We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I only spent one night, but wished it could have been longer. Beautiful room, very clean. The fridge was a nice touch. Luggage racks (two). Great location. The staff was very helpful. Wonderful breakfast. We would highly recommend the Golden Eagle Resort.

Room Tip: We were in 120 .Perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
There are newer reviews for Golden Eagle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Golden Eagle has just about everything that I look for in a hotel:
1. Lovely walking routes right from the hotel (through the nature preserve behind the resort, as well as Stowe's 5-mile Recreation Path accessible on the other side of the road)
2. Beautiful swimming pools, both inside and outside, and, much to my delight, the outside pool was still filled in mid-September (although not heated any more)
3. Rooms with balconies overlooking quiet ponds and flower gardens
4. A breakfast with a wide range of freshly cooked items, served in a restaurant by waitstaff who are unfailingly cheerful and anxious to accommodate, rather than the usual tired buffet one finds in most hotels.
5. Comfortable, clean, spacious rooms that are quiet at night
6. Windows that open.
7. Flexibility with regard to early check-ins (if the room is ready, which ours was)
8. Fridges in the rooms, hot tea and coffee any time in the lobby, home-made cookies in the afternoons
9. Plenty of info available regarding local restaurants
10. An utter lack of pretentiousness -- the folks who work here are warm and friendly, down to earth and ready to laugh

Added bonuses: the Stowe Cinema right across the road, which is unique in offering beer and wine with your movie as well as popcorn, and the proximity to "downtown" Stowe, which is walkable from the hotel.

We have stayed here several times over the last few years, and we are never disappointed. It is clear that there is a lot of love that goes into this place -- in the continuing effort to pay attention to the needs of the guests, in the high standards evident in all aspects of the hotel's operations, and in the welcoming almosphere that keeps people coming back year after year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4wildness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Every August, our family stays for a week at the Golden Eagle. We are never disappointed. We rent the White House (room #235), a 3 bedroom, 2 bath, full kitchen free-standing house with a deck and yard. We also rent one of the Fireside Apartments, a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, fireplaced unit. This year, one of our friends came up and stayed in an Alpine Wing room. All the rooms are super clean. The housekeeping staff is friendly and will make any special accommodations that are needed.
My ongoing suggestion for the White House is that they add an air-conditioner to the 1st floor bedroom and the kitchen. The beds are comfy. The front yard offers a great view of the annual antique car parade. We've never had a bad time at the Golden Eagle. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: The White House is free-standing and offers 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, a deck, and has a full kitchen. Th...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlecat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel and wish we had more time. The rooms were clean and quaint. Loved the balcony-like space outside our room. Lovely to sit and read. It was great to sleep with the door opened to enjoy the fresh and quiet air. The rooms were very clean.
Loved the grounds, absolutely beautiful. Outdoor pool was very nice affording great views. Indoor pool and jacuzzi lovely too. The hotel staff was personable and friendly. Wish we had more time in this gem and will definitely come back. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our family had a very pleasant 3 day stay at the Golden Eagle over Labor Day weekend. The resort has number of amenities for people of all ages. We swam in both the indoor and outdoor pools, used the sauna and (very) hot tub, played tennis and tried to catch fish in the two small ponds (no luck). There was a wine and cheese tasting one afternoon. There was coffee in the office every morning and cookies and iced tea every afternoon. This place is not especially modern or fancy, but we had lots to do for an excellent price. The Labor Day weekend included free breakfast each day. The whole trip cost about $340 - $350 total for three nights for a family of four. I thought it was an outstanding value. I recommend the Golden Eagle over expensive or boring hotels which I have visited elsewhere.

Room Tip: Most rooms seemed to have nice views of the grounds.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuidoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We booked a room here online and the room was exactly as shown. The check-in service was quick and friendly and thebbed was very comfortable. The only issue we had was that our room had an odd smell. Luckily, I pack Febreeze in my car. The morning front desk clerk didn't seem overly concerned about it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fr0m_PEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had friends getting married at the Stowe Mountain Lodge last weekend and we didn't want to break the bank with the prices there, so the alternative, more reasonably priced accommodation suggested by the Bride / Groom was the Golden Eagle Resort. We couldn't have been happier in the 2 BR Suite we booked. The common facilities of the resort were great: Sauna, indoor pool, outdoor pool, hot tub. There were a lot of other common facility offerings, we just didn't have time to get to them.

The property is a little bit dated overall, but quite charming. The price was very reasonable. For 4-6 people, the 2 BR Suite would be a great option. If you have 6, everyone will need to draw straws to see who sleeps on the pull out, or bring an air mattress.

Overall, it is a lovely option in a beautiful part of the country. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Book a 2 BR Suite for more room across the street from the main lodge and facilities.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CD_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,315 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $143 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing