We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good show, very tasty food”

Koto Japanese Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Koto Japanese Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: On the CCTA bus route
Description: We are Vermont's premier Japanese restaurant, serving our guests for 11 years, since 1999. Come enjoy our Japanese ambiance with a pond full of koi fish and running water --always a hit with kids. We have plenty of free parking and a full bar stocked with fine wines, beers, and a variety of liquor. We look forward to serving you and your family in the near future. We have four options of dining in our establishment. Hibachi, dining room, tatami and sushi bar. Please specify the type of dining experience you'd prefer under special notes. For weekends and holiday please inquire within to confirm your reservation. Thank you.
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good show, very tasty food”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stopped for dinner with the kids while returning to Canada. Was a quiet evening at the restaurant. Chef put on a good show; flames, tossing food into our mouths, joking with the kids. The food was very very tasty. We had the hibachi dinners (steak, shrimp and combo with either noodles or fried rice) and found them delicious. The youngest kid really liked the live koi pond!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mastersonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    46
    19
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Frequent customer”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Burlington, VT struggles to offer authentic non-Americanized foreign foods (i.e., cream cheese sushi??), and while Koto's does offer those, they also do a bang-up job with the genuine article. I have found them to be accommodating with customizing a meal, a Bento box, or a roll. I don't think the chef get challenged enough but when they are they step up. I enjoy sitting at the sushi bar, where the chef often offers a little sample of something while you wait. Also, I never walk away hungry. Sure, you might spend $20 on lunch, but man...what a tummy buzz! As a frequent traveler I have checked out sushi restaurants in many states. This one will not disappoint, especially if you know what you like and aren't shy about asking for it. Finally, their creamy ginger dressing is soooo tasty...but ask for it on the side (they tend to be liberal). It's also for sale by the quart (was $7 or $8 last time I bought it). My kids LOVE it! Casual environment, come as you are.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IngaGaminga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great atmosphere, ok service and pretty good food. On weekends reservations should be gotten

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbonnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aweful experience - Decent food”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I went recently with three friends. The bill was well over 130.00 and it took only 15 minutes to be seated. I wish the rest of our experience was that good. The sushi was way overpriced!!! Not worth getting again if you ask my opinion. The hibachi cook took well over 2 hours to show up and cook our meal. The meal was mediocre at best, not worth the price for something I could have whipped up at home if you ask me. After explaining to the manager that the time it took to get the food was absurd I was told that it was a "show for entertainment" and that the average time for a meal was 1 hour 20 minutes. After telling her it was well over 2 hours of waiting she began ignoring me and looking around the room (which had 2 tables finishing meals). If this was not degrading enough I was not able to find out who to place a complaint with about her until I made a phone call to the restaurant after I had left when this same manager told me she that she was the only person I could place complaints with outside of Saturdays when her boss is in before rudely interrupting me and making absurd and unprofessional comments before hanging up on me. Frankly I do not recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for professional service and food worthy of its price. I hope that the ownership or upper management remedies what I have experienced tonight so that NO ONE EVER HAS TO DEAL WITH AN ASSISTANT MANAGER LIKE THAT at their restaurant in the future. I will never recommend this restaurant to anyone bringing: friends, family, colleagues, clients or anyone of importance while that individual is in charge. Shame on you KOTO for allowing this kind of service! Aside from the wait for food after ordering, the quality of the food, and especially the management, the wait-staff, chefs, and other support staff were excellent. I hope that no one ever has the experience I had in the near future.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The food was delicious!.....”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Though we don't dine there often, eating at Koto's is a treat. The food was delicious, and the hibachi chef was fabulous. We got there @ 8:45 for a late dinner. The "10 minute wait" turned into 20. Not sure why as there were 2-3 tables open. The pre-dinner service was very slow.....especially for the non-rush hour dinner time. I would suggest a reservation if you go, so the seating is smooth. Again, the food was excellent

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VERMONTER101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koto Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 
South Burlington, VT
Burlington, VT
 

Been to Koto Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing