We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The room was mostly good. The beds are comfortable. The furnishings in good shape. The common theme in the reviews is cramped. The room was smallish which was OK for me and my daughter alone - cannot imagine putting 4 people in the 2 double-bed room. We did have microwave and fridge and very small table. Bathroom was OK - tub could have been cleaner, very small shelf above toilet for supplies (which can easily get knocked off into the toilet!) and very dim lights on a hard to reach switch. A bright light is on a timer switch - took us a bit to figure that out since I thought it was a heat lamp.

The big caveat is noise. Get on the top floor or you will hear every footstep the upper guests make. The hallway doors don't block much hallway noise. Turns out we were over the function room part of the hotel. I saw someone setting up as we came in so asked at the front desk and was told nothing was happening, that they "didn't do night time events". Wrong! Came back from dinner on Sat evening to find a party downstairs and we could hear every word over the microphone system. Called desk and was told it would be done at 11 pm. Luckily we stay up late and the party ended at 10:15 pm. Luckily no party Sun eve.

Breakfast had a good choice of items. Pool area seemed nice but we didn't use it. There was a nice outdoor patio area where we relaxed after arriving. Overall, it was a good stay but ask about events if you are staying on that side of the hotel. The adjacent restaurants are good and couldn't be more convenient!

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0mweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

I’m sorry you didn’t have an exceptional stay at our hotel but really appreciate the great feedback. We will definitely refer to your comments as we continue to make improvements to our property. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience at our property.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our second stay at this Hotel, we came back because we had a great stay the first time, it was easy to get to, and central for visiting the area around Burlington, the staff were great very helpful. The outdoor pool is a very pleasant area to relax, the food at the Windjammer restaurant is amazing so much to choose and its very good for sure we will be staying again next time we are down this way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We are honored to be your home away from home when you are in Burlington and really appreicate your loyalty to our hotel. Thank you for sharing your positive review on Trip Advisor!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Windjammer to attend a surprise birthday party on a nearby cruise ship. The hotel provided a nice buffet breakfast and the rooms met our expectations for the price. Front desk employees were friendly and helpful. It is definitely not a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive review of our property on Trip Advisor. We hope you enjoyed your cruise on the lake and that the surprise birthday was a great event. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just came back from a two days trip to Burlington, Vermont. We stayed two days at the Best Western Plus. Our stay was very pleasant. The hotel was full with families with children on vacation as well as couples without children. We could hear the children coming and going in the morning as they were bursting with excitement but that was about the noise we heard in the morning. The breakfast room was full as we expected when we came for breakfast, as the hotel was full. There were not enough seats available indoors for breakfast but that was not a problem, as we decided to have our breakfast outside, which was also lovely. There are plenty of choices for breakfast, fruits, pancakes, coffee, tea, juice, cereal, etc. Margarida, the lady who takes care of the breakfast room, is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located at walking distance from a starbucks and a Mexican fast food restaurant as well as many other fast food restaurants. The hotel is about a 10 minutes drive to downtown Burlington where you can park free for two hrs at the Burlington Town Center Garage adjacent to Church St. Marketplace. There are many lovely restaurants along both sides of Church Street. We choose to have lunch at The Skinny Pancake at the corner of Lake Street and College Street at the Main Street Landing overlooking the waterfront park. The Skinny Pancake http://skinnypancake.com/ serve delicious crêpes with many options for filling. I had the Atlantic Monster, with baby spinach and smoke salmon and was very light, delicious, and very affordable. The serves are very pleasant. You have the option to have lunch indoors or outdoors, which was also very nice. The hotel is also 5 minutes away from the University Mall and 20 minutes away from Maple Tree Place Mall. I did not like the Maple Tree Place; it is too big however, we found at lovely place to have lunch, the Mexicali Grill and Cantina. The food was quite good and inexpensive. We were happy to learn that there are not sales tax on food and clothing in Burlington, which was a pleasant surprise. We were pleased with our choice to stay at the Best Western Hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rmpbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We are so happy you had a chance to experience not only our hotel but the Burlington area as well. Burlington offers great shops, local restaurants and the beautiful lake with many attractions. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our area and our property!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Beware of getting the one bed Queen room. It is extremely cramped, about 240 square feet. The walls are paper thin,and noise from adjacent rooms is a big problem, not to mention the loud noise from overhead heavy footsteps. The spaces to park your car are very narrow, so don't be surprised to see some dings in your car sides. The rooms also have no refrigerator or microwave. For the high price paid, our room was a very poor value, and we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texastipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

I'm disappointed to hear that you had a less than satisfactory stay at our property. We definitely make every effort to address guests concerns at the property and I'm sorry we were not able to move you to a more comfortable room. Our queen rooms are definitely smaller than our doubles. We are working with Best Western design to help us to address the space limitations and hope to improve the overall experience in those rooms in the near future. Our plan is to provide fridges in all of our guest rooms by summer of 2014. In the meantime we do offer fridges and microwaves in 80 of our 158 guest rooms. Please know that we really value your feedback and will reference your review as we make plans for our future. Thank you for bringing your experience at our hotel to our attention.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for 2 nights. Hotel is almost new and everything is working fine. Rooms are ok and clean. Bathroom is clean too, with good bath. They have a complimentary breakfast and a shuttle to the airport.
Hotel is also walking distance from a starbucks and 5 minutes drive to downtonw Burlington. I used to stay in more expensive hotels in downtown Burlington (Marriott, for instance) but I will definitely come back to Best Western.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sefarebsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at our hotel with Trip Advisor. We appreciate your review of our property and the high scores on cleanliness and value!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here a couple of days for a business trip. We used the meeting facilities and the restaurant. i also used the gym space for some exercise, and enjoyed breakfast each morning. All in all a good experience. My only complaint was that is it a noisy place to stay. I could hear every step my upstairs neighbor took and sound really carried through the walls.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawnbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for posting your review of our property on Trip Advisor. I'm happy to hear you had a good stay overall but sorry you experienced noise during your stay above you. We do have some limitations with regards to our structure but do our best to provide sound proofing where possible. Some roooms are certainly noisier than others and I apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you again for your review and we really appreciate the great comments about the cleanliness of our rooms!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burlington & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
#10 of 12 in South Burlington
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trader Duke's Hotel
Trader Duke's Hotel
#4 of 12 in South Burlington
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center

Address: 1076 Williston Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-5718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Green Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range: $98 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Windjammer Hotel South Burlington
Best Western Windjammer Inn And Conference Center
Best Western South Burlington
South Burlington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing