We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trader Duke's Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in Burlington for one night during a recent trip around the New England area. I picked the Doubletree because the price was right and it got good reviews. The customer service is fantastic. A WELCOME experience from our previous hotel. The rooms were clean, front desk staff was very knowledgeable about the area and with making recommendations for dinner and drinks. They were trained well when it comes to making you feel welcome.

Hotel is about a 2 mile straight shot from the heart of downtown where there are many little shops and restaurants. Overall, a terrific night's stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildlife_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed here on our college visit to the area. It is very convenient to UVM and St. Michael's College. There was a hint of the smell of cigarettes as other reviews have mentioned.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Best locations at 10 minutes from Airport and 5 minutes of Midtown Burlignton. They are a good restaurant near the champlain lake on the left name : "Seafich". For the breakfast or lunch see on Mainstreet.
The rooms are quiet and clean. The services are good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dco5760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

staff was friendly...room smelled funky. The location was just off the interstate. I wouldn't stay there for more than one night

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank donutsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay,A beautiful hotel,Very clean and the front desk is fantastic and so helpful with directions.Very close to downtown. The room was great had a suite with a kitchen and living room. There is a wonderful restaurant right in the hotel and a business office with free use of the computers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgetpianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We spent one night at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and responded positively to all our questions. They gave us hot cookies which were really tasty. You can tell the hotel is older but it is very clean. The rooms have been updated and are also very clean. The sink is outside the washroom which has the toilet and the bath tub only. The room has a flat screen TV and a very comfortable bed with lots of pillows. The hotel has free internet access which was a relief to check our e-mail and call our children. The room overlooks the inside court. The garden is very well kept with mature trees and grass.
The hotel is about 2 miles from downtown. You can drive as parking is plentiful or you can take the No. 1 bus. On the way back keep an eye on the time to catch the bus. We did not and missed the bus. We took a cab for $10.45 plus tip back to the hotel. We had dinner at Vermont pub and breakfast at Penny Cruz. Both were great. Overall I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k11Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I had to stay at this hotel because of a flight delay going home back to Virginia.

I had checked through my Hilton Diamond Desk about room availability and was told the lowest room they had was for $189.00 plus tax.

I was like damn, this is a Saturday night what is going on around here (they didn't know)

So instead i was able to use my points to pay for the room.

Upon arriving at the hotel, I had realized the hotel was more like a college dorm. Lots of kids, both young and teenage.

I found out there was a major soccer tournament, Choo Choo festival and various other college things.

There are 5 colleges in Burlington, so beware during graduation time.

Lots of walking to get to my Room 281.

Free parking though and they do have a full service restaurant.

Staff was helpful and the van driver was very coordial, but other than that just a hotel to stay overnight, not somewhere I would stay for a long stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caneshockey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,468 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Vermont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
302 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trader Duke's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trader Duke's Hotel

Address: 1117 Williston Rd, I-89 & US 2, Exit 14E, South Burlington, VT 05403-5717 (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington)
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range: $108 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trader Duke's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel's central location puts business guests close to industrial parks and corporations like Ben & Jerry's and IBM. The University of Vermont, Champlain and Saint Michael's Colleges are nearby. University Mall, sports venues, restaurants and Higher Ground Music Hall are within walking distance.Spacious guest rooms and suites feature refrigerators, remote printing, complimentary WiFi access, and in-room recycling. Hold business meetings and weddings at our hotel in Burlington, VT in elegant indoor and outdoor spaces accommodating up to 400 people. Stay connected at the complimentary 24-hour business center. The Adirondack-styled Trader Duke's Restaurant and Lounge serves traditional American cuisine and regional specialties. Watch sports on flat-screen TVs and try local microbrews in Trader Duke's Lounge, also offering full menu dining. Take advantage of our indoor pool, whirlpool and seasonal sundeck. Exercise in the fitness center or relax in the gazebo and courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trader Duke's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree South Burlington
Doubletree Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing