We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great prices!”

Black Rock Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food and great prices!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were in Springfield area and this was really the only place open on a Sunday. We has no expectations.
The menu is big with lots of options. Two of us opted for the 14 oz ribeye that came on the hot stone. It was perfectly seasoned and fun to cook it ourselves at the table. The steak was hot from the first bite to the last and cooked just the way we liked it. It came with a starch side and Caesar salad or salad bar. We did the salad bar and it was great. All the options were fresh. Don't skip the ambrosia salad. It's jusy like grandma used to make. The ribeye meal was $20.00. Well worth it.
Another member of our party got the lighter fair fish and chips. It was 3 large pieces of haddock and great fries. That was only $10.00.
The only negative was the waiting to be seated process. People were seated out of order of arrival which caused some tension in the waiting area. We also had to wait a bit to place our order but the place was packed so it was understandable.
We will be going back for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    88
    28
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go to place when having company”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've enjoyed this location with family and friends and business associates over 30+ times. Great value,one of the best salad bars I've ever enjoyed. And the wait staff is excellent and courteous. I throughly enjoy this place and go whenever I can entertain when in Vermont with clients or family. Worth the wait and drive when in Southern VT.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lobster meal”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was my favorite restaurant in the area til the last time we went. It was a celebration for my birthday and my mom and I were really excited to have lobster and had had it here before. The salad bar was wonderful as usual but when we got our lobsters we were disgusted!. There was black goo all through the lobster. We eat lobster often and have never encountered this before. The waitress said that it was eggs(not) and that it was a female and they often came like this. She proceeded to make us feel stupid though we did not want to eat this.It looked like a blood clot. She did give my mom anotheremeal but charged us full price and even mentioned as she gave us the check that we should always ask for a male. What happened to making the customer feel good? I love this restaurant but am wary now.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Octoberfest57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent, excellent”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had the JD steak tips...they were done perfectly, they were very tender and tasty. The meal came with a choice of potato and the salad bar. The price was amazing for the excellent food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax Beach, FL
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Passed the 1st test”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Needed my cholesterol level pumped up so I stopped for the fried whole belly clams that a friend had recommended. Had onion rings on the appetizer list and that's my 1st test. Passed with frying colors. Great batter and a good portion @ $4.95. Clams did not disappoint and the regular fries were also nicely done. At $10.95 they probably could have thrown a coupla more clams on the pile but fair value for money overall. My waitress, Portia, was attentive and very good.
Had read reviews that the place was noisy and I could see that at the dinner time but I was there for lunch on a Friday and it was very pleasant.
They had a nice variety on there lunch special board and I will be back to give it a another go around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRTHEMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Rock Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Black Rock Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing