We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must!”
Review of Pauline's

Pauline's
Reserve with OpenTable
Pauline's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Allen Road
Transit: The restaurant is serviced by the local public bus line which stops at the intersection of Allen and Shelburne Roads.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute must!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

When in Burlington, this place is a must. Lovely ambiance, spectacular food and friendly staff make this a family favorite. If you are tired of fast food and are looking for an affordable, top notch meal this is the place to go. There is something for everyone including vegetarians!
Love this restaurant, wish I could pick it up and bring it back to Montreal with me.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blondie1678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    93
    38
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tuftonboro, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Place is pricy for drinking but the food is very good afd they give you good helping. Make sure you have a reservation the locals also attend this place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hotdognancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A long time favorite.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've been going to Pauline's for over 20 years now. It has always been one of my favorites and continues to be one. Recently I took my parents there to celebrate their wedding anniversary. The food was delicious as always. My only problem was with the size of the portion of the glasses of wine served. If you are purchasing a bottle of wine it's ok to to fill the glass less that one third full but when purchasing the wine by the glass I think they should fill it up a little more. Other than that everything was great. Very nice server and excellent desserts too! We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vtmtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An American living in Northwest England
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely place tucked into the Miracle Mile”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Amid all the motels, gas stations and stores on Shelburne Road, you can easily find Pauline's Cafe. I found it delightful. Wood-panelled rooms, nice staff, and best of all was the menu. Very interesting takes on all three menu items our party tried. The filet mignon came with a superior wine sauce, and an interesting mix of veggies. Ditto the pork dish - just unique enough to be something really special. And my friend the vegetarian had a portobello mushroom dish she loved.

A little room for improvement-although the lighting seemed pleasantly low, it was quite difficult to actually read the menus in the low light. And the tables were small. Just too small for all the dishes, water and wine glasses, etc. So we felt we had to juggle things and the feeling of being crowded took a few points away from the otherwise relaxing and very good dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJP-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pub or formal, Pauline's is tops”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Noontime? Enjoy a hearty French-style lunch in the wood-paneled bistro. Evening? Time to eat upstairs in the formal dining room.
Either way, Pauline's is one of Burlington/Shelburne's top choices.
We also enjoyed a family Thanksgiving dinner there a year or two ago...a traditional feast served beautifully. Recommend highly.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pauline's also viewed

 

Been to Pauline's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing