We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Beats A Warm Cookie on a Snowy Night!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Marmora, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nothing Beats A Warm Cookie on a Snowy Night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We were dropping our daughter off at UVM from spring break, and got in late. We were greeted by a friendly young man who handed us chocolate chip cookies as we got our keys. The king sized room was very comfortable, sheets divine but after a good nights sleep the exercise/pool area was what WOWED me. Gotta work out after those cookies! The room is large, clean and well equipped with treadmills, bikes, weights, medicine balls, yoga mats, etc. You even overlook the pool which is nice. Call me crazy,but there is something really cool about running on the treadmill and looking out the windows at a Vermont snow!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lvttx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Desk Supervisor at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington. I hope you enjoyed your time in Burlington! I see you were dropping your daughter off after spring break at UVM, I hope the trip was alot of fun. I am glad you had such a wonderful experience with our property and hope that you come back. And I do agree there is something really cool about running on the treadmill and looking out the windows at a Vermont snow!
We greatly appreciate your time and look forward to utilizing your insight to continually improve our guests experiences. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    340
    135
    46
    14
See reviews for
295
201
67
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Went this past weekend with my husband. First of all check-in was smooth, staff friendly. Cookie was a nice touch. Problem was though they were "fully booked" and the only room left was right next to the lobby where everyone passed. Funny as when checking online to book, there were both categories of rooms left (reg and suites).

I expressed my concern to the front desk staff upon check-in about the proximity to the lobby but was told there was no other room option. After going in the room, I realized that I could hear every single person passing outside the door (at the point that I can hear exactly what they were saying). Also, the room only had a shower and no tub which didn't bother me, but was not indicated during the online booking so I was a little surprised.

After noticing that the noise was indeed going to be a problem, I went back to the front desk and spoke to a different woman (much more pleasant than the first) who told me the hotel was fully booked with ski groups and that they would settle down in the evening. Her words came true and the evening was fairly quiet, with the occasional person being heard, and hearing the shower only once. Then came 6:15 am where the groups of teenagers leaving in the morning were so loud they woke me up. It lasted a good 30 min of constant movement and loud voices outside the door. Couldn't fall asleep for a good hour after this, and did not fully rest after that... It sucks as this was supposed to be a small relaxing getaway for us and I couldn't even "sleep in" so to speak and feel rested.

When I checked out at the front desk, I told the person the issue about the noise and what happened (mind you, I said it quite politely), and she did not even apologize for the inconvenience. She basically said "oh ok" and that was it. I guess I had paid already so it didn't matter anymore to the hotel? I would have at least appreciated a sincere apology for this issue... but nothing. (If anyone at the hotel reads this, our suggestion was to simply put a pocket door between the main door and the bedroom area... would solve the problem.)

The room itself was well appointed, bed comfortable and clean, so no complaints there. But I wouldn't risk staying there again. My advice is book on the phone... to make sure you get a room where you can sleep!

Room Tip: Pick a room as far as possible from the lobby, and probably best on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkling_lotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Desk Supervisor at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the DoubleTree By Hilton Burlington. I hope you enjoyed your time in Burlington! I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant interaction with the front desk agent you encountered when you first arrived and at check out. We do really care about our guests input, and the fact this was your getaway and you were not able to relax, I am truly sorry for that. From time to time we do have ski groups in house, and while they were here we were sold out. We usually try to place them next to the lobby so we can monitor the noise and make sure they are not disrupting our other guests. I am sorry that you were not informed that they would be leaving early in the morning and that prevented you for having the getaway you wanted. If you would like to please give me a call here at the hotel and let me make it up to you. We greatly appreciate your time and look forward to utilizing your insight to continually improve our guests experiences. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

If you are staying over in Burlington to visit your St. Michaels student (son or daughter) there is no better, cleaner and affordable hotel in that area. We have stayed in many Burlington Hotel and Motels during our daughters four years and find ourselves returning to the Doubletree. Pleasant customer service and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Desk Supervisor at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington. I hope you enjoyed your time in Burlington! I see you are one of the many parents that we love to see, whose kids attend Saint Michaels College, I am happy that you enjoy staying here with us as we love having you. We greatly appreciate your time and look forward to utilizing your insight to continually improve our guests experiences. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I had never stayed in a Double Tree before, so this was a very pleasant surprise. From the moment I walked into the lobby I felt welcomed and valued. The front desk staff was friendly & efficient. They answered my questions on restaurants with a number of options. Every housekeeper I passed walking to my room smiled, said hello, and asked how are you. By the time I reached my room, I had a smile on my face. The room was clean and inviting. The desk chair was extremely comfortable as was the easy chair and ottoman. King bed was also very comfortable. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Desk Supervisor at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the DoubleTree By Hilton Burlington. I hope you enjoyed your time in Burlington! We love to hear when our guests feel as welcome as you did by our entire staff. I am happy you were able to enjoy the room features such as the desk chair, chair and ottoman, and the bed. We greatly appreciate your time and look forward to utilizing your insight to continually improve our guests experiences. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We enjoyed the facilities overall. Great fitness center and pool/hot tub. Great access to the restaurant next door. Front desk staff very helpful. Had to be moved from the room we were checked into. We opened the bed and the sheets had not been changed from the previous customers. Disgusting finding body hairs in your bed. Front desk was great and quickly moved us to a nearby room

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tyrone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Desk Supervisor at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. I hope you enjoyed your time in Burlington! I am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with the sheet situation, and I would like to assure you that is not a practice around here and I am truly sorry that you had to deal with that. I am happy that our staff was able to take good care of you, and I hope when you return to the area you will give us another chance and please feel free to reach out to me. We greatly appreciate your time and look forward to utilizing your insight to continually improve our guests experiences. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you are visiting colleges in the Burlington area The DoubleTree Inn is the perfect place to stay. Very comfortable beds, clean room, nice pool, and a great dinner. Also within 5 minutes of downtown Burlington, UVM, Saint Michaels College, and Champlain College.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Desk Supervisor at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the DoubleTree By Hilton Burlington. I hope you enjoyed your time in Burlington! I see you were visiting the colleges in the Burlington area, I hope you enjoyed what you saw and we look forward to having you back. We greatly appreciate your time and look forward to utilizing your insight to continually improve our guests experiences. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagaman, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We received the college discount for staying here, which was a good discount. However, it still seemed a bit high for the hotel. Rooms and hotel itself were clean, but very outdated. We wanted to relax in the pool and hot tub after a long day, but the pool was cold, and the hot tub was luke warm, which was very disappointing. Very convenient, but not a great value. Front desk clerk did not ask how our stay was on check-out. A disappointment for the type of hotel we thought it would be.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Desk Supervisor at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. I hope you enjoyed your time in Burlington! I am sorry that you had the issues that you did at our hotel, and I hope you give us a chance to make it up to you. I see that the pool/hot tub temp was not to your satisfaction, and I hope that you did call us to let us know so that we were able to fix the issue for you. I am sorry that the front desk clerk did not ask you how your stay was at the end, its a standard practice here at this hotel. I hope that you do give us another chance and reach out to me on your next trip to the Burlington area. We greatly appreciate your time and look forward to utilizing your insight to continually improve our guests experiences. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
Address: 1117 Williston Road, I-89 & US 2, Exit 14E, South Burlington, VT 05403-5717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome from the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, five minutes from Burlington International Airport and downtown Burlington. Our hotel's central location puts business guests close to industrial parks and corporations like Ben & Jerry's and IBM. The University of Vermont, Champlain and Saint Michael's Colleges are nearby. University Mall, sports venues, restaurants and Higher Ground Music Hall are within walking distance. Expect outstanding service from our friendly staff and a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. Relax in the DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington hotel's grand oak lobby with fireplace and cozy seating. Spacious guest rooms and suites feature refrigerators, remote printing, complimentary WiFi access, and in-room recycling. Choose a suite for a private bedroom, extra space for families, a wet bar and sink, pull-out sofa bed and optional whirlpool tub. Hold business meetings and weddings at our hotel in Burlington, VT in elegant indoor and outdoor spaces accommodating up to 400 people. Stay connected at the complimentary 24-hour business center. The Adirondack-styled Trader Duke's Restaurant and Lounge serves traditional American cuisine and regional specialties. Savor a superb Sunday brunch seated near the field stone fireplace. Watch sports on flat-screen TVs and try local microbrews in Trader Duke's Lounge, also offering full menu dining. Take advantage of our indoor pool, whirlpool and seasonal sundeck. Exercise in the fitness center or relax in the gazebo and courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree South Burlington
Doubletree Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing