We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just doesn't get any better than this.”
Review of Heron's Way

Heron's Way
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Hero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heron's Way
Ranked #1 of 3 South Hero B&B and Inns
New Windsor, NY
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It just doesn't get any better than this.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Heron's Way is probably the best B&B that I've ever stayed in. I hardly know where to begin. We stayed for four nights on a short bicycling vacation around the Champlain Islands.
The proprietor, Jeanne, is very welcoming and accommodating and is also very knowledgeable about local wildlife, the lake, restaurants in the area, biking in the area, etc.
Our room was upstairs and it was very clean. It was also very large, with a very comfortable king bed, sofa, several comfortable upholstered chairs, large screen TV, large bathroom with double sinks, view of the lake from the windows, and a private balcony overlooking the lake. I think it also had the complete works of Stephen King in a bookcase, if you are a fan of his.
Jeanne likes to cook, and the breakfasts are just over the top. Every morning we were served about 3 selections of fresh fruit plus applesauce that Jeanne makes herself plus oatmeal (I am not usually a big fan of oatmeal, but she cooks hers for hours, and it's REALLY good) plus something she bakes fresh (muffins, coffee bread, etc), along with coffee, tea, juice. Then, she brings out the rest of the breakfast, which could be eggs and sausage, french toast, or frittata, etc. Then we would waddle to our bicycles. Jeanne is flexible about when she serves you breakfast. If you eat a bit later, you'll get to meet the neighbors, who are very pleasant.
In addition to the balcony outside our room, there is a deck and screened porch outside, and there is a dock and a small beach on the lake, so you can swim in warm weather. She also has a couple of kayaks that you can use. We kept our bicycles in her garage downstairs.
I was sorry to leave. Definitely going back.

Room Tip: Heron's Way has two rooms available: a downstairs suite, actually two rooms with a bathroom, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The setting is beautiful right on lake,the house is great with terrific rooms.It was great for biking.
The breakfasts are home cooked and no need for lunch after that.
Don't miss this place.
I broke my ankle after we stayed there 4 nights,so we needed an extra night and Jean refused to let us pay for an extra night when we could not drive home that night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxgrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Herons Way. We are frequent travelers to the Burlington area and wanted to stay and feel the islands - we normally just drive thru. We were in the king room. The room was large, extremely well kept. Our room has its own private balcony overlooking the lake. The balcony is set with table and chairs, There are 2 arm chairs inside the room positioned that allow a view of the lake thru the sliding patio doors.Great ambiance.
The breakfasts were superb-several varieties of fresh fruit,fresh baked muffins and either eggs/potatoes/meat or french toast/meat.
Jeannie makes it all happen. A gracious host-a great cook.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpm0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Two friends and I stayed in a suite downstairs, which had two bedrooms, a full bathroom, and a small hallway connecting them. Our rooms were relatively small but plenty comfortable. We were visiting South Hero to run the Green Mountain Marathon, and Jane was very accommodating of our needs for this race, making sure we had good runner's breakfasts bright and early for us, and, to our infinite gratitude, letting us come back and shower after the race was over even though it was afternoon by then. The view onto the lake was lovely, and we wish we had had more time and warmer weather to enjoy the water.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank europeetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved Herons Way! Our hostess, Jeanne was so warm and friendly and made us feel very welcome. Our room was large and very comfortable and we loved the large, private deck overlooking Lake Champlain. We looked forward to the delightful breakfasts and engaging conversation that accompanied them every morning.
We arrived as guests and left as friends. We will definitely return if we are ever anywhere close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bgeorgius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodway, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Excellent location, lovely accommodations, and really deicious food! We had such a restful vacation there this summer. The owner was friendly and knew so much about the area. We stayed in four different B&Bs on this vacation, and this was, by far, the best!

Linda, Texas

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in an upstairs room (don't know how many other rooms there are) and it was perfect. It is huge with it's own private deck and two sink bathroom with a fridge. Jeanne provides all those little extras that make this a great stay. From the corkscrew and wine glasses to beach towels, kayaks, inner tubes and homemade jams and breads, homemade oatmeal and fruit and full breakfast cooked to order. This is kind of hostess who thinks to make zucchini bread both with and with out nuts and who asks when you want breakfast. Really just great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Hero
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
766 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
741 reviews
15.0 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fearn Lodge
Fearn Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Hero
6 reviews
9.8 mi away
Point Au Roche Lodge
Point Au Roche Lodge
#1 of 5 in Plattsburgh
140 reviews
11.5 mi away
North Hero House
North Hero House
#1 of 2 in North Hero
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron's Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron's Way

Property: Heron's Way
Address: Lavigne St., South Hero, VT 05486
Location: United States > Vermont > South Hero
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in South Hero
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing