We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at Green Mountain Suites while touring UVM. Should our son attend UVM, Green Mountain Suites will be our 'home away from home'.

First of all, the front desk staff was warm, welcoming and highly attentive. The entire facility was sparkling clean. Our suite was spacious with a kitchenette with all the expected equipment, a large living room with comfortable, clean pull out sofa, bedroom with the most comfortable bed and pillows that I have ever slept on. Truly like sleeping on a cloud.

The location is convenient but even if it wasn't, I will opt for Green Mountain Suites when staying in the Burlington VT area.

Room Tip: Let the front desk staff know what's important to you. They seem very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    187
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
297
182
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

A great place to stay! The staff is very helpful and active. The breakfast was excellent for a buffet style breakfast with several choices of egg and meat dishes. Our suite was in excellent condition and very clean. We had a nice size kitchen with a full size refrigerator and microwave. There's a nice supermarket down the street so we were able to eat all of our lunches in the suite. We had a busy schedule so being able to get a healthy, quick lunch made a big difference for us. We were also able to find a number of excellent restaurants nearby. If we ever make it back to Burlington, we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have allergy problems, ask for the pet free building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdcase00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

These are nicely appointed modern, one-bedroom suites with a kitchenette that are good for extended stays. They have a free hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, fruit, pastries, yogurt) and also a free evening happy hour with food, beer and wine. Strangely, though, though don't have a restaurant so you're out of luck if you get in after 7:00 p.m. and want something to eat. One other caveat: The hotel is located on a fairly busy street, so if you're looking for Vermont quiet, this may not be it. Or ask for a room that faces their courtyard away from the street - if you can get it. They seem to always be at capacity and it's not cheap. All and all, not bad though, and it's a short drive to downtown Burlington, close to the highway, Trader Joe's, Outback Steakhouse, a mall, and some other stuff.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing their interior courtyard if traffic noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 763bobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and were very satisfied. The rooms were exceptionally clean and nicely decorated. There was a full kitchen, which we did not use and a large bedroom and bathroom. The pool and fitness areas were well equipped and very clean. We took advantage of the BBQ Saturday night and weren't disappointed with sirloin tips, potato and pasta salad and all of the fix ins. It was a very nice touch and we greatly appreciated it. The breakfast was substantial and the best breakfast that I have eaten at a hotel. Very fresh and relatively extensive. All of the hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Just be aware that the hotel is located in a quiet residential area. It is centrally located and convenient, but there are no views or scenery in this area. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eatright2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed at this hotel one night but wished to have stayed longer if I could. The room was very clean and comfortable with semi-luxury accommodation. The kitchen was new and had everything of high quality and perfect conditions. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is close to the airport, restaurants and other businesses. I had stayed in another hotel in that area and found the Green Mountain of superior quality in comparison. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone single or with family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abrams123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

After reading the reviews we were very excited to be staying here for four nights. We travel to Vermont a few times a year and have stayed in some very special places, this was not one of them. It is clean and good for families but we were four adults in a two bedroom suite that was lacking in luxury. Perhaps it was just our room but for the price I was expecting something much more upscale. The breakfast is just average much like an inexpensive hotel. We didnt find the staff to be that friendly or welcoming. It is right on the street with no real grounds to walk around and the only thing nice was the fire pits but they were usually taken when we got back to the hotel. I will stick to B&Bs from now on.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here 4th of July weekend as a quick two night stop on the way to Northern Vermont. We arrived very late but were greeted in a very friendly way and given our room very quickly. Our 1 bedroom suite was very comfortable and roomy and had plenty of room for the five of us. We even went out for some Chinese take out and ate in the room after a day of hiking in Stowe. My only slight complaint was the breakfast (which was included). Every baked item such as french toast or waffle sticks were cooked within an inch of their life. Extremely over cooked and hard. They ran out of bananas the second morning we were there and only had two flavors of yogurt. However, the comfort of the hotel and friendliness of the staff was enough for us to decide that we will be back!

Room Tip: We didn't have any problems with road noise, but an upper floor is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,300 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
611 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
730 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,507 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Suites Hotel

Property: Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Address: 401 Dorset St, South Burlington, VT 05403-6273
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Business Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Mountain Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the charm of a Boutique Vermont Country Inn The Green Mountain Suites Hotel has been recognized by savvy travelers from all corners of the globe for award winning service, premium amenities and impeccable accommodations. As the only independent all-suite Hotel in the Burlington area, we are proud to offer our guests a truly genuine Vermont experience that is second to none. Each finely appointed one- and two-bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room and separate bedroom(s). Our Fireplace and Jacuzzi suites are popular with guests looking for something a little more special during their stay with us. Each morning, wake up to our Fireside Breakfast, where you'll find delicious omelets, maple sausage, bacon, pancakes, and healthy options including a yogurt bar, fresh fruit, oatmeal, and much more. Each weeknight, wind down after a long day at our popular Fireside Reception, with a selection of domestic and local craft beers and wines, paired with a delicious meal. Other featured amenities include WIFI, Exercise Facility, Fire Pit & Barbeque Courtyard and indoor Swimming Pool & Jacuzzi. All of these premium amenities and services are included for no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Green Mountain Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel South Burlington
Hawthorn Suites South Burlington
Green Mountain South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing