We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for our one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smart Suites Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Adequate for our one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

First let me say the personnel were friendly and helpful. We got upgraded from a studio to a two room on the second floor. The breakfast offering was certainly adequate with a good selection of items. What struck me was that the place was starting to show its age and was in need of a little sprucing up. Our room although smoke-free was not necessarily odor free mainly from the air conditioning unit which if you never clean the filters will never be odor free especially if the room in some past time had been a smoking room. Strangely enough the A/C unit was in the bedroom with no unit in the main sitting area/kitchen. Of the two window in that area, one was missing a screen. Would we return? Not likely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FandB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    105
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
119
92
24
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights with another couple in a connecting room. The rooms are a good size, the A/C worked perfectly, fridge was awesome. The bed was extremely comfortable and did not want to get out of it in the morning! I love breakfast and I was satisfied as there was plenty of choice and it was well stocked. We rode our bikes from the hotel to the downtown which made for a longer ride on the day but hey, I had to burn off my breakfast! I would stay here again as we felt safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mombo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Pulled into Parking lot thinking Holiday Inn Express may have at least 1 room available. No such luck, clerk had reluctantly suggested Smart suites right next door. Check in was quick ,easy. Room was located on 3rd fl. Elevator works. Upon entering room, heard another guest in hallway complaining about AC in room not working. Our room was warm, AC wasn't on but figured its warm will turn on and go out to dinner, room should be cooled off by time we return. "No such Luck" Blowing out warm air. Called front desk, clerk understanding, nice stated will call on site Mr. Fix-it will be at your room in 30 min- max. OK that's fine, 60 min ltr, still no response and I'm not happy paying $119.00, for this room. So I decided I'll go talk to clerk, on elevator ride to 1st floor, Met a woman on elevator who said "oh, haven't seen you before you new here" My 1st thought was, OMG, I,m in a Welfare Motel. I was horrified. Talked to Clerk, was advised he's busy, He should be at your room within an hour. (it's now 11:30 PM) I just drove 9 hrs , I'm tired and my patiences are running thin. Requested room change or refund. Changed room, advised room was on lower level and in smoking area, I'm not picky at this hour so I said fine. OMG, lower level is the worst, I thought what am I doing here. I have my 2 teenage sons with me. Cigerette smoke -stench, dogs barking(Pet-friendly)Long-term residents socialing in hallway. Once inside room, couldn't get in there fast enough, barricaded door with suitcases and movable furniture. had adjoining door to another room, which on several occasions heard handle moving, someone knocked on door. AC worked great in this room. Mattress was horrible had a gully in middle and had a stench. Spider webs with deadbugs stuck. Bathroom was ok, kind of puzzled why does vent/fan have plastic wrap covering? Didn't dare remove in fear of more spiders or critters would come flooding thru. Check out in morning, I complained and advised them of my dissatifaction with accomadations, Took off $50 from bill, should of charged 19.95 thats all it was worth. Or as my son's had suggested why don't we just sleep in car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malone, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed here in July 2011 when my husband was a patient in the Burlington Hospital. Stayed for 4 nights; gave us a discounted rate because my husband was a patient at the hospital. Rooms very clean and spacious. Desk clerks were all very helpful and friendly. When I had to extend my stay for one day because my husband did not get released from hospital as soon as expected, staff was very accommodating. Great continental breakfast. Great location and very easy to get to from the hospital. Very good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlyn12953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
827 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Booked because of the reviews on Tripadvisor/ A solid hit! A large room with a small, funtional kitchen. The workout area was well equipt. Breakfast was light but had good variety. The staff was friendly and tried to do whatever was needed to make the stay memorable. Location was great, out of the city but close to everything. Already planning to go back for a week next fall.

Room Tip: If staying for a week, ask about the suites on the hill. If you can do without the breakfast and br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We are a family of 5 and we stayed for a period of 4 nights: first 3 nights then one additional night a week later after we were finished skiing. We stayed in a suite that would fit up to 6 people (and we had 5) which had a separate bedroom with two beds, plus a pull out couch in the LR. The room also had a small kitchenette. Both managers we talked with were very attentive and considerate. The area where continental breakfast was served is a lovely area with a fireplace and large windows so one can see outside. The last day that we stayed in this hotel, our flight did not leave until 7pm that night. The manager allowed us to stay until 4pm in our room at no charge so that we did not have to go sit at the airport. This allowed the kids to swim and do their homework until late afternoon. It is refreshing to experience hotel managers and staff that are sincere in wanting to please a patron. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if you have more than 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was convenient to rt 89, clean, with spacious accommodations for 4, a free cot, and a very good breakfast. Plus it was quiet and service was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#6 of 11 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 11 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Suites Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Suites Burlington

Property: Smart Suites Burlington
Address: 1700 Shelburne Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-7718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Suites Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choice for Burlington Hotels!Whether it's for just one night or an extended stay, Smart Suites is the perfect match for all your lodging needs. We offer several different comfortable room options ranging from studio efficiencies to more spacious one-bedroom suites. Daily, Weekly, and Extended Stay Rates Available! We would love to host your next meeting or group event. Give us a call and ask for our Sales Office for more details. We are conveniently located on Shelburne Road, just a short drive to the Church Street Marketplace and only 5 miles from the airport. If your travels bring you to the University of Vermont or Fletcher Allen Health Care, Smart Suites is just 4 short miles away.Featured Amenities:- Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast- Free High Speed Wireless internet- 24 hour Desk Service- 24 hour Business Center- 24 hour Fitness Center- Same Day Dry Cleaning- 24 hour Airport Shuttle- 24 hour Coffee and Tea Bar- Restaurant on Premise (Lake View House)- Access to Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, and Hot Tub- Morning Newspapers (local and National)- Free HBO and Local Calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Smart Suites Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing