We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing French Frys”
Review of Al’s French Frys

Al’s French Frys
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing French Frys”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just like the name of the restaurant. You have to try the French Frys, perfect handcut, not too greasy (Fair-style) frys with white vinegar in squirt bottles at the table. No nonsense burgers and buns. Very inexpensive and great hangover food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goyaz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    149
    59
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't pass up the onion rings!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Sure, you've got to order fries at Al's, but order a half-pint and a small order of onion rings. Work out twice tomorrow!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee3LasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun place to stop for a quick lunch”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Awesome cheeseburger! Quick service. One of those "have to try" restaurants when traveling to Burlington. I would go back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank OnTheHill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“50's diner-ish”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

large fast food menu, decent prices, really fast service for as busy as it is! Basic cheeseburger/ ff menu. Good shakes. good fries.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lunchladyNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gina_romantica
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“they've wrecked their fries”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was back at Al's a few days ago, a little more than a year since my last review praising Al's as the best you'll get south of Quebec. Alas, they have changed their once-fabulous fries to fit chain-like standards. Old-time Quebec'ers like myself love the old style fries; brown, a bit limp, sweet, and yes--GREASY. Like what you'll find at the "Casse-Croutes" along Quebec countryside highways, or La Belle Province. Add salt and vinegar and they're <sigh> HEAVEN! And until now, Al's was the only place I could find these delicious throwbacks from long ago. Sadly, Al's has changed to crispy, golden, dry, crunchy fries exemplified by modern-day American burger chains. (BTW, Al's isn't the only one caught up in this Revisionist Politically Correct assault on the limp, brown naughty fry: Canada's burger chain, "Harvey's", has done the same. But whereas Harvey's makes a great burger, Al's is your average everyday burger which for me, is a side dish to the glorious greasy french-fried spud).

Makes you want to give up fries altogether. And btw, we Canadians called them CHIPS until the Yanks arrived on TV. So constant change is both cultural and gastronomical, and in Al's case--abominable.

Sadly, there's now no reason for me to return to Al's. I'll save my "frites" (pronounced FRITZ) money for when I'm next in Montreal. See the picture? THIS is what I'm talking about. Study and learn. These fries are the Holy Grail of chips.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gina_romantica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al’s French Frys also viewed

 
South Burlington, VT
 

Been to Al’s French Frys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing