We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The place was very nice, the only fault with our room was the AC unit was in the bathroom and it had to be turned very low to cool the bedroom but the bathroom was freezing

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richiepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

First time to Vermont and Golden Eagle Resort was an excellent choice for our stay. The room was beautiful and spacious. Breakfast was unbelievable with lots of selection from the menu, and homemade breads and jams The indoor and outdoor pool are great. The grounds and setting - spectacular. Easy walking distance to eat and shop (although all stores closed at 5:30 p.m., what's that all about). Wonderful walking/biking path across the street and away from traffic. So relaxing, can't wait to go back. M & L from Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed one night for my wife's birthday. The people at the desk were very friendly. They had free coffee, tea and cookies from 3-6pm in the lobby. The place seems more like an old style resort. It's broken up into different buildings to stay in. Our room was clean and big with a balcony over looking a fishing pond. I think it was a great value. The buildings are somewhat old and dated but everything was spotless and in great shape. There are two heated pools, tennis, shuffleboard, nature trails, fishing, the bike trail across the road and mountain biking out back. We definitely will be back with the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This was our first trip to Stowe, VT and this resort. Although it is an older resort, it has many wonderful features including a great location, wonderful hot tub & pool, and a very comfortable room (We stayed in the Alpine Wing). The resort looks just like the photos posted on Trip Advisor. The 60 acres of hiking and mountain biking trails at the resort are wonderful - they are well maintained and very scenic. The resort (and our room) was super clean, had a wonderful staff, and was what we expected. We recommend staying here. It was a good value for the money!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoHatters84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Golden Eagle in Stowe for a three day weekend. It was our second time staying at the property as we stayed for an entire week three years ago. It still is the best value in Stowe.

Golden Eagle fits into what I call a motel on steroids. It's a motel type room setup where the rooms have doors that open to street, but the rooms are larger, more comfortable and super clean. The property has lots to do for families, two pools, tennis courts, playground, fishing pond, hiking trails, plus it is a five minute walk to Stowe Center. The staff is accomodating and friendly. The value of the rooms plus breakfast can't be beat.

Room Tip: Paying an extra $10 per night gets you two queen beds and a much larger room. Worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doug8823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I wish we could have stayed longer, but we were only here for one night. There are 2 pools, hiking trails, a game room and much more that we didn't even see. Stowe is a beautiful town and this hotel has an excellent location.

The room was dated but extremely clean and the front desk people were very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JESSICALANE24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I had stayed at this resort 5 or 6 years ago. I remember it being in a great location, reasonably priced and a variety of outdoor summer things to do. Not too much has changed since I was last there. The rooms aren't fancy but the hotel does not advertise that they are. I found them to be adequate for our needs. We stayed in a room called the Matterhorn-it had a seperate sitting area-it was like an efficiency apartment-it did not have a kitchenette but it was equipped with a microwave, coffee maker and a refrigerator. The Colonial Cafe was wonderful (as I had remembered it) for breakfast-great food and service! The Manger's Reception is a nice thought but should probably be represented by someone other than the manager as he was not very friendly-maybe he was having a bad day- I did comment about this on the comment card I left with the hotel front desk upon checking out.

Room Tip: hotel website or call them- worth including the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,371 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672-5101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $114 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing