We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Glad We Found This Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 56 Main Street Restaurant

56 Main Street Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Hartford, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Glad We Found This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

There are not too many places to eat in Springfield, but this is a place that should be experienced. Very good food - hot, tasty and nicely presented. Prices are pretty reasonable. We may go back for dinner again tomorrow night!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Upstater53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    48
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, Cheshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Meal with fiends from California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had been out for the day with friends from California. We are from the UK and one of our friends comes from the Springfield area and suggested we give 56 Main a try. Well it was EXCELLENT ! lovely staff who could not do enough and made suggestions on what was really nice etc,. We had seafood, meat, lovely salads and beer and wine - all was great. It was a nice day and people were sitting outside, as there a few tables on the sidewalk. Prices average to above average, but when you're on vacation who cares !! will come again someday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lfc4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hole in the wall restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lobster bisque was very good. Speghetti and meatballs= excellent. Haddock was a 10. Mushroom bisque was delicious too. Fun to people watch in the window.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gtipples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The prices are a little high for the town of Springfield but there are really only two nice restaurants in the town so they can charge whatever they want. However, the food was excellent. I was impressed that they made one of their appetizers (mussells) as a main meal for me. Pleanty of mussells with pasta arrived nice and hot. Waitress was especially nice and kept coming by asking if I needed anything. The atmosphere is casual and if you sit by the winodw you can peopel watch while eating!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyLoo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

A restaurant we like a town away was closed, so we headed into Springfield with a recommendation for 56 Main. We were not disappointed, Starting off with a nice selection of $5.00 drink specials, we passed on appetizers and headed into the meal itself. Good, crusty Italian bread arrives ahead of the meal, and the salad was excellent, with exceptional salad dressing; probably the best blue cheese dressing I've had. This clearly is not stuff out of a bottle!

My wife had a pork tenderloin dish accompanied with an apple-maple chutney which she raved over; I had a tastes of the apples and what a nice combination of flavors. I had the Thai salmon, which, while not the best salmon I've ever had, was quite good with a nice gentle kick to it. The potatoes and julienne vegetables that came with the meal were on par with the rest of the meal.

Nice atmosphere, attentive (but not overly) service, this place is a winner and we'll be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CtSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at 56 Main Street Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
My staff and I would like to thank you for your nice review. We're glad that you followed through on the recommendation to try 56 Main. Those $5.00 drink specials change seasonally and run year round !! Please stop and see us again if you're in the Springfield area.
Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 56 Main Street Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 56 Main Street Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing