We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our 14th wedding anniversary and decided at the last minute that a little overnight away from home was in order. We didn't want to travel too far (we live in N.H.), so we decided that Stowe might be a good spot. We adore the Austrian inspired cuisine and atmosphere of The Trapp Family Lodge, but felt that the accomodations were a wee bit posh, not to mention pricey for one night away from home, so we made dinner reservations there and started looking for a more economical option for overnight accomodations.
Additionally, it is not too far from wonderful Burlington and all that city has to offer.
Enter the Golden Eagle Resort.
For roughly half the price we would have paid at TFL, we secured a very nice room with a private balcony overlooking a little pond and a king bed. We requested a more private location and a late check-out and were graciously accomodated on both counts.
We arrived in the late afternoon and were quickly checked in by a very nice front desk fellow named Mark, who pointed us in the direction of our room.
It was perfect! Just far enough out back that we heard virtually nothing but the wind and the birds. From our little balcony, complete with 2 chairs and a table, we could see the mountains in the distance, including some of the trails on nearby Stowe Mountain Ski Resort. There was plenty of room to relax and a fair sized bathroom as well.
They even included a small gift packet including cheese and crackers, Vermont maple syrup and some candies. Nice touch.
The resort has many activities nearby, including walking and biking trails, onsite indoor and outdoor pools, gameroom and a small breakfast restaurant.
We spent the morning of our departure beside the outdoor pool surrounded by mountains and trees and had the place entirely to ourselves.
Heavenly on this perfect summer morning!
Had a nice swim and felt completely rejuvenated.
I highly recommend this resort and cannot say enough about their helpful and service oriented staff.
A great find in a vacation hot spot town that can be notoriously expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for privacy and you shall receive! Rooms around back tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ihsahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We just returned home from Stowe. The Golden Eagle is a great place to stay. The room was large enough for two adults and two kids. The breakfast is included. Breakfast is delicious. There is alot to do on the resort - two pools, horseshoes, fishing, shuffleboard.

The bathroom could be updated, but really a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weitzmansf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a few days. It was a very pleasant surprise, we had a great rate. The room was nice, very family orientated. The kids loved the playground and two pools. There is something here for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruins42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Well located between the mountain resort and the picturesque town, we received a warm welcome and the spacious clean rooms are exactly what you need on a stop over tour. Parking is plentiful and while we dined out and did not use the heated indoor and outdoor pools we saw many who did and were obviously enjoying themselves. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palinscamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great location and Service. Large facility. Clean, spacious, and quiet room. Close to restaurants. We chose the breakfast plan, which was a nice way to start the day. Staff extremely friendly. Maintains mom and pop feel even though its a large facility

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEI_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We loved this hotel/motel. The grounds are beautiful and the reception area is excellent, with the added bonus of free cookies & coffee each afternoon. Our room was spacious, with its own private deck out back. Lots of hiking trails on the property and varied facilities. Really easy to stroll into Stowe, which is a lovely village. Breakfast was good value, and a welcome change from buffet style (which really means serve yourself & hang around for the toast to be ready!) We rated this our favourite of our New England tour.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorna29_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Golden Eagle Resort. Our stay is a mixed bag but overall we would probably go back even with the negatives.

Check in was a breeze and our room a whirlpool suite was steps away from the check in desk. They offer free cookies, iced tea and coffee in the lobby.

The units have screen doors in front and on the back door slider to your private deck (deck was run down, very aged wood, wear shoes splinter city). Screen doors are great for that fresh mountain air but the holes in the screen let bugs in. The location is very close to Stowe center, many restaurants and shops within walking distance. Stowe Mountain is about a 10 minute drive north. The room when we entered smelled heavily of cleaning solution. I had to open the doors to air things out it was so overwhelming. But hey, guess the plus on that is that they at least clean the units regularly and thoroughly. The room was ample and even though the decor is dated, everything was in very good condition. The bathroom felt like I was stepping back into the 80's. The toilet and hair dryer was like something we've never seen before. Ancient. The soap, lotion and shampoo are all housed in these old style wall attached containers. Never seen this at a hotel but assume it's real good cost savings for them. The king size bed was very comfortable and we slept really well. The ac was is great working condition and kept us comfy overnight.

Right off we noticed our toilet was gurgling and did this for a while after you flushed the toilet. We just figured it was an older toilet and sounded like this. Fast forward to the next morning when the toilet was still acting up. The poor fella ended up overflowing around 7:00 am. We called the front desk and they said they would send someone down. There was so much water on the bathroom floor we couldn't really go in there so we ended up not being able to take showers. At this point instead of waiting for the janitor to show up, we opted to just pack up and check out. It was a bit frustrating that the front desk staff made no offer of assistance to use a shower in another room or at least comp us breakfast or something. She just said sorry with a smile, have a nice day. Nothing like spending almost $200 on a room and then not being able to shower. :-( In hind sight we are now wondering if the toilet overflowed on the previous guests and that was why the unit smelled so heavily of cleaning solution when we checked in.

On the flip side, we really enjoyed the heated pool. It was a heavenly 84 degrees and surprisingly not filled with any kiddos after 8pm. So that was nice to have some quiet time to float around. The gym facilities and the jacuzzi are also a nice amenity for guests. Also for kids, there is a game room, jungle gym and shuffle board.

We had breakfast before we left at the Colonial Cafe located on site. Friendly staff. The kitchen gets out food very quick. The price is a little steep for breakfast especially since they do not include a side of home fries like most restaurants. 2 plates of their Eggs Mansfield, two small oj's and 2 coffees set us back about $24.50 with a tip. It was a decent breakfast but nothing to write home about.

Overall, we would stay here again but wouldn't fork over extra $ for a whirlpool suite since we never got to even use it and the rooms are pretty dated for the price. The heated swimming pool and location to the town center are the biggest selling points here.

Room Tip: whirlpool suites are a little overpriced, watch out for dated rooms with bad plumbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eat_good_food77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,343 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $122 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing