We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and a good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trader Duke's Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My first night was a disaster - I didn't realize I booked a smoking room and that was all they had left. They were sold out so I was out of luck and sucked it up. They were nice enough to give me a room deodorizing spray and I slept with the window open all night. The next day (I was there for a total of 3 nights) they moved me to a non smoking room and it was like night and day. Ahhhh, clean smelling room! The facility is clean and cozy. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Good selection on the television and I loved the Crabree & Evelyn bath products. There are only 2 floors and they place is good size. Close to the interstate (89) and right around the corner is University Mall, a huge Barnes & Noble bookstore and a Hannaford Grocery store. I found the fan in the bathroom provided good "white noise" and allowed for a good nights sleep - even though the bed was softer than I prefer. Only disappointment is no breakfast included in your stay- they have a restaurant on sight but I did not go.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel face a little courtyard with trees. I awoke to the birds singing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopsing-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Guest Relations Manager at Trader Duke's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay! We appreciate all guest feedback to continually improve our property, staff, and services. I'm sorry you were booked into a smoking room, but so glad we could accommodate a non smoking room for most of your stay. Just to let you know, by the end of June we will be entirely NON-Smoking, so if you return past that time you will certainly not run into the same problem! Also, we do offer some package deals when booking online that would include complimentary cooked to order breakfast each day. If you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact the hotel directly. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Solid hotel for not too much money for visiting your kids at one of the many colleges in Burlington Vermont. Restaurant is simple but good food. Suites are good sized. Our room was clean. The location is very good near the highway, the schools and the airport. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briand293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Guest Relations Manager at Trader Duke's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to utilize one of our great discounts for visiting the local colleges and university. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to Burlington mainly for shopping and resting. We spend some time at the pool. The rooms are comfortable, the restaurant breakfast was good, good portions and prices are good. We spent some quality family time

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Guest Relations Manager at Trader Duke's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are certainly glad you enjoyed all we have to offer here at the Doubletree Hotel Burlington, and were able to enjoy a weekend away. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in March and it was a wonderful stay! I'm a loyal Hilton member and once again I wasn't let down! Every employee that we encountered seemed extremely happy to be there and not forcing their happiness which is truly appreciated as a guest.

We ate at the resurgent twice and both times it was fantastic.

Will absolutely return to this hotel again. Thank you for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlipFloppinLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Office Manager at Trader Duke's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We greatly appreciate your time and your loyalty to the Hilton Family! Our restaurant Trader Dukes is truely a one-of-a-kind experience with somethign for everyone! Congratulations on your engagement and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Currently staying at Doubletree for college visits (UVM and Champlain) and a day of skiing at Sugarbush. Hotel is within walking distance of University Mall and several other smaller shopping centers, which I spent the day exploring since I do not ski. Very clean and comfortable. We are in a 2 room suite and it has plenty of room for 3, full size fridge is a great feature. Everyone has been extremely friendly and accommodating. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good (we did not do the buffet). If our daughter ends up attending either school, this will be our first choice when we come to visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bzylizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Office Manager at Trader Duke's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! It sounds like the entire family throughly enjoyed themselves! There is plenly more exploring to be had, so if your daughter does end up attending college in the area, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back for the next four years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our family came to check out UVM and stayed at this hotel. We chose it because it was categorized as "pet friendly" (we had our small dog) and because of the proximity to UVM.

The staff was great - at the front desk, in the restaurant, everyone was very helpful.

I did have two problems, though. The first is that there were four of us (myself, hubby and two girls) and we had booked a room with two double beds. We are not big people but we would not have been able to sleep comfortably in those beds. We had to get an additional room, which of course doubled the price.

The other issue is that we were asked not to leave our dog unattended in the room. Although I understand that some dogs might bark/rip things up, we were not informed of this policy when we booked. (When we booked we made it clear we were bringing him.) Having to keep him with us prevented us from going to any activities or meals as a family, since someone always had to stay in the car or outside the store/campus/wherever.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bodkinvanhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Office Manager at Trader Duke's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I am happy to hear that you enojyed your time in Burlington. As many of our staff are dog lovers, we are glad to be a pet friendly hotel. Unfortunately we cannot accommodate pets alone in our guest rooms. If you do leave the hotel, we ask that you take your pet with you. But we do want our guests to be able to make use of all that our hotel has to offer, so if you want to use our pool/fitness center or dine in our restaurant, you are more than welcome to leave your pet as long as you are also still on property. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Everything was very nice and clean. Need to work on the buffet to keep it hot but everything else was fantastic. The fitness center and pool were awesome. The staff was very friendly and helpful I would stay there again with question. Thanks for a Great Stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank striker3862000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Office Manager at Trader Duke's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,468 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Vermont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
581 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,690 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trader Duke's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trader Duke's Hotel

Address: 1117 Williston Rd, I-89 & US 2, Exit 14E, South Burlington, VT 05403-5717 (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington)
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range: $108 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trader Duke's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel's central location puts business guests close to industrial parks and corporations like Ben & Jerry's and IBM. The University of Vermont, Champlain and Saint Michael's Colleges are nearby. University Mall, sports venues, restaurants and Higher Ground Music Hall are within walking distance.Spacious guest rooms and suites feature refrigerators, remote printing, complimentary WiFi access, and in-room recycling. Hold business meetings and weddings at our hotel in Burlington, VT in elegant indoor and outdoor spaces accommodating up to 400 people. Stay connected at the complimentary 24-hour business center. The Adirondack-styled Trader Duke's Restaurant and Lounge serves traditional American cuisine and regional specialties. Watch sports on flat-screen TVs and try local microbrews in Trader Duke's Lounge, also offering full menu dining. Take advantage of our indoor pool, whirlpool and seasonal sundeck. Exercise in the fitness center or relax in the gazebo and courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Trader Duke's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree South Burlington
Doubletree Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing