We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Suite for work or leisure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Sweet Suite for work or leisure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed in a Suite style room during a recent business trip. The room is well designed: large living room with seating area, flat screen tv, huge desk/table with several outlets; kitchenette with large fridge, microwave and coffee station(they kindly supply a small bottle of dishwashing liquid!); roomy bathroom; bedroom with another tv. Note that there is a second closet with ironing supplies hiding behind the full-sized bedroom mirror. Restaurant on the property is good and there is a Starbucks right across the street! I used the hotel shuttle for all transportation around the area. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dysphorichousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    342
    136
    46
    14
See reviews for
299
201
67
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coplay, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We went to look at colleges, so it was my sister, my son and daughter along with myself in the room. We asked for a roll-away bed and they sent one in (free of charge), but it was a tight fit, but we managed. It would have been nice if they had taken away the desk chair for us so we didn't have to put that in between the 2 beds, or had helped us set it up, they just rolled it in and left. But, otherwise, the facility was very nice. We had breakfast in the adjoining restaurant, Trader Duke's and it was wonderful! Great omelettes, but a little expensive. The front desk people were very helpful at giving us directions and dinner selections in burlington.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvd726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in a king 2 room suite on the first floor in the back of the hotel. After checking in I walked through the hotel to our room. The corridors all had really low ceilings which gave it a kind of clausterphobic feel. Luckily our suite was located near one of the rear doors and we didn't need to walk through the hotel often.

The suite itself was very comfortable and clean- the decor was typical. The bath had a marble counter with undermounted sink and a double head shower with a curved curtain rod and was a good size for this category of hotel. Unlike previous commenters, we found the suite to be spacious enough, not at all cramped but not huge either. We found everything to be very clean and in good working order. We had no problem with the air conditioning and changed the settings to accommodate our presence in the room. The staff was accommodating and helpful.
The outdoor patio is small but very nicely furnished with dappled shade. A nice place to lay after a swim or to enjoy your morning coffee outside. We did not use the pool but did check it out. It seemed clean and had the usual smell of chlorine of an indoor pool. There was a changing room which although clean had a VERY strong unpleasant chemical odor. My husband made use of the gym which he found well equipped and in good condition.

The location of the hotel was excellent, around the corner from University Mall and a short drive into the town center. The attached Trader Duke's restaurant is a step above the usual hotel offerings. While the decor was 1980's rustic the food was very good. All in all we would stay there again if we returned to Burlington. We found it to be good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perrotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

I have to say the staff here are extremely helpful. The location is convenient. Our King Bed Suite was quite small to be considered "suite". The kitchenette was a nice added touch but was very small as well. We primarily stayed in this hotel because it is pet friendly. In that regard, it was handy because of the amount of grassy areas around the hotel to walk your dog. The room was reasonably clean. While walking down the halls, you could hear TV's, conversations, etc. coming from each of the occupied rooms. It makes you what everyone hears passing by your room. As most pet owners are aware, although it is getting better, the choice of hotels that accept pets are limited. With that being said, if you want to walk your own dog and do not want to walk through a lobby only to find little or no grass while in Burlington, this isn't a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: For Pet Owners - Ask for a first floor room close to an exterior exit. Exits C or D are the easiest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novice276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We've usually found Doubletree hotels to be a comfortable and worthwhile upgrade from standard chain hotels. The Burlington, VT property, however, gives the impression of having previously been a less upscale hotel, with the renovation having an unfortunate "silk purse/sow's ear" result.

The standard Doubletree amenities--free cookies, mountains of pillows, etc.--can't offset the uncomfortably small rooms (with bathrooms to sized to match). We had insufficient space for two open suitcases, or even for the two of us to walk past each other. While it sufficed for our overnight stay, at these prices we shouldn't have to coordinate our movements around the room. Note also that the room's AC system is activated by motion in the room and deactivated without it, so if you like it cool when you sleep, you'll have to periodically wake up and take a nighttime stroll!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAmelians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Doubletree was nice and clean, the staff was friendly, and the rooms were comfortable, big and clean. This hotel chain gives you warm chocolate chip cookies whenever you want them - perfect at check-in, or as a late night snack! It's about a 5-10 minute drive from downtown Burlington, and parking seems like it can be a hassle, so if you don't want to deal with a car, maybe stay somewhere closer to town, or take the hotel shuttle. We didn't eat at the bar/restaurant, but it looked like there was a small group there on a Friday night. It's located right off the highway, with plenty of free parking. There's an indoor pool, which looked nice, and plenty of vending machines. Free wi-fi in the rooms. The A/C worked OK... it sort of went from freezing to warm, back to freezing, but that's really my only complaint. Also, I saw a dog in the hallway, so this hotel may allow pets - beware for those with allergies!! I would stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This place is a rehabbed 80's or early 90's property that is well maintained. It was (in July 2011) in the process of being rehabbed. It's a two story hotel with long corridors, if you need an elevator and don't want to walk a long way, make sure to ask for an appropriate room.

They have an agressive "greening" program that includes a motion activated HVAC system -- you stop moving, the AC stops cooling the place down. (Thermostat only goes down to 68) Kind of annoying on one of the hottest days of the summer, since I typically don't move while sleeping, but the staff did turn off that setting when asked.

The staff was great, bed was very comfortable, and the location very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duffbeer703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
Address: 1117 Williston Road, I-89 & US 2, Exit 14E, South Burlington, VT 05403-5717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome from the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, five minutes from Burlington International Airport and downtown Burlington. Our hotel's central location puts business guests close to industrial parks and corporations like Ben & Jerry's and IBM. The University of Vermont, Champlain and Saint Michael's Colleges are nearby. University Mall, sports venues, restaurants and Higher Ground Music Hall are within walking distance. Expect outstanding service from our friendly staff and a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. Relax in the DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington hotel's grand oak lobby with fireplace and cozy seating. Spacious guest rooms and suites feature refrigerators, remote printing, complimentary WiFi access, and in-room recycling. Choose a suite for a private bedroom, extra space for families, a wet bar and sink, pull-out sofa bed and optional whirlpool tub. Hold business meetings and weddings at our hotel in Burlington, VT in elegant indoor and outdoor spaces accommodating up to 400 people. Stay connected at the complimentary 24-hour business center. The Adirondack-styled Trader Duke's Restaurant and Lounge serves traditional American cuisine and regional specialties. Savor a superb Sunday brunch seated near the field stone fireplace. Watch sports on flat-screen TVs and try local microbrews in Trader Duke's Lounge, also offering full menu dining. Take advantage of our indoor pool, whirlpool and seasonal sundeck. Exercise in the fitness center or relax in the gazebo and courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree South Burlington
Doubletree Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing