We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mountain Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at this property based on the recommendation of a friend who was also going to stay, as we gathered here for the Easter weekend with two other families. It's not the most modern place, but it was everything you expect from a quality lodging venue: clean, good customer service, soundproof rooms, great facilities including a swimming pool and spa.

The suites were great, with enough space to accommodate our family of 5 (our kids are 3, 6 & 8), as we chose the suite with two double beds, along with the sofa-bed in the living room. The sofa bed was OK for small children, but would not be able to support teenagers or adults, that's for sure. Our other friends had suites with a king-size bed + sofa bed, which worked well since they have two kids each.

The big kitchen space was also appreciated, as we could put enough food and beverages in the large-size refrigerator - no cooking was required since we ate out most of the times, but everything was in place had we chosen to do so.

We had breakfast all three mornings, and we could appreciate the efforts to vary some items of the hot menu. It was overall a fine selection of pastries, fruits, hot and cold, and everyone ate to their satisfaction, which is not always the case with free-breakfast accommodations.

Finally, the pool was well appreciated by the kids, even though it was not the biggest you've ever seen. Same with the spa-jacuzzi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredericg189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    161
    33
    9
    10
See reviews for
267
150
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Room was big and very clean. Bed was like heaven. Loved sitting by the fireplace and sipping on wine (glasses and bottle opener were provided in the kitchen). Staff were very nice. Breakfast wasn't great - fake eggs, blech. But it was very convenient to all of the nice restaurants and shops. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We got a room in the building without pets - it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeRose731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
266 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is our second time staying at Green Mountain Suites. The first time we stayed on the ground floor in the main building facing the courtyard, and it was extremely quiet--no road noise at all. But the noise in the hall sometimes was loud as kids ran back and forth between their rooms or the front lounge and the pool. This time we stayed in a 2nd floor room that was $10 per night cheaper in the attached building (connects through a third floor enclosed walkway). Our room this time did get some road noise from the main road, and more faintly from the freeway, although we only really noticed it after sunrise on a weekday. So this remains a relatively quiet hotel for rooms not facing the main street. This is an outstanding place to stay and we have few complaints. The connecting doors between the living room and bedroom don't close securely, so that reduces privacy a bit. There was no stopper for the kitchen sink. One night we came back very tired and didn't figure out til the next morning why we froze all night, because the air conditioner had been turned on. Cleaning staff should be instructed not to change the heat settings that the guests have set. Despite these small issues, we love this hotel and will stay again many times as our daughter starts college there!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing front of hotel or courtyard (away from main street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

An Easter weekend get-away brought us back to the Green Mountain suites. Our reservation was not "as ordered" when we arrived, but the management handled it to our entire satisfaction.
We had a great time, the breakfast was good with plenty of choice, the pool was up to par and we'll most likely go there again. It's been our best experience in Burlington over many years & hotels there.
BTW: Across the street, on Dorset St. are 2 tiny take-out restaurants. One named Tony's Pizza & A Chinese place adjoining. We picked up excellent food from both. Yummy.

Room Tip: Take your own can of Lysol to spray the bathroom, kitchen, door knobs etc. (It takes 5 minutes). Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatW227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice clean rooms with a very friendly staff.
Buffet breakfast plentiful but lukewarm if you don't time it right.
Downtown Burlington just a short drive away.
Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed at green mountain on our way to Jay Peak to break up the ride from NYC. The place is very clean and rooms are very nice. Pool is much smaller than it looks in pics, but it was fine(although sometimes crowded). Meals were simple but good(and free!). Breakfast was best meal by far. We had reservations, but wanted to arrive a day early to beat a big nor'easter. They were able to accommodate, no problem. The hotel staff are mainly foreign nationals and not the warmest bunch, but they were helpful and well mannered. All in all a great trip and downtown Burlington was gorgeous during the snowstorm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carib5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location was great and the rooms were nice. It is a pet friendly hotel. They don't have designated rooms for guests with pets. Though my room was clean and is used for guests with pets , I'd suggest they designate specific rooms for pets away from guests who don't have pets. There were dogs barking next to my room. People have allergies to animals which should be a consideration when making all rooms pet friendly. I'd stay here again, and request a room that hasn't had a pet.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avonteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 14 in South Burlington
5.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 14 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
2.3 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Suites Hotel

Property: Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Address: 401 Dorset St, South Burlington, VT 05403-6273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Business Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Mountain Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the charm of a Boutique Vermont Country Inn The Green Mountain Suites Hotel has been recognized by savvy travelers from all corners of the globe for award winning service, premium amenities and impeccable accommodations. As the only independent all-suite Hotel in the Burlington area, we are proud to offer our guests a truly genuine Vermont experience that is second to none. Each finely appointed one- and two-bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room and separate bedroom(s). Our Fireplace and Jacuzzi suites are popular with guests looking for something a little more special during their stay with us. Each morning, wake up to our Fireside Breakfast, where you'll find delicious omelets, maple sausage, bacon, pancakes, and healthy options including a yogurt bar, fresh fruit, oatmeal, and much more. Each weeknight, wind down after a long day at our popular Fireside Reception, with a selection of domestic and local craft beers and wines, paired with a delicious meal. Other featured amenities include WIFI, Exercise Facility, Fire Pit & Barbeque Courtyard and indoor Swimming Pool & Jacuzzi. All of these premium amenities and services are included for no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Green Mountain Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel South Burlington
Hawthorn Suites South Burlington
Green Mountain South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing