We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Smart Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smart Suites
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2006

This was the first time we had ever stayed in a Main Stay Suites. It was very nice, with a large living room/kitchenette and bedroom. This particular location is new and very clean.

The only issue I had was the checkin/checkout process as they do not have a staffed front desk. Their staff is at another hotel across the parking lot and checkin was inconvenient. At first I assumed management was saving money on staffing, but at this other hotel they had 3 checkin clerks and 2 office personnel behind the counter.

To summarize, it is a great clean hotel, but the bad checkin process leaves you with a bad initial impression.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim_and_Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
8
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2006

I stayed at the Mainstay Suites for just one night. The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, the staff was helpful and I was lucky enough to have a room facing the lake with a soothing view. It was a large room with a full kitchen and separate bathroom. It had a desk you could comfortably work at along with a couch and comfortable reading chair. Breakfast is nothing special, but as it is free, I could not complain. Located within 10 minutes of downtown Burlington and the University of Vermont, it is hard to beat.

I have stayed in several hotels in the Burlington area and I found Mainstay to be the best bargain hotel in the area.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank howardw228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2005

Stayed here for 4 nights. Had a room on the 4th (top) floor, lakeside with a balcony. The room was basically a small 1 bedroom apartment. There was a full kitchen, eating area, living area with couch and tv, and a bedroom with a door for privacy. The bathroom area was a little small, with the sink being outside the bathroom, and the toilet/shower in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable!

I did not notice any smokey areas on our floor, which was supposed to be all non-smoking. The carpet was frayed in a few areas, but it didn't bother me since I appreciated having 3 times the space of a normal hotel room.

Breakfast was very basic, but free. There is a computer, printer and fax machine in the lobby that guests are free to use. It is a little hard to see from the road, so just turn in at the Smart Suites and Holiday Inn Express sign. Mainstay is right behind Smart Suites.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WkndTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2005

We stayed at Mainstay's Sept. 4th & 5th. The staff was friendly but I agree with another reviewer in that there was a strange smell in the elevator. Smelled like stale smoke to me. The room on average was clean enough but there was some mold in the bathtub. A little bleach would have taken care of that. Breakfast was below average. Prepackaged muffins, ceral, oatmeal, fruit, bagels but hey it was free. You might have a lake view if you are on the 3rd floor. Situated behind 2 other hotels and besides the HoJo. Hard to find.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2005

The hotel is contained a group with a number of other hotels. The front desk staff was pleasant. The hotel property and rooms are not well-mantained. The hallway and elevator had a strange odor to them. The hallway to our room was littered with used cots and sheets when we arrived in late afternoon. The room was small for a "suite", but did contain a small kitchette. The carpet in the room seemed dirty like that in the public areas, and there was a cockroach in the bathroom. The hotel offers a continental breakfast which is enough to get you going but consists mostly of prepackaged baked goods. The pool is actually located in the Howard Johnson's hotel, which is a good walk or short drive across the parking lot. I think one of the other hotels in this area would be a better choice.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2005

I was at the MainStay for one night in early July (July 4 weekend, actually - booked three days ahead of time!) for $107 on an AAA rate. I had a two-room suite with a kitchen/living room, separate bedroom with the bathroom attached. There was a balcony off the living room portion, which was a nice touch. Front staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was decent - bagels, pastries, cereal, fruit - and especially welcome in an area seemingly lacking in breakfast options (denny's and burlington bagel, which was quite good, were the only ones i saw). The drive to downtown Burlington is ten minutes, if that, and the hotel is fifty yards from the Magic Hat brewery, if you're looking to take a tour. The hotel faces Lake Champlain, though from a distance of a few miles, but front facing rooms may have a view of the Lake and the Adirondacks (my room looked out into the woods behind the hotel). Simply put, a great hotel for a great price.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MyDogRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2004

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days in October. For the money I paid, I was surprised to see how NOT CLEAN AND DUSTY this hotel is. The smell in the hollways is very bad. It gets to your room and nothing (even open windows) can help.
I would not stay in this hotel again.

Helpful?
3 Thank marfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
2.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#8 of 11 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#6 of 11 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Suites

Property: Smart Suites
Address: 1702 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403-7718 (Formerly MainStay Suites)
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smart Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Smart Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel South Burlington
Mainstay Suites South Burlington
Mainstay South Burlington
South Burlington Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing