We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lower the price, the more you will like this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 8, 2006

If you pay a low price for this hotel, it will be a great deal. If you pay more than $100, you may not be as thrilled.

My biggest beef about this place was the breakfast. There are only six tables for a huge hotel, and the breakfast has no hot foods. Here is all you get: coffee, tea, muffins, coffee cake, English muffins, PBJ, juice, and cheerios or raisin bran. That's it. No breads, not more than two kinds of cereal, etc. It was ridiculous. It was crowded and not well-stocked.

The floors are wooden and the hallways are a little loud. The pool was nice and warm but very small. There are actually two, indoor and outdoor, but the indoor one was kept cooler, about 82, while the outdoor one was about 85.

The Windjammer Restaurant was OK but the secret is to eat upstairs in the pub -- same menu but lower prices!

The cookies at 8pm were hot and delicious. The lobby is small, with only two couches and two chairs. The tea/coffee service is 24 hours but not well kept up. The staff was friendly and helpful if not completely knowledgeable.

The smoking rooms are much cheaper-- they couldn't give them away! They were $40 cheaper than my room. The rooms were clean and the beds a little older but not too bad. There are in-room games and movies. There was a table with a chair, and a dresser. The bathroom had a hairdryer. The tub was quite clean. The sink vanity is a little high for little kids. The closet door was mirrored.

Ask for a room with a pool view, as the hotel is U-shaped around the pool. The outer rim is the parking lot. Also, I wouldn't recommend the first floor, it is right off the lobby and next to the clothes washing machines, and must have been awfully loud.

The location is convenient to Shelburne, Burlington, and Grand Isle (about 20 min. to the Isle but 5 min. to the other places) and about 35 min. to Stowe. The hotel is on a main drag with McDonalds, a mall, a grocery store, and a gas station very close by.

Overall, not a bad stay but not my favorite.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank I_love_baking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,398 - 1,404 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2006

I stayed here on June 29 for 1 night. I had stayed here previously in 2004 and had a good stay. My room was fine - room and bathroom were clean, bed - I found it comfortable - had a good sleep. Used the pool - well kept. The only problem I encountered were the hallways - very hot and stuffy. Nice touch are the milk and cookies at 8:00 p.m. Breakfast - average - cereal, apples, toast, bagels, juice, coffee. But hey - it's included, so can't complain. I liked the grounds - very nice setting with lots of trees and grassy areas. I'll be back - good location.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PatriciaWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

We booked into the Best Western hotel in South Burlington, Vermont for 4 nights because it is a Best Western. We have had good experiences in Best Westerns before.
The room was small and the beds are very uncomfortable, and mine gave me a sore back. The building seems to be older and of all wood construction, because we could hear every move the people above us and people in the hallway made. That and the permanently running exhaust fans and A/C on the hotel restaurant broke up our sleep.
The toilet had a leak, which was repaired after we called it in, but water still appeared on the floor. There also was water dripping down inside the window, probably from the A/C unit upstairs. This was not fixed while we were there, and we used the extra towels to soak it up. On a positive note, the free wireless internet service worked very well.
We left a day early and went to a very nice Hampton Inn for a rate only slightly higher than the Best Western.

2  Thank Capndick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

I'm so sorry you had a bad experienc at our hotel. I wanted to respond to let you know that we have made a lot of change to our hotel since 2006. We have undergone an entire renovation, all new HVAC systems, new flooring, wall coverings, beds and bedding. We have a fantastic housekeeping staff and Front Ofice staff with a very high rating on our cleanliness and guest services. I do hope you will consider looking at our property again in the future. I think you will be pleasantly surprised of all of the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2005

My family (including my 6 and 7 year old kids) decided to go away for the Columbus Day weekend last fall. We live three hours away so it was our chance to get away and let the kids swim. It didn't even occur to us that we would be staying there during the "Fall Foliage" time. The place was packed. They had at least two tour buses so each room was probably at full capacity. That does not make it pleasant when you are trying to get the continental breakfast in a very small room. There were never any tables available and it was elbow to elbow trying to get food. The first night we arrived we went straight to the pool. After being there for 30 minutes imagine my suprise when a woman came to me and said we might want to leave since there would be 20 or so Girl Scouts coming to use the pool. I told her politely that no, we'd stay since since we drove 3 hours for the sole purpose of using this pool. The hot tub did not look healthy and the last day we were there it was shut down. We were very disappointed with the Windjammer restaurant. Both my husbands and my potatoes were so cold that butter wouldn't melt on it. His pork was also cold. Then I tasted my scallops. They were so fishy and unpleasant tasting I couldn't believe they were real scallops. The waiter assured me they were but I asked for a comment card on the way out. The hostess asked me why I was taking one and she said she didn't want me to leave unhappy so they gave us a voucher for food at the lounge. We should have eaten there (but didn't b/c we have kids) b/c the food we ordered the next night and took to our room was excellent. The last part of the trip that annoyed me was the fact that they charged me for the fridge in our room. I was not told there would be a charge when I checked in. I have never stayed in a room that charged me for a mini fridge. They did take it off my bill. Overall the rooms were decent and clean but overpriced because of the weekend. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Suzykaboozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2005

The Windjammer is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Burlington area, especially when attending concerts at the Higher Ground club (a short 5 minute walk down the road). Nice room, very clean, and a good price ($70/night). Ate at the restaurant there too....outstanding king crab legs, burgers, and beer selection. Will stay here everytime I head to Burlington.

8  Thank tmarti2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2004

My wife and I have been staying here a couple times each year for the past 10 years. We've never been disappointed - rooms are always very clean and well appointed. The Windjammer Restaurant which is attached has also been consistently good.

5  Thank stevecaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Somewhere in New England
17
Reviewed February 29, 2004

If you bring a dog to this "pet-friendly" hotel, they will tell you to bring it with you wherever you go and leave it in the car ... sure, tell me this when it's 90+ degrees outside during July 4th weekend.Why even HAVE a "pets allowed" policy? I will NEVER again go there, and it's unfortunate that they are listed in more than one "pet-friendly" hotel guide.We demanded that the manager call the Comfort Inn Hotel up the street, and they welcomed our pet with open arms.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burlington & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
#9 of 12 in South Burlington
443 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Burlington
Hampton Inn Burlington
#1 of 5 in Colchester
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center

Address: 1076 Williston Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-5718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Green Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range: $102 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Windjammer Hotel South Burlington
Best Western Windjammer Inn And Conference Center
Best Western South Burlington
South Burlington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing