer to be nearer or further away from r...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Apasserby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My stand and I stayed at the Golden Eagle fro one night on our way home from a trip to Montreal. We chose the Golden Eagle based on many great reviews. We don't have kids and due to the one night stay didn't have a chance to try out the many facilities but there seemed to be no end to the activities possible at the resort.
Other good stuff:
$99 a night including breakfast seems very reasonable.
The front desk were friendly.
The room was cozy and a good size. I loved the pillows!
The layout of the building and grounds was very nice. Lots of green space. A few ponds. A cute gazebo. Too bad it was raining or we would definitely have sat in one of the adirondack chairs on our rooms entry patio.
The mediocre:
The included breakfast was fine but not great. A little plain and small. The restaurant staff while nice enough but could have been more gracious and less rushed especially since the restaurant was mostly empty. I don't really need my plate cleared while my last bite is still on my fork. I've waited tables in my life. It's not always fun but hey when you're in the service industry...
The rooms/ bathrooms were a bit dated, a bit dingy around the edges and could use some repairs here and there. The bathroom wasn't spotless which is a necessity in my book. With parts of the rooms being underground dampness was noticeable and the air was somewhat musty.

All in all we had a fine stay. Probably not a great romantic retreat but nice for families.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank idizac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvd_stowe_vt, Owner at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay, and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found it to be good value. I am sorry that you felt a bit rushed by the wait staff at breakfast. If you can contact me with your room number we would like to have a chance to take a closer look at the bathroom in your room so that we can promptly address any maintenance and/or housekeeping issues.
Neil Van Dyke
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Golden Eagle is in a fine location, right near town and not too far from the mountain. The staff was warm and helpful and the rooms charming.

In my opinion though, what counts on a ski trip hotel more than anything is the quality of your sleep. Ours was consistently poor. Uncomfortable beds, a lot of noise, strange lighting. The hotel is old and I understand that, but when you charge that much your guests need to expect to sleep well. I didn't. The breakfast was ok but not enough to save it in my opinion.

Overall, I'm sure it's not the worst place but I think there are far better options. I wish I'd picked one of them.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reason88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvd_stowe_vt, Owner at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I am sorry that your visit last winter did not meet expectations. We purchase high quality pillow-top mattresses for all of our rooms and regret you did not find the bedding comfortable. If you could perhaps contact us with your room number we can double check to be sure there is not some issue we should be aware of with the mattress or box spring. I would also like to check the lighting to see what the problem is.
We do appreciate the feedback and would like to have every opportunity to resolve any issues or problems that our guests may encounter during their stay.
Neil Van Dyke
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Nice welcome and very helpful when asked for recommendations of where to eat.
Rooms comfortable and clean. Wifi signal was good
Breakfast at Colonial café was fine with good and friendly service
It unfortunately poured with rain while we were here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvd_stowe_vt, Owner at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We're pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Golden Eagle and found the staff, rooms and breakfast all to your liking. Now if only we could do something about all this rain!
Neil Van Dyke
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
0.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Property: Golden Eagle Resort
Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Shuttle service to downtown and ski area. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing