We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive But Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
CALIFORNIA
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Expensive But Nice”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was disappointed that Best Western charged $168 with tax with a AAA discount for 1 night with a small Queen room. There was a homecoming at UVM so many of the better hotels were full, so we had no choice but pay this higher fee.

There is also an additional $2 environmental fee, which seems like a silly additional charge. It should be included in the price, and no one said anything about it when I made my reservation. It turns out to be optional so it was removed.

The hotel was very nice. Although the room was smaller than we are used to, everything else about it was fine. The breakfast was very good. We didn't use the pool or exercise room but they looked good also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry you were disapointed with the value of your stay and understand your frustration with regards to rate during a peak season. Our demand during UVM Parents/Alumni weekend is at an all time high because in addition to homecoming, it's Vermonts peak fall tourist season. We are glad to hear that overall you had a good stay and appreciate the perfect scores for cleanliness and comfort of your room. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    478
    144
    32
    15
See reviews for
430
428
68
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

If you find this helpful please click the helpful link bow.

Location - great spot right next to UVM.

Service - service is par. Messed up my direct bill and charged my card. My wake up call was 15 mind late.

Gym - gym is really not good. Equipment is older.

Rooms - rooms were tiny compared to others, heat / cool was too loud and never seemed to work right. No safe. Bathrooms dated. Beds not too comfortable.

Breakfast - was good. Definetly a highlight, had good overall healthy options as well.

Hotel itself - its dated, feels old.

Restaurant (winjammer) - great place - food was reasonable and good. It isnt really attached but on the same property, definetely a plus! Huge bar.

Price - price was 99$ w/ breakfast for a queen weeknight.

I would not stay here unless I was meeting clients for dinner at the winjammer this way I dont need to drive. I would prefer to stay at the Marriott in Colechester.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snmurphy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I'm disappointed that our property did not meet your expecations. We have been renovating our rooms gradually but still have some rooms that need some attention, which we will be continuing in November. Just about all of our beds have been replaced in the last year and all of our fitness equipment has been replaced in the last 2 years. A new bike, stepper and two treadmills were added this year with the elipitcal and weight machine just last year. I"m sorry we fell short on our offerings. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our the breakfast, restaurant and pub and do hope you will give us another try if you travel to Burlington in the future. Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Trip Advisor.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have been at this hotel many times in the last few years and it never fails to excel. Friendly staff, spacious and super clean rooms and a restaurant and lounge with excellent food and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback about our property and for being such a loyal customer. We realize there are many choices in Burlington and can't say enough how thankful we are for your continued patronage to our hotel and restaurant. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plattsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hotel was very nice and had excellent staff. This hotel is worth every penny.I stay at a lot of hotels across the country and this was one of the nicest hotels for what I paid. The room even comes with your own coffee maker even though I didn't use it I thought I was a great idea for coffee drinkers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
What a nice review - thank you! We are so happy you had a great stay with us and appreciate you sharing your positive review of our property on Trip Advisor.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH PORTLAND, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After a 4 hour drive it's nice to register with a friendly and efficient crew. Clean, convenient and comfortable - with free wi-fi and a lounge/restaurant on campus. In the lounge I enjoyed a swordfish kabob/rice one evening and glazed salmon the second evening. Both were excellent. The lounge/sports bar can be very noisy due to the crowds and low ceilings - so go to the restaurant downstairs if you are looking for a quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff. We are so happy you had an enjoyable stay at our property and glad you were able to enjoy the restaurant twice during your stay. We really appreciate your positive review on Trip Advisor, thank you!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Fantastic place to stay - close to everything.....staff is most helpful and very friendly. cocktail hour is a bargain. Breakfast is superb and Hotel itself is great. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review of our property - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We really appreciate the great feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
Genreral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Not fancy. The room we had had two double beds, it was a little small but ample. Large TV, fridge and microwave. View of garden area which was not exciting. Convenient location. Rooms were very clean. Separate container for recycling. Complimentary breakfast included cold cereal, bread, bagels, English muffins, and muffins with toaster. Hard boiled eggs, waffle makers with syrup as well as bananas and cut fruit. Yogurt too. Plenty to choose from and plenty of room for seating. A quiet hotel. I would stay here again. Room windows do open

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor. There doesn't seem to be a third floor. Not sure if I would w...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bin in room, easily able to have trash removed only from room and keep towels.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice review of our property. We really appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of your room and your overall stay at our hotel. Thank you again for posting such a nice review on Trip Advisor!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
636 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 12 in South Burlington
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
276 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Address: 1076 Williston Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Green Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Windjammer Hotel South Burlington
Best Western Windjammer Inn And Conference Center
Best Western South Burlington
South Burlington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing