We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice, but really loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really nice, but really loud”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The staff was friendly. The room was clean & comfortable. The bed was REALLY comfortable (great pillows!). We didn't enjoy the free breakfast but it looked like it was good! I was quite pleased with my choice until I tried to fall asleep...you can hear EVERYTHING. It's bad - I could practically hear the conversation word-for-word that the couple in the room next to me were having (thank god they were just talking!). You could also hear the walking around from the people in the room above, and the pipes were really loud anytime the people above turned on the sink or flushed the toilet. If you're a heavy sleeper, then this won't matter for you. But I had trouble falling asleep & then was woken by the noise in the night..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Comfort Inn. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience with the hotel staff and they were able to provide excellent customer service. We are sorry that you experienced noise issues during your stay and hope that if you are in the area again you will give us an opportunity to make it right. Thank you once again for the response and we hope to see you in the Burlington area soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    107
    44
    28
    19
See reviews for
96
81
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I was in Burlington for the UVM winter commencement. The hotel is conveniently located less than 2 miles from campus and is right off the exit from I-89. The display sign for the hotel is on the corner, but there is no sign marking the entrance to the parking lot. Because of this, we drove by the hotel and turned into the next driveway (leading to a garage for the mall). After realizing that was not the entrance, we doubled back and realized that was appeared to be the entrance to a vacant property was, in fact, the way to the hotel parking lot.

Check-in was quick. As a member of an affinity group, I was given a small welcome package (always a nice treat). The room was a pleasant surprise, larger than anticipated and nicely furnished. The TV was a flat screen, the desk had a VERY nice desk chair (my daughter joked about trying to sneak it out) and the beds were made with pillows of differing firmness so each guest could have one they preferred.

The bathroom was on the smaller side, but spotless. Along with the typical soap/shampoo/conditioner assortment, there was also make-up remover wipes.

There are vending and ice machines on the 1st and 3rd floors right by the elevators.

The room was comfortable from a temp perspective, which was welcome given the below zero temps outside.

Breakfast was included in the cost of the room. It was not bad, but nothing remarkable. Because the room where breakfast was provided was off the lobby, it was a bit cool.

Checkout was quick and easy.

My only complaint was that the toilet seat was loose. The staff took note and promised to fix it.

Green Features: The hotel provides recycling containers in each room. It also encourages multi-day use of towels and linens. Both are welcome considerations.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimc1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review we value your feedback.

We are happy to hear in these cold times you were able to come and enjoy your stay at our hotel. It can be a challenge traveling this time of year so we make every effort to ensure our guest are able to enjoy a comfortable stay at the hotel. If you are back in the area again we hope you will come and visit once more, even if it is only to check out the deck chair. Thank you once again and happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in August to relax and get away and glad I chose this hotel. Nice smiling faces upon arrival. I showed up an hour early expecting to wait for my room but instead I was upgraded to a nicer bigger room pool-side. The cleaning staff and all the hotel employees say hello and smile at you. My room had a very comfortable bed with a large selection of TV stations to pick from. Pool-side was quiet and cozy and well-maintained. In all a great stay. Thank-you!!

Room Tip: Pool-side is nice with the lawns and trees just outside the room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good recycling programs for waist and water usgae reduction.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachguy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we appreciate the feedback. It is a pleasure to hear you were able to enjoy your stay at our hotel. At the Comfort Inn and Suites hotel we strive to make customer service our number one and hope when you travel to the area again you will stop by and stay the night. Thank you once again and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is the best overall in Burlington with the Choice Hotels group. Well located, pricewise and quality. Nice large rooms and clean. Beds are comfortable. Internet is fast and reliable, very good experience there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I needed to spend the night in Burlington so that I could catch my flight in the morning out of the airport. I have to say that this hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff during check-in were some of the friendliest I've had the pleasure of meeting. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was well maintained. And the breakfast in the morning was quite good. I would recommend anyone stay here if they needed a place near the airport. There are also plenty of dining options in the immediate area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dburges2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We are always happy to hear that our guest are enjoying their stay at the hotel and thank you for the feedback. We strive to make every stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible because we want everyone to feel at home. The next time you are in the Burlington please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bass Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel is hidden but once you know where it is and figure out how to beat traffic getting in and out of the parking lot the stay is very pleasant. Clean, quiet, plus a friendly and helpful staff at the desk. Lots of restaurants withing walking distance. Unlike many other Comfort Inns this establishment actually still has full size pillows.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coldflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in South Burlington Vermont. We have recently completed a renovation of the hotel and are very glad that you were able to enjoy some of our new amenities. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went to a birthday party and booked the hotel several months in advance. We only were going to stay one night, so it was difficult finding a hotel to accomodate us on a busy weekend with just a one night stay in October. Comfort Suites was a good back up option. The room was quite comfortable, clean, great breakfast in the morning, I was impressed. But for $224 with tax, I did feel a little robbed. Again, nothing wrong with the hotel and the location was perfect seeing as we couldnt get one of the closer hotels. It was less than a five minute drive into the heart of town, but they were able to command a price for that weekend that wasn't inline with the quality of the hotel. Of the other similar hotels, I hear this is the best one and certainly worth the stay if you have no better options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainie2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn and Suites hotel our staff always looks forward to reading the online reviews. Our hotel has recently completed a renovation and we are pleased to hear that guest are "impressed" with the new amenities. Burlington can become quite the busy little town in this season and we are proud to say that we maintain competitively priced in the market. Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again here at the Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 12 in South Burlington
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Burlington
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bur...
#8 of 12 in South Burlington
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Address: 3 Dorset St, South Burlington, VT 05403-6232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#5 Business Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Hotel on 9-acre setting, located off I-89 exit 14E. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington Hotel South Burlington
Comfort Inn And Suites South Burlington
University Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn South Burlington
University Inn Suites Burlington
South Burlington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing