We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart Suites, a "smart" decision!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smart Suites Burlington
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I've stayed there twice and love the location! Our suite had a kitchen and a grocery store was right down the street, it was perfect! Sometimes we would travel all day and it was nice to come back to the room for a light dinner or snack. We had a beautiful view from our room. I surprised my husband by planning a trip through the Adirondacks to a family cemetery in Lowville, NY, we went to Ethan Allen's estate, Burlington, Bristol, Ben and Jerry's and Green Mountain Coffee Co.
They were all within striking distance of our hotel. And the best part? Within 10 minutes of the airport! So convenient to return our rental car and make our flight.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bayougirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 359 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel is nice - the front desk staff were VERY helpful with directions, etc. The room was spotless and a decent size.

It's important to request a room above the first floor if you are sensitive to cigarette smoke. Our room REEKED of smoke - we found out why when we visited the "fitness center" in the basement - which is where the smoking rooms are. Directly below our room! We're from NY - we are not used to smoking at all - it's not allowed at hotels or bars in NY, thank goodness. At any rate, upper floors are key.

The walls, as mentioned by others, are thin. We were woken up at 3:30am by a TV and loud shouting/banging.

The breakfast was very good - a step above continental for sure. And the serving staff at breakfast VERY kind and helpful.

We would definitely stay there again, but with earplugs and not on that first floor, unless the hotel goes totally non-smoking, which they really should consider.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor unless you like cigarette smoke smells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catsnotkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Everything in this hotel was perfect. From the large & comfy rooms to the many "little" extras like fresh cookies in the lobby & a book shelf full of books & games available in the computer room.

Unfortunately the pool & hot tub were not *IN* this hotel. We were a little disappointed when we discovered that the pool & hot tub we had access to were in the hotel next door. In fact - it appeared the cluster of 3 or 4 hotels in this location all use this one pool.

It was just a short walk across the parking lot but in the winter time, an inconvenience to have to put on warm clothes or coats & boots to go enjoy the pool. But like I said - this was a *little* disappointment.

The *BIG* disappointment was how disgusting the pool, hot tub and whole pool area were. The hot tub was gross and the water barely lukewarm, the water looked it hadn't been cleaned in days.

We decided to try the pool instead, but it was the same temperature... just barely warm. And as I moved my hand through the water, a huge clump of nasty hair became entangled in my fingers. It turned my stomach - so we got out & left.

The whole pool area - floor, bathrooms, etc were filthy. Obviously with 3 or 4 hotels all using the same pool area, many users are coming in from outside with wet & dirty shoes.. and they do not do anything to remedy that.

If the pool is that bad, I would hate to see what the rooms over there are like.

Although I found cheaper rates elsewhere, we specifically wanted a hotel with a pool & were excited to book at Smart Suites. As happy as I was with the hotel itself, I feel I wasted the extra money spent to have access to a pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom with 2 double beds, room 302 I think. It was an end room so we had 2 views - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for 2 days in room 304. We were 2 couples. This place is absolutely perfect,quiet, its clean,nicely decorated and has everything you need. Only thing is if your staying 4 people better get 2 beds or an air mattress because the pull out sofa is very bad. The continental breakfast was really amazing it has everything you need. I don't know if its because its the holidays but this was the best continental breakfast I saw by far. I recommende this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not use the sofa bed its not comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at the Smart Suites Thanksgiving night after spending the holiday with our son who lives in Burlington. The suite was large and very comfortable with a full kitchen and counter/table, a living room with a desk, sleeper couch, comfy chair and tv, a decent size bedroom with another tv and sink/closet area separate from the bathroom and shower. Perfect set-up to spread out and relax, work, watch tv. The free wi-fi was wonderful - I was able to do some work both at the desk and while lounging on the couch. When we first got into our room, I grabbed the ice bucket and went looking for an ice machine, to no avail. The young man at the reception area explained there was none and that each suite has an ice maker as part of the freezer/refrigerator. He asked if I needed ice immediately, and when I replied yes, he arranged to have a bucket of ice sent up to the suite about 10 minutes later. While waiting for that ice, I flipped the switch and my ice maker made the first batch. The hotel offers a decent breakfast - a step above the standard, but not quite as varied and bountiful as a Homewood Suites. I just put a whole bunch of hard boiled eggs and apples into bowls and brought them up to the room. My only complaint is that the walls seem paper thin - I heard tvs, other conversations, showers running, etc. all at a very loud volume as if they were practically in the same room. I couldn't tell if it was all coming from next door or the floor above. It was distracting and annoying. Once it got late, however, everyone quieted down and the hotel was very quiet - I did not hear any street noise nor anything else until the morning.

Room Tip: I am not sure if the noise problem could be solved by location in the hotel. It is worth asking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

When I first walked into the room, I thought there'd been a mistake because it was so big! the room was lovely, the air was fresh and clean, and spotless! I was so pleased because the last hotel I stayed at for the same price was the exact opposite. The walls were a little thin, but I ran the air on low most of the evening, and though I'm a light sleeper, I was undisturbed. The staff was pleasant, something else that was appreciated after the last hotel. I will stay here from now on when I'm in Burlington.

Room Tip: I was told there are rooms for smokers, but I stayed on the second floor, and didn't find any od...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abelles34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Stayed at Smart Suites - has a one bedroom suite w/ kitchen / nice accomodations for a reasonable price. I would stay again / the only thing that wasn't quite up to par was the cleaning of our room.

Good location - close to Church Street area - good restaurants there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonaMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
2.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
698 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,443 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 12 in South Burlington
463 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Burlington
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bur...
#8 of 12 in South Burlington
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Suites Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Suites Burlington

Address: 1700 Shelburne Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-7718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Family Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range: $102 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Suites Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choice for Burlington Hotels!Whether it's for just one night or an extended stay, Smart Suites is the perfect match for all your lodging needs. We offer several different comfortable room options ranging from studio efficiencies to more spacious one-bedroom suites. Daily, Weekly, and Extended Stay Rates Available! We would love to host your next meeting or group event. Give us a call and ask for our Sales Office for more details. We are conveniently located on Shelburne Road, just a short drive to the Church Street Marketplace and only 5 miles from the airport. If your travels bring you to the University of Vermont or Fletcher Allen Health Care, Smart Suites is just 4 short miles away.Featured Amenities:- Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast- Free High Speed Wireless internet- 24 hour Desk Service- 24 hour Business Center- 24 hour Fitness Center- Same Day Dry Cleaning- 24 hour Airport Shuttle- 24 hour Coffee and Tea Bar- Restaurant on Premise (Lake View House)- Access to Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, and Hot Tub- Morning Newspapers (local and National)- Free HBO and Local Calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Smart Suites Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing