We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spent 4 days at this hotel. Checked in on a Thursday so we attended the mangers reception. There was plenty of food and beverages. We enjoyed being able to sit outside on the patio and enjoy our fare. Large buffet breakfast served each morning, with plenty of choices. Staff were always very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again. The only negative is the lighting in the bathrooms were very dim. This is an all suite hotel with kitchen's, no ovens just stovetop.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, so we didn't have to deal with elevators or stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 704 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Green Mountain Suites is a really well-run establishment. Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in mid-August, at the king bedroom with jacuzzi and fireplace room. The bathroom was spacious, the kitchen was adequate (though we didn't use it much) and the living room was comfortable. It's competitively priced with other hotels in South Burlington, and is a better bang for your buck than many of them especially considering that the price of the room includes breakfast and 5-7pm Manager's Social light dinner or snack bar.

Unlike a lot of chain hotels I've been to (Best Western, Holiday Inn, etc), the maid service is provided by default every day unless you explicitly reject it with a sign hung on the doorhandle outside. You don't have to request it from reception. That's a plus.

If you plan on watching any movies in the room though, you should bring your HDMI cable, your laptop and your own movies. Unlike other chain hotels, there's no on-demand movie service and the TV lineup is very limited. It's not a big deal if you're there for Burlington and plan to spend very little time in the room, but otherwise, be advised that entertainment options are limited.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had never stayed in Burlington, VT before so I wasn't familiar with where this hotel was in relation to the main downtown area. You definitely need a car to get downtown but it's worth the short ride in order to stay in a very affordable but exceptional hotel!
Every room is a suite so we had a bedroom with a tv and a bathroom, of course, but then also a living area with a dining table, couch and another tv, and a kitchenette. More often than not, hotel kitchen areas leave something to be desired but not here! We had a dishwasher, cleaning supplies, dishes, etc. The whole room was modern, very clean, and spacious. It felt like a mini condo. Add to that a super comfy bed, huge tvs with a great range of channels, and free wifi and this place could easily be a home away from home for an extended stay.
We also really loved the lobby area. The stone fireplace and comfortable seating were inviting. The free breakfast was really high quality-probably the best hotel breakfast I have ever been offered.
All in all, I would not hesitate for a second to book a suite here again if I were to travel to the area again. I picked it because of it's great price and got way more than I bargained for.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moedawg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have stayed at this place many times when we visit our granddaughter who lives in the Shelburne area. The rooms are wonderful for an extended stay. They come complete with small kitchen which includes a dishwasher, toaster, microwave and refrigerator. Dishes and pots and pans are also included. There is an indoor swimming pool which we've never used, wifi and of course TV in the rooms. The beds are good and the room is clean . Sometimes maintenance is spotty i.e. lights out etc. but in general are in very good condition. The free breakfast is of medium quality but does include hot selections such as bacon and scrambled eggs and now they include separately packaged yogurts and bagels. Making reservation on line is relatively easy. All in all we really like this hotel.

My only gripe is that it is so hard to get a courtyard room away from the busy street. We have stayed here at least six times and only once have we receive a courtyard room although I ask every time. This most recent time I paid extra for a "garden view" room (a new designation) and still did not get one although we got an upgrade in their across the street unit which we liked I had reserved about two weeks in advance.

Room Tip: I wish I knew ! Checking in before 3 O'clock seems to be a bad thing as most of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetnh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My daughter, boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in late July. The living room/kitchen was big and the bedroom was adequate. All of the hotels in Burlington were very expensive -- the good ones were at least $250/night -- so we picked this hotel in South Burlington to save a little money. The rate wasn't particularly lower (we paid about $240/night with tax) but a full breakfast was included.
Pros -- excellent breakfast, spacious room and bathroom
Cons -- location (had to drive through a lot of traffic to get to the heart of Burlington), beds (2 full size beds instead of queens, due to cramped bedroom size, average comfort at best), front desk staff not particularly knowledgeable about places to walk in the area (they sent us on a route that was right by busy roads, despite my request for info on parks or residential routes).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hike_bike_and_like
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a great hotel if you need a suite away from Lake Champlain in the Burlington Vermont area. Althought it is about 5 miles away from downtown Burlington, the hotel is on the bus line, taking just a few minutes for the ride. The adult passenger fee is only $1.25, making transportation very reasonable. The hotel is next to shopping, sports a pool and fitness center, and serves a great breakfast. You can't beat the spacious suites with full kitchen that includes a dishwasher. Wonderful for groups or family!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Tucked in a residential neighborhood is this delightful find. With incredibly spacious rooms, and kitchenette, the Green mountain suites is ideal for the Vermont- travel, fun-seeker. That is- if you plan to leave during the day, and travel to see sights, kayak, shop, whatever- this place is perfect!

And- free dinner every weeknight. A full dinner! Salad, pasta, etc!

Great service (though young).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolffgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
5.8 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
792 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
577 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Burlington & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Suites Hotel

Address: 401 Dorset St, South Burlington, VT 05403-6273
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Business Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range: $124 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Mountain Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the charm of a Boutique Vermont Country Inn. Green Mountain Suites Hotel has been recognized by savvy travelers from all corners of the globe for award winning service, premium amenities and impeccable accommodations. As the only independent all-suite Hotel in the Burlington area, we are proud to offer our guests a truly genuine Vermont experience that is second to none. Each finely appointed one- and two-bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room and separate bedroom(s). Our Fireplace and Jacuzzi suites are popular with guests looking for something a little more special during their stay with us. Each morning, wake up to our Fireside Breakfast, where you'll find delicious omelets, Vermont-inspired Quiche, maple sausage, bacon, pancakes, and healthy options including a yogurt bar, fresh fruit, oatmeal, and much more. Each weeknight, wind down after a long day at our popular Fireside Reception, with a selection of domestic and local craft beers and wines, paired with a delicious meal. Other featured amenities include WIFI, Exercise Facility, Fire Pit & Barbeque Courtyard and indoor Swimming Pool & Jacuzzi. All of these premium amenities and services are included for no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Green Mountain Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel South Burlington
Hawthorn Suites South Burlington
Green Mountain South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing