We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty cool little tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Hat Brewing Company

Magic Hat Brewing Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Burlington Brewery Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: While you're in the Burlington area, come tour our brewery, where ancient alchemy meets modern day science to create the best tasting beer on the planet. FREE brewery tours, FREE samples, growlers, bombers, 12-packs and tchotchkes. The new bar is a sight to behold with 30 taps flowing and a constantly changing line-up of Magic Hat's best beers, including all our year-round offerings, the current seasonal and even some experimental brews! Always on tap...#9, Circus Boy, Single Chair Ale, Dream Machine, our seasonal offering, our small batch Humdinger Series and a surprise or two! Come watch our our spores dance and play! Summer Hours: (Memorial Day- Columbus Day) Mon- Sat 10- 7, Sun 12- 5 Free Guided Tours: Tues- Wed 3 & 4, Thurs- Fri 2, 3, 4 & 5, Sat 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5, Sun 2 & 3 Winter Hours: (Columbus Day- Memorial Day) Mon- Thurs 10- 6, Fri- Sat 10- 7, Sun 12- 5 Free Guided Tours: Thurs- Fri 3, 4 & 5, Sat 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5, Sun 2 & 3 Self guided tours and samples are there for the taking anytime during open hours!
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty cool little tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I were doing a factory tour vacation in VT. I thought the Magic Hat brewery would be a cool tour. I'm not a beer drinker and still found it to be interesting. Our tour guide, who was a pretty young female (maybe just 21), gave an okay tour. She kind of just rambled on about the brewery a bit. The cool part was seeing the bottling and then the samples at the end. I did a little sampling and confirmed that I just do not like beer, but my husband thoroughly enjoyed this part and sampled all 8 beers on tap. You can buy cases and bottles of beer and of course, shirts and the like. I would recommend it to beer drinkers or anyone just interested in how things are made.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Romad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    134
    49
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Funky store, tour just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Maybe it was the hot humid crowded room where the tour started, maybe it was the fact that the tour guide seemed to be too long-winded, maybe it was the fact that the movie wasn't working so we had to skip that part, maybe it was the fact that the bottling wasn't running so all we could do was look at idle machinery, but I left the tour before it was over, and our guests were underwhelmed.
The store is interesting and funky (albeit with overpriced t-shirts and souvenirs),and the free samples were awesome but the tour was just so-so for us.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LJ458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

If you want a long brewery tour and/or have never been to one before and want the full-on experience, go somewhere else (and leave the beer for us!). If you want a glimpse of what a brewery looks like and a nice, no-frills experience - with FREE tasting - then this is an excellent bet. We did the "self-guided" tour, which took us 5-10 minutes, and then enjoyed 8 free beer samples. We picked up some fresh ones for our camping trip and were quite happy!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank dnl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Free tour and free beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Free beer! Free beer! Free beer! The tour was OK... humorous little movie beforehand - not self-serving like the waste of time Ben & Jerry's tour. The girl running the tour was kinda hot and if I weren't married I'd ask for her phone # and move to Vermont. You didn't even need to go on the tour - the tap room / gift shop is open and sample all you want for FREE! Free beer good! Oh and of course the 6-packs were cheap too - like $3.00. Yum... check it out if you're in the area. Quick side trip and oh yeah, free beer!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nessman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Magic Hat = Awesome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I've toured numerous breweries. Magic Hat is one of the best - both in terms of their brews and in how they manage guests. We missed the guided tour but took the free self-guided tour. Unlike most breweries, guests were permitted to stand and observe the operation of the brewery without being whisked away by an impatient guide. While we were there, they were bottling Hex. The efficiency was truly impressive (12 packs were bottled and packed in a matter of seconds, and you can watch the empty bottles being filled and capped, labeled, and boxed all in view of the observation deck). Once you're done watching the bottling, it's off to the tasting room. Tastings were free, and if you've never tried fresh Magic Hat, you're in for a real treat. While bottles are great, you can really pick of the accents in the brews when tasting them at the brewery. In particular, the apricot in #9 was particularly evident and special. You can pick up these accents in the bottles, but they are more evident directly from the tap. Growlers are only $7 (plus a $1 deposit). They're brewing Humble Patience again - be sure to get a couple to go. Finally, the service was exceptional. Everyone working in the "Artifactory" was welcoming, friendly and engaged with their guests. They might have the best job in the world, but even later in the day I was impressed by their interest in ensuring a good experience for us. Great visit, great beer, highly recommended for those who enjoy excellent, craft beer.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank diver26508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Hat Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Magic Hat Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing