We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our room”
Review of Smart Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smart Suites
Reviewed October 16, 2005

Stayed here for 4 nights. Had a room on the 4th (top) floor, lakeside with a balcony. The room was basically a small 1 bedroom apartment. There was a full kitchen, eating area, living area with couch and tv, and a bedroom with a door for privacy. The bathroom area was a little small, with the sink being outside the bathroom, and the toilet/shower in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable!

I did not notice any smokey areas on our floor, which was supposed to be all non-smoking. The carpet was frayed in a few areas, but it didn't bother me since I appreciated having 3 times the space of a normal hotel room.

Breakfast was very basic, but free. There is a computer, printer and fax machine in the lobby that guests are free to use. It is a little hard to see from the road, so just turn in at the Smart Suites and Holiday Inn Express sign. Mainstay is right behind Smart Suites.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WkndTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2005

We stayed at Mainstay's Sept. 4th & 5th. The staff was friendly but I agree with another reviewer in that there was a strange smell in the elevator. Smelled like stale smoke to me. The room on average was clean enough but there was some mold in the bathtub. A little bleach would have taken care of that. Breakfast was below average. Prepackaged muffins, ceral, oatmeal, fruit, bagels but hey it was free. You might have a lake view if you are on the 3rd floor. Situated behind 2 other hotels and besides the HoJo. Hard to find.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2005

The hotel is contained a group with a number of other hotels. The front desk staff was pleasant. The hotel property and rooms are not well-mantained. The hallway and elevator had a strange odor to them. The hallway to our room was littered with used cots and sheets when we arrived in late afternoon. The room was small for a "suite", but did contain a small kitchette. The carpet in the room seemed dirty like that in the public areas, and there was a cockroach in the bathroom. The hotel offers a continental breakfast which is enough to get you going but consists mostly of prepackaged baked goods. The pool is actually located in the Howard Johnson's hotel, which is a good walk or short drive across the parking lot. I think one of the other hotels in this area would be a better choice.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brandybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2005

I was at the MainStay for one night in early July (July 4 weekend, actually - booked three days ahead of time!) for $107 on an AAA rate. I had a two-room suite with a kitchen/living room, separate bedroom with the bathroom attached. There was a balcony off the living room portion, which was a nice touch. Front staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was decent - bagels, pastries, cereal, fruit - and especially welcome in an area seemingly lacking in breakfast options (denny's and burlington bagel, which was quite good, were the only ones i saw). The drive to downtown Burlington is ten minutes, if that, and the hotel is fifty yards from the Magic Hat brewery, if you're looking to take a tour. The hotel faces Lake Champlain, though from a distance of a few miles, but front facing rooms may have a view of the Lake and the Adirondacks (my room looked out into the woods behind the hotel). Simply put, a great hotel for a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MyDogRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2004

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days in October. For the money I paid, I was surprised to see how NOT CLEAN AND DUSTY this hotel is. The smell in the hollways is very bad. It gets to your room and nothing (even open windows) can help.
I would not stay in this hotel again.

3  Thank marfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2004

I stumbled on this place by accident: I wanted a room with kitchenette for an extended weekend, and the more familiar suite hotels were fully booked. I'm glad I found it: it's new, the room was unusually large and pleasantly decorated; the kitchenette well equipped (including diswasher), the staff freindly, the place quiet. Rooms at the front have a nice view toward Lake Champlain and the Adirondacks; the back faces a quiet wooded area. It's ideally situated about halfway between Shelburne and Burlington, and close to the I-189 connector to I-89 and the Burlington Airport. It's part of a complex of motels, including a Holiday Inn Express, and there is a sharing agreement for facilities such as pool and exercise rooms.

14  Thank W F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.1 mi away
Smart Suites Burlington
Smart Suites Burlington
#5 of 12 in South Burlington
354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 12 in South Burlington
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#2 of 4 in Shelburne
366 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Shelburne/burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Suites

Address: 1702 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403-7718 (Formerly MainStay Suites)
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in South Burlington
Price Range: $97 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smart Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Smart Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel South Burlington
Mainstay Suites South Burlington
Mainstay South Burlington
South Burlington Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing