We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel - near airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
ATL, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - near airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a very nice hotel near the Burlington Airport, and is typically priced lower (and has far better amenities) than it's Hilton cousin down by the water.
Of note:
- Relatively quiet hotel and location - lots of cabin crew members stay here - airplane noise not an issue despite being close to hotel
- EXCELLENT in-room dining...DELICIOUS and reasonably priced - local specials on the menu
- VERY nice Breakfast - the Eggs Benedict was very tasty in the Vermont themed restaurant and it's NOT a Buffet!
- Great shower - Speakman Anystream showerhead with decent pressure

The bad:
- Slightly cramped layout in a room with 2 double beds
- Still a bit more than I would have liked to pay.
- Unbelievably slow [but free] internet with no option to upgrade to a higher speed tier (~512kbps down, ~256kbps up) This is far below the FCC definition of Basic Broadband which is 4Mbps down, and 1Mbps up
- No HD channels despite having a flatscreen LCD television, and the PBS channel did not come in properly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apl175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanAmon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
We are pleased to read your review regarding your stay with us, and we are happy to hear that you feel we offer superior amenities compared to our competition. Our dedicated service team strives to exceed each guest's expectations and we are confident our hotel offers among the very best service and amenities in the Burlington area. I am glad that you recognized the quality of our restaurant, Trader Duke's. Trader Duke's serves up hearty New England comfort food, which can be enjoyed in our enviting dining room next to a roaring fireplace, or delivered right to your door via room service. We do offer a selection of HD channels in our rooms and suites, which have stunning picture quality on our 37" televisions. These HD channel options are located on channels 38-47 on our TV line-up, and include ESPN HD, Discovery HD, NESN HD, all major networks in HD, as well as others. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon, and again, thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    315
    127
    40
    12
See reviews for
267
189
62
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
152 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I don't expect a ton from hotel rooms, but this one was very nice. We were upgraded to a suite that was nearly the size of my apartment at the time. I really enjoy the Hilton hotels and have great trust in them. The room was clean, roomy, scent-free, and the bathroom was quite large. The breakfast was your typical hotel quick prep food of cereal, yogurt, bread items, scrambled eggs, and a meat product or two. Fine for a 'free' meal. This hotel is not walking distance to anything though. You have to get in your car to go anywhere, which if you're there for business is fine but if you're there to play in Burlington you might want to find someplace closer to downtown.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smsg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanAmon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled that you found the suite to be spacious, clean, and comfortable. We do our very best to offer upgrades to our Hilton Honors Diamond and Gold members when occupancy allows, and we love to hear how our guests find our suite accommodations a perfect fit. Although we are located just under 2 miles from downtown Burlington, we still have some excellent restaurants, shopping, and parks within walking distance of our hotel. Just ask our enthusiastic guest service team, and we will guide you in the right direction! I hope we are able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I only stayed here one night when I arrived in Burlington late. They have a free shuttle bus to and from the airport, which was great for me arriving after midnight. I called from the complimentary phone at the airport and they were there in a few minutes. A warm welcome cookie was also waiting on arrival and the bed and room were extremely comfortable and staff very friendly. Exactly what I needed after 24 hours in transit. Unless you're there on business, staying downtown would be a better option, and I moved to a closer hotel the next day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEF_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanAmon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you so very much for writing about your experience with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are proud of the prompt and hospitable service our complimentary airport shuttle provides, and we are happy that you found the comfort of the room and the service of our team met your expectations. I hope that we may welcome you back to our hotel on a future visit to Burlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I had a last minute business meeting that I had to attend in Burlington and all the other Hilton brand hotels where booked. So I gave the double tree a chance. I found it to be ordinary service and accommodations at a very high price of $312.40 a night with tax. Also with kids running up and down the hallways late at night and the room not being cleaned till very late on Saturday I felt like I was staying at a low end hotel.

Room Tip: Beware of events taking place at Hotel which add to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirbadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanAmon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Although you seem to feel that we are a nice hotel (as the title of the review states), I am sorry that you felt the experience was simply ordinary. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of our guests, and that's how our property remains among the top 10% of all DoubleTree hotels in the Americas. I apologize that your room was not made up earlier in the day on Saturday. Our Housekeeping team understands that a majority of our guests prefer to sleep in a little bit later on the weekends. Our Housekeeping team reacts to this by starting our services slightly later in the morning. However, our team can certainly service a room at any time simply by letting us know your preferred cleaning time. Our rates do change depending on the season, and many special offers and packages are offered throughout the year. I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your last-minute trip, as availability can be very limited during our peak season, and we are often sold out weeks in advance during our high-season months. When booking next time, please let us know what you are looking for so we may find you the very best accommodations and value for you. We again that you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

After hearing that our U S Air flight was cancelled due to bad weather (actually their inability to manage their fleet after a weather delay 10 hours before), a very helpful gate agent offered to get us into Doubletree since we had to overnight. They got us a great "distressed traveler" rate and the hotel picked us up within minutes at the airport. The room was large, comfortable, nicely furnished, and close to the airport and downtown. I got the quiet sleep I needed after the US Air ordeal. This is a good place to stay if you can get a reasonable rate and need to be near the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalimantan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanAmon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your favorable review. Although we are sorry to hear of your travel troubles, we are delighted that we could accommodate you during your unforeseen airline cancellation. Being that our hotel is approximately 1 mile away from the Burlington International Airport, our complimentary shuttle is able to provide prompt service for our hotel guests 24 hours a day. Furthermore, several nearby shops, restaurants, and local businesses make our hotel an excellent option when traveling through the Burlington airport. We trust that you made it home to sunny South Carolina safely, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel the next time your travels bring you to Burlington! Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at the Double Tree during a weekend getaway. The hotel was clean, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. There are only two floors so there is no view to speak of but the rooms were large and modern. Very quite. The hotel was in a great location – just off the highway and close to restaurants and shopping. A great value for the price paid. The cookies were a great bonus – and very delicious!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereInTheWorldNext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanAmon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for your kind words regarding your most recent stay with us. Our team is delighted that you found our hotel to be welcoming and a great value. Our hotel has been consistently ranked among the very best of all DoubleTrees in the Americas, and our hotel team is proud of the personal and friendly service we provide to each of our guests. I am glad that you found our location to be convenient; ample free parking and surrounded by a number of restaurants, shops, and businesses make this property an ideal location when traveling to the Burlington area. Again, thank you for your favorable review, and we look forward to welcoming back to our property in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I had a terrific stay at Double Tree this summer. The front desk staff was amazingly helpful, going out of their way to assist me everytime I had a question. I have stayed at much pricier hotels, and I have never received this level of customer service. The manager even drove me to the car rental facility as the hotel driver was busy! The hotel is very clean and updated, the food was excellent, the housekeepers were friendly and did a wonderful job tidying our very untidy room (I had two teenage girls with me who went on a shopping frenzy prior to a month of language immersion camp!) We did not use the pool, but the small, well equipped fitness room was fine for our needs. We stayed in a suite, which had 2 queen beds, a pull out couch, a dining table, large, flat screen TV (there may have been a second one in the bedroom, but I do not watch TV much, so I am not sure), a large bathroom and a well equipped kitchenette. Free, WARM, chocolate chip cookies at the front desk.... need I say more?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahamas242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanAmon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that our entire hotel team made your family feel so welcomed. Our hotel team is truly remarkable, and they have helped keep our hotel among the top 10% of all Doubletrees in the Americas throughout the entire year of 2011 (the same goes for 2010, as well)! I am happy to hear that you and your family were comfortable in our spacious suites. Offering one king bed or two double beds, our suites are ideal for families traveling together or business travelers on the road. All of our suites offer two televisions (one in the living room, and one in the bedroom) with a great selection of HD channels, and all suites offer a pullout sofabed in the living room. I hope that our dedicated team will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future; we'll have the warm cookies ready for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 14 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 14 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 14 in South Burlington
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
Address: 1117 Williston Rd, I-89 & US 2, Exit 14E, South Burlington, VT 05403-5717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome from the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, five minutes from Burlington International Airport and downtown Burlington. Our hotel's central location puts business guests close to industrial parks and corporations like Ben & Jerry's and IBM. The University of Vermont, Champlain and Saint Michael's Colleges are nearby. University Mall, sports venues, restaurants and Higher Ground Music Hall are within walking distance. Expect outstanding service from our friendly staff and a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. Relax in the DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington hotel's grand oak lobby with fireplace and cozy seating. Spacious guest rooms and suites feature refrigerators, remote printing, complimentary WiFi access, and in-room recycling. Choose a suite for a private bedroom, extra space for families, a wet bar and sink, pull-out sofa bed and optional whirlpool tub. Hold business meetings and weddings at our hotel in Burlington, VT in elegant indoor and outdoor spaces accommodating up to 400 people. Stay connected at the complimentary 24-hour business center. The Adirondack-styled Trader Duke's Restaurant and Lounge serves traditional American cuisine and regional specialties. Savor a superb Sunday brunch seated near the field stone fireplace. Watch sports on flat-screen TVs and try local microbrews in Trader Duke's Lounge, also offering full menu dining. Take advantage of our indoor pool, whirlpool and seasonal sundeck. Exercise in the fitness center or relax in the gazebo and courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree South Burlington
Doubletree Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing